We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice food and view but very expensive!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tereze

Tereze
Reserve with
Tereze is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 13,621 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$60
Cuisines: Brazilian, South American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Santa Teresa
Description: International cuisine featuring the best of local fine dining with a French twist.Térèze is an intimate restaurant with a beautiful view of the Guanabara Bay. Especially selected wines are another asset of the place.For dinner, the chef’s menu is definitely a must-try.On weekdays, the Bistronomia menu is an affordable, quick and efficient choice for business lunches.As an event venue, Térèze can receive up to 70 people.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very nice food and view but very expensive!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

This hotel restaurant is in a lovely location overlooking Santa Teresa. The food was very good but VERY expensive. We ate here on our last night in Rio so didn't mind a little splurge but be prepared that everything is expensive on their menu. Saying that the views are beautiful, the food was yummy and the service was good. Just be aware that this will cost you!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank I_luv_travelling2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    183
    64
    26
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach
Level Contributor
120 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

After traveling from Florianopolis and getting in late, we decided to dine in the hotel since it had good write ups. We were very disappointed with the meal. The service was so so and the food was not that great. The cut of beef that I had was a little tough and over cooked. For what we had and the quality, it was over priced and over rated.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MiamiBeachExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Charming and tasty, but too expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Tereze is the restaurant of Hotel Santa Tereza, a charming hotel, full of character - something rare in Rio. I went there with family (2 adults and 2 kids) and bill reached an expensive R$430 (with a half bottle of wine). We ordered one very good gaspacho, one so so steak tartar (it came with mayo, a bit rare, don't you think?), two Raviolis for the kids (really good, but R$55 each! I had never paid so much for my 3-year-old) and a tasty, but small portion pork ribs. The cocoa ice cream was quite good, but not remarkable.
Overall food was great and atmosphere is unique, but it is overpriced. Better to go just to the bar and enjoy the hotel paying less for it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danilo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely location, a bit over-priced...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

I went to Tereze for dinner after having read great recommendations. As most note, the location is ideal; it boasts a stunning view of Rio by night. The food is good but not excellent. It is one of those minimalist resturants (big plates, small portions) which relies on its location to make up for average service. Overall I found it a little expensive for what you actually get.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Javier G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

We ate breakfast here and dinner. Breakfast was the best we had during our entire trip. Beautiful selection of fruits, meats, breads and cheeses. Fresh eggs made to order.

Dinner was wonderful. Innovative takes on classic brazilian dishes prepared expertly. Just simply wonderful.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Quash55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tereze also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Tereze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing