We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A plain place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Valparaiso Hostel Rio
Recife, PE
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A plain place”
Reviewed 18 November 2012

This hostel is located in Santa Teresa's charming neighborhood. Unfortunately, it's not easy going there because i'ts necessary walk a lot from the subway station and in the end, climb stairs. Some taxi drivers refuse let you there. And also, it's not safe at night. The hostel's bathroom was flooded because of the rain, and sometimes the tapwater went out. I've booked a room and hoped be the same as showed in the webside, but I was in a squeezed room. The staff is somewhat disorganized and confused about payments making me feel embarassed. There're cats that bothers who doesn't like pets (not my case). The breakfast is good and the kitchen is functional. The living area is spectacular, very comfortable. The people are friendly and give all the information you need. In conclusion, the hostel needs repairs in structure and better communication among employees.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElisabethCabral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    16
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
3
12
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I have been to Bellas Artes 7 times this year, including Carnaval, Easter... I would not consider staying elsewhere. Friendly staff, fabulous atmosphere, excellent facilities and also an ability to attract really interesting visitors. There is always an interesting mix of people at Bellas Artes and in the several times I have now stayed there I have made many friends. There is always people to go out with if you are travelling alone as I normally do. The hostel is well located, Santa Teresa is a nice place to stay and convenient for many of the tourist activities around Rio. I strongly recommend Bellas Artes and am looking forward to my next stay already :)

Room Tip: I like the room for 4 best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richiecallis27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Bellas Artes Guest House is located in the colourful, colonial and bohemian Santa Teresa neighborhood. Santa Teresa is a hidden gem, nearby to the main beaches -you can reach easily the beach by metro-. Cobbled streets -some of them are stairs-, cheerful and colonial, lovely houses and cafés, pubs, restós, ateliers and stores are blended to create an amazing atmosphere.

Bellas Artes Guest House is a beautiful B&B. Its decó is really cheerful and warm and has a relaxing and lovely public areas -including a heavenly backyard with chaiselonges, table, plants, flowers and an incredible view to a "morro" (a hill)-.
It's perfectly clean every day. Breakfast is really good, including cereal, coffe, teas, bread, cake, cheese, jam, spreads, fruits, etc. Every guest is able to use the kitchen to store his stuffs and cocking -you have to do the dishes after your meal, of course-.
Staff is very friendly and the atmosphere of the B&B is inviting to meet and get a lot of fun with the other guests. Adriana, the owner, prepared a barbecue and invited my friend and I to share it and enjoy the meal, wine, champagne for free!!

The place is "eco-friendly" so all the water heating system is powered by solar panels.
The front desk service is available the 24 hours. The guy who works at night made for us the full breakfast at 6.30 am because my friend and I had to catch a tour very early in the morning. The last day we pay for a late check-out and they allow to stay at our room until we had to left the B&B.

Finally, it is a great deal.

Note the following:

- The B&B is upstairs (you have to climb several stoned steps to reach it); try to travel light.
- Usually, the tours don't pick tourists up from Santa Teresa; so it is better to book a tour with the staff of the B&B given they know people who pick you up from the B&B.

BOTTON LINE:

To stay in Bellas Artes Guest House and at Santa Teresa neighborhood is a full experience: cultural, personal, touristic, spiritual, esthetic. I LOVED STAY THERE!!

Room Tip: If you are planning to go in summer, choose the room with fan or air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabuenosaires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The hostel is located in the charming neighbourhood of Santa Teresa, a little bit up in the hills - but not too far from the centre. It is close to both bus and metro, so sightseeing Rio de Janeiro is very doable from Bellas Artes Guesthouse.

The hostel is run by a very nice lady, very velcoming and service minded.
The hostel has a beautiful backyard where you can sunbathe, chill out, read, have a glass of wine and possibly watch the staff pick bananas from a ladder!

The hostel is not too big, which makes the atmosphere good. It is clean enough, and has a kitchen which is great for cooking dinner.
The neighbourhood is great for walking at night, going to restaurants and visiting local bars and pubs. And, ride the local tram in the hills of Santa Teresa!

Room Tip: We booked a 3-bed room, perfect for 3 friends travelling together! The bathroom was just outside our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggimaggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palermo, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

I've been to this hostel with a friend during a national holiday in Brasil. We have booked online (hostels.com) a room for two with private bathroom. We did pay the amount they've asked for in order to keep the room.

As we got there we were informed that:
1) our reservation wasn't made because they forgot to check the website;
2) there isn not any room with private bathroom, even though they say there is. There is one bathroom shared with another room, but it isn't private.

The lady said she would "help" us find another place to stay but later she just said "i'm sorry, all the hostels/hotels are full because it's public holiday". We've slept there the first night because it wasn't still full. The next day we found ourselves with no place to stay for three days. They didn't bother to solve a problem which they were 100% responsible for.

Besides the bathroom problem, the room was just as poor as most of hostel rooms in Brasil: synthetic bed linens, bad furniture and bad pillows. Towels were for rent and fairly clean.

To sum up: irresponsible for not making our reservation and not solving the problem and dishonest for lying about the private bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank patriciamieko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
CabanaCopa Hostel
CabanaCopa Hostel
#88 of 798 in Rio de Janeiro
478 reviews
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#14 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,638 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Sol Hotel
Copacabana Sol Hotel
#142 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barra da Tijuca
Brisa Barra Hotel
Brisa Barra Hotel
#24 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
441 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
3,244 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Parque Olimpico
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Parque Olimp...
#113 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valparaiso Hostel Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valparaiso Hostel Rio

Property: Valparaiso Hostel Rio
Address: Rua Candido Mendes 479, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-220, Brazil (Formerly Bellas Artes Hostel Rio)
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 798 Speciality Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Class:2 star — Valparaiso Hostel Rio 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Valparaiso Hostel Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valparaiso Hostel Rio Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing