We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Novotel option in the business centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Novotel Rio De Janeiro Santos Dumont
Ranked #52 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Novotel option in the business centre”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Travelling on business during the World Cup will probably never be "cost effective". I struggled to find a good option and the Novotel seemed like a reliable option, even though it was more expensive than what I had expected.

The hotel was fine - good sized rooms with everything you would expect (except an iron, which is also not available from room service). Breakfast was great, but I would not recommend the hotel bar which is low on ambience with a limited menu. If you're in Rio on business then the downtown location will probably be ideal.

Next time, I will probably stay choose to stay in Ipanema and just spend more time travelling to the office.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G4about
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    719
    140
    25
    8
See reviews for
335
194
143
544
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Booked this hotel during the world cup. The location in the financial district so there aren't any restaurants or bars in close vicinity. The room rate was highly overpriced even tough the world cup was going on. The personal were very friendly and helpful. We went to the hotel restaurant the first night and the food was really poor quality so we did not go back during our stay. Room was very small. If we go back to Rio will try some other hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronaldo G, Gerente at Hotel Novotel Rio De Janeiro Santos Dumont, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for taking about your experience at the Novotel RJ Santos Dumont. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great buffet breakfast...yum. very typical novotel so you know what to expect and there are no suprises. I would recommend this place for sure. next time i will be bringing the whole family for a much longer holiday

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank bubbly_susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronaldo G, Gerente at Hotel Novotel Rio De Janeiro Santos Dumont, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel RJ Santos Dumont.
Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Nice place, nice rooms, not all the people inside the hotel speak english, I think this is a minus talking about this place, the food is pretty good and the places you have near the hotel are good too, you can find some restaurants walking 5 or 6 blocks from there and they are cheaper than the hotel food.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos Mauricio O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronaldo G, Gerente at Hotel Novotel Rio De Janeiro Santos Dumont, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Carlos Mauricio:

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel RJ Santos Dumont. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BH
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Nice hotel, new and comfortable. Located a walking distance from Santos Dumont Airport and very close to many downtown Rio business places.

The one problem we found is that for dinnig out of the hotel you must take a taxi as the nice restaurants close to the hotel all close at night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CELIA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronaldo G, Gerente at Hotel Novotel Rio De Janeiro Santos Dumont, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Celia

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel RJ Santos Dumont. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Nothing best in Rio for business trips, Nice and Clean, just a stone´s throw from the domestic airport, you dont need to get in the horrendous traffic downtown, just cross the bridge and there you are, with the advantage of keeping your luggage checked until returning to the airport. Good breakfast, nice spa.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank RobRoyS_oPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronaldo G, Gerente at Hotel Novotel Rio De Janeiro Santos Dumont, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel RJ Santos Dumont. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Coming for the fist time to Rio was an challenge - if you don't know the city and really don't know what to expect - it is always quite difficult to find some perfect accommodation. We wanted to stay in good hotel but not in the centre of Copacabana or Ipanema, at least not for the all the time in Rio. So we split between Novotel and private small hotel in Ipanema. It was not only cheaper to stay in Santos Dumont, but also more comfortable.

Santos Dumont is:
+ located 5 min walk from domestic airport. If you are lucky you can have a wonderful window view at the runway, I just love it.
+ big rooms with very comfortable beds
+ very good breakfast with good selection of juices, bread and fruits. Worth paying if it's not included in your room price.
+ very well working free WiFii. Also you can use free internet in the lobby and ever print your boarding passes if you check-in online. Free of course. Not so many hotels give you that opportunity around the World, so well done!
+ very quiet area, with a few blocks (about 10 minutes) walk to the tube/underground/metro station, it will take about 20 minutes to get to Ipanema beach
+ very cheap mini-bar
+ good selection of information about Rio and attractions in our room folder

From the other side:
- not so many activities within the hotel if you want to spend evening in, just one small bar
- lack of any bars/restaurants in close distance from the hotel.

Overview - we loved the hotel and definitely we will stay there again next time we go to Rio. It was nice to spend days on the beach or travelling and discovering the city and then get back to quiet room in Santos Dumont. Very relaxing and I don't mind that fact that you hardly got anything to do outside the hotel. We also feel very safe around - you got military barracks next door and lots of banks around. Ever walking back at night was fine, no troubles what so ever.

Room Tip: If you like plane spotting, ask for room with airport view, the best are top floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pawel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Centro
Prodigy Hotel Santos Dumont Airport
Prodigy Hotel Santos Dumont Airp...
#41 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
500 reviews
Centro
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumont
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumon...
#108 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
2,947 reviews
Botafogo
Novotel RJ Botafogo
Novotel RJ Botafogo
#16 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Windsor Asturias Hotel
Windsor Asturias Hotel
#50 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
648 reviews
Slaviero Lifestyle Rio de Janeir...
#6 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
204 reviews
Centro
Windsor Guanabara Hotel
Windsor Guanabara Hotel
#88 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Novotel Rio De Janeiro Santos Dumont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Novotel Rio De Janeiro Santos Dumont

Property: Hotel Novotel Rio De Janeiro Santos Dumont
Address: Avenida Marechal Camara 300 | Centro, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20020-080, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Centro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#18 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#19 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#30 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Novotel Rio De Janeiro Santos Dumont 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel has more than 400 hotels in 60 countries, located in the centre of key cities and suitable both for business trips and for holidays. Whether you visit us to relax, eat, work or find yourself, our facilities and teams are entirely at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Novotel Rio De Janeiro Santos Dumont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rio De Janeiro Santos Dumont Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Hotel Novotel Rio De Janeiro Santos Dumont Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing