We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel For Our Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel RJ Santos Dumont
Ranked #55 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel For Our Holiday”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I took my wife to a holiday to Brazil which involved going to Rio de Janeiro, Sao Paulo and Foz du Igauçu. And this hotel was the place we booked to stay while we were in Rio.

The hotel itself is clean and the staff are very helpful - although most seemed to struggle with English which was slightly surprising - in Sao Paulo and Foz du Iguaçu the hotel staff were fluent, but perhaps as this was the business district then most of their guests only speak Portuguese? Or maybe because the World Cup had finished there was no need for English speaking staff?

Anyway, the room was comfortable but basic, but good enough for our needs as most of our days were spent sight-seeing, shopping, visiting museums and going to the beach. Location-wise it's not the best if you're planning to see the main attractions as I found out to my cost with the number of taxis we had to get everywhere! But I suppose that's my fault for not researching more thoroughly.

We could see the runway of Santos Dumont Airport and despite being so close we weren't disturbed by the noise at all. The wifi in our room was poor, with only a small area next to the door being able to pick up a decent wifi signal (not ideal when you want to check out local attractions in bed) which was disappointing. The wifi downstairs was good though but not ideal if you just want to chill out in your room. Downstairs in the lobby they also have Apple iMacs and a printer which are free to use which was great for printing off our boarding passes.

Overall, a very good hotel but consider the location if you want to see the main attractions during your stay, otherwise you'll be paying a lot for taxis!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barneystinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronaldo G, Gerente at Novotel RJ Santos Dumont, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for your evaluation. Our team will committed to improving the services evaluated
Cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    724
    141
    27
    10
See reviews for
337
195
143
554
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santo André, Brasil
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The hotel has a good location (right close to Santos Dumont Airport) and near to the city center. Very comfortable and clean. In my opinion is a little expensive, but all hotels in RIo de Janeiro are expensive too.

Room Tip: Rooms up the 3rd floor are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shemp_howard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is a good hotel for those looking to stay close to Santos Dumont airport. Not recommended for those looking to enjoy nightlife or beach in Rio. The hotel is nothing luxurious, but rather basic though hits all the important marks for a decent stay.
Room is clean, no carpet but rather laminate floors which I prefer. Small but functional bathroom with a real nice rain shower. Good air conditioner unit it works well and it is not too loud. The bed is not the best nor are the pillows or linens but the mattress is firm and sheets are clean and fresh. Other than that, small room, nothing to write home about, OK breakfast included in rate, internet works well without being super fast. All around OK 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crewtips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Travelling on business during the World Cup will probably never be "cost effective". I struggled to find a good option and the Novotel seemed like a reliable option, even though it was more expensive than what I had expected.

The hotel was fine - good sized rooms with everything you would expect (except an iron, which is also not available from room service). Breakfast was great, but I would not recommend the hotel bar which is low on ambience with a limited menu. If you're in Rio on business then the downtown location will probably be ideal.

Next time, I will probably stay choose to stay in Ipanema and just spend more time travelling to the office.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G4about
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Booked this hotel during the world cup. The location in the financial district so there aren't any restaurants or bars in close vicinity. The room rate was highly overpriced even tough the world cup was going on. The personal were very friendly and helpful. We went to the hotel restaurant the first night and the food was really poor quality so we did not go back during our stay. Room was very small. If we go back to Rio will try some other hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronaldo G, Gerente at Novotel RJ Santos Dumont, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for taking about your experience at the Novotel RJ Santos Dumont. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

Your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great buffet breakfast...yum. very typical novotel so you know what to expect and there are no suprises. I would recommend this place for sure. next time i will be bringing the whole family for a much longer holiday

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank bubbly_susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronaldo G, Gerente at Novotel RJ Santos Dumont, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel RJ Santos Dumont.
Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Centro
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumont
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Santos Dumon...
#115 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,980 reviews
Centro
Prodigy Hotel Santos Dumont Airport
Prodigy Hotel Santos Dumont Airp...
#45 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
538 reviews
Centro
Windsor Asturias Hotel
Windsor Asturias Hotel
#52 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Botafogo
Novotel RJ Botafogo
Novotel RJ Botafogo
#15 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
179 reviews
Slaviero Lifestyle Rio de Janeir...
#10 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
263 reviews
Centro
Aeroporto Othon
Aeroporto Othon
#258 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel RJ Santos Dumont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel RJ Santos Dumont

Property: Novotel RJ Santos Dumont
Address: Avenida Marechal Camara 300 | Centro, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20020-080, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Centro
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#18 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#19 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#31 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel RJ Santos Dumont 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel has more than 400 hotels in 60 countries, located in the centre of key cities and suitable both for business trips and for holidays. Whether you visit us to relax, eat, work or find yourself, our facilities and teams are entirely at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Southall Travel, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel RJ Santos Dumont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rio De Janeiro Santos Dumont Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Novotel RJ Santos Dumont Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing