We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place!”
Review of Casa da Gente

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa da Gente
Ranked #18 of 340 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights on our first trip to Rio/Brazil. Pauline, the host, was very kind and patient. She told us everything we wanted to know about the neighborhood, and also the best way to get to the sites. Her team is equally competent, friendly and wonderful!

It was like home and we would absolutely love to stay here again on our next trip to Rio.

Tchau, tchau!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pnkaj_Chpra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Casa da Gente and had a great stay.
In the Santa Teresa district, the home district of the artists is very original original, nice decor, beautiful views and two steps from the famous staircase Selaron garden. The welcome is warm, bright and comfortable common areas.
The team was very welcome and guided us in our tour programs by offering us plans off the beaten track. The breakfasts are organic and good.
Very quiet and at the same time close to everything in the neighborhoods of Lapa and Santa Teresa, and also close to the best places to eat and party.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alain f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed for five nights and could have easily stayed five more. Perched on one of the lower hills of Santa Teresa (which means it's closer to central Rio than most other B&Bs in Santa Teresa), but at a welcome remove from the noise of the urban concrete jungle below. We had been staying in Copacabana before and were feeling rather tethered by the traffic noise.

The place has a relaxed atmosphere, and the people working there always attentive and willing to advise on all matters from the food haunts to cultural tidbits. Breakfast is good (fresh fruit!! though could do with some more hearty (salty) things) and simply lovely when one can sit out in the garden. We slept in the room in front of the custard apple tree, the fruit of which is devoured by a small gang of marmosets. These cheeky mini-monkies greeted us in the morning as did the 3 fat cats that laze about the house.

We were a bit hesitant beforehand about the safety of the location and getting back at night since we were told by other Cariocas that Santa Teresa can be a bit dodgy in the thick of the evening, but don't fear, this place really is in a perfectly fine location, easy to reach the nearby bus-stops and metro that take you just about anywhere in and around Rio.

The only minus point was the shared bathroom (though some rooms have bathroom of their own) which can be a bit of a battle when shared with a family. The sculptures made by a local artist from recycled materials are great but could do with an occasional dusting. But these minor qualms aside, Casa da gente is overall super sympatico and recommended to anyone that needs some respite from the incessant hubbub of the town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harmanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We loved this place, the location was in the most interesting part of RJ and totally central. The host have us maps and detailed instructions on where to go and what to do which gave us the opportunity to see and do everything in a short space of time. The breakfast was incredible and there was plenty of privacy in the interesting levels of the house. I can't wait to go back and spend more time there.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jupitergreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

we stayed in Casa da Gente in February 2013 for a 5 nights and we couldn't be happier with services provided. Rooms are clean and comfortable, atrium and open garden offer possibility to relax and drink beer in the evening and forget that you are in center of Megalopolis. Breakfast is delicious and for us location was quite comfortable, because metro station was max 10 minutes by walk and bus stations 5 minutes. Only cons were, that taxi drivers didn't want to drive up to Santa Teresa, so we had to take 250 steps of Escadaria Selaron every evening and some parts of Lapa and Santa Teresa are still quite favela-like.
Almost forgot, but the hotel is decorated by interesting art of Getulio Damado (artist in yellow tram).

Room Tip: It's worth to pay some reals more for better rooms, which have AC and beautiful view to Downtown...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kuldar83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Me and my husband stayed at Casa de Gente for our honeymoon and we could not have been happier with our choice. It was our first time in Rio, in Brazil and out of Europe. We found Casa de Gente offers more than accommodation, as the suport, advice and recommendations given by the hosts (special thanks to Pauline) actually made our stay worth while. We were thus able to see not only the touristic landmarks, but also the local, specific attractions, such as a spontaneous concert in a small garden, breathtaking views and contrasts in a favella or the local market, full of life and colour.
Casa da Gente is an actual house, not a hotel, but there is intimacy as the rooms are completely separate and everyone is independent. You have a great view and an actual terrace with grass and trees (although located at the equivalent of a 8th floor building) and some quiet, which is very rare in Rio!
We heartly recommend it!

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms with an outside view. They will be worth the small difference of price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Very welcoming staff and owner, great breakfast and hostel type of atmosphere. located 10-15 min away from the subway. Close by Lapa as well! Great experience ! Owner helped us arrange different activities in Rio... what else!?

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sebig13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#1 of 340 in Rio de Janeiro
803 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#2 of 340 in Rio de Janeiro
588 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa da Carmen e do Fernando
Casa da Carmen e do Fernando
#5 of 340 in Rio de Janeiro
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Discovery Suites Rio
Discovery Suites Rio
#9 of 340 in Rio de Janeiro
57 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Marques
Casa Marques
#8 of 340 in Rio de Janeiro
117 reviews
Da Lapa Design Hotel
#16 of 340 in Rio de Janeiro
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa da Gente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa da Gente

Address: Rua Goncalves Fontes 33 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-100, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 340 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £40 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa da Gente is an amazing and ecological house, with a suspended garden hanging high over the roofs and streets of the city center, providing a breath taking view on the Baia de Guanabara. Ideally located in between the bohemian and peaceful Santa Teresa neighborhood and the night lively Lapa neighbourhood, the house provides you comfort, charm and hospitality. Our breakfast is delicious and natural and we have a free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa da Gente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Da Gente Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing