We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite disappointing”

Santo Scenarium Bar e Restaurante
Ranked #335 of 13,608 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Brazilian, Bar, South American, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Centro
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quite disappointing”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

I came here after reading the recommedations in TripAdvisor. Actually, it was quite disappointing. I hope it was just a bad day.

We waited for our dishes more than 30 minutes. When it came at last, we got the first dish (carpaccio) with the main course, although we asked explicitly to get it first.

The food was quite cold and not so good.

The place looks nice though...

Helpful?
1 Thank Dudabone
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    193
    45
    22
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food and charming environment”
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We happen to walk pass this place and decided to have lunch there. Food was very good and the service was good too. Should be a good place for dinner too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
145 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Santo Scenarium - good food, fun place”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We really enjoyed our dinner at Santo Scenarium. The restaurant has amazing decor and we made a trip through the entire place to see all of it; and the dinner we had, off the snack menu - was excellent - the manager, Dayvid Bastos, was very helpful to us and advised us to share dishes since they are large - which was good advice and saved us some money.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank pico1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tel aviv
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tourist trap!!!”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

People confused it with the samba club next door. This is a restaurant with an awful food. All the dishes we had were not eatable. If you want to go to the samba club eat first in another place, because on this area you'll find only tourist traps.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zach333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
192 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Nice patio and above average beer”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Patio with both sun and shade. Great for people viewing during the weekend open-air market. Menu of Chef specials seemed a bit pricey and remainder of menu seemed identical to other restaurants along this street. The Xingu Black Beer on draught was a nice find.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beerdrinker2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Santo Scenarium Bar e Restaurante also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Santo Scenarium Bar e Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing