We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant evening with close friends, wonderful meal!”
Review of Restaurante Oro - MOVED

Restaurante Oro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Jardim Botânico
Description: Chef Felipe Bronze
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
2,434 reviews
837 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 973 helpful votes
“Pleasant evening with close friends, wonderful meal!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Has a really lovely evening here recently with friends. The reception by the staff was special. We had a nice table and really attentive waiters. We really enjoyed the 5 course meal which we washed down perfectly well with some delicious wine. A bit on the expensive side, but well worth it. We wiIl be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ibadanboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    81
    25
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It is a shame to call this restaurant a "chef" restaurant”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Very simple and untastefull food, very very expansive for no reason.
We've been two people for an 7 degustation menu and a bottle of Angelica Zapata chilian wine and we paid around $350,00! Much more than we paid for a 12 course menu at LasarteOria in San Sebastian or Topoloponpo in Tel Aviv!!
He has still lots to learn until he could call himself a Chef

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Armoza27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worthless”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

I do confess i used to have some pre concepts with Felipe Bronze, until i had a chance to visit his bar, Pipo. The mix of flavours and textures are something indescribable... Oyster sanduich, pork belly, spice octupus ... aipim with coalho cheesse foam...This great experience led me to ORO with a considerable expectation. The entrance, all that finger foods with sea steam was pretty ok. Followed by the salty açaí with frozen foie gras and banana- didnt get the concept. Maybe a grilled foie gras with açaí would be interesting. The lobster with lemon and pistacho pure was the highest of the night, but far from memorable. The fish with beet, cervantes, tropeiro been, ox tale, all good but far from great. At the end, the several desserts was pretty ok, but the Oro cookie...wowww, the taste still in my mouth. I dont think the cookie paysoff the expensive dinner, but was awesome. The overall experience was ok, but is too expensive to be ok. O would never go back...

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Hamass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing, memorable meal”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We dined at Oro on our honeymoon as our big splurge during the two weeks we were in South America. It was SO worth it, and we still talk about how special each of the courses were. Amazing wine pairings, professional staff, and a culinary delight.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AllisonFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overhyped”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Oro was a big disappointment considering all the praises in this review. The waiter pushed hard 7 course tasting menu as we decided to have 5 course, which gave us more than plenty of food. It was not pleasant when we were pushed. 5 course consists of starters, langoustine, Amazon fish, pork belly and assorted desert. Among them, langoustine was the best but pork belly dish was too salty. Overall, in terms of the quality of food and service, Oro is way overrated and overhyped. On this trip, I've been to D.O.M. and Mani in Sao Paulo. These are far better than Oro.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Choice3240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Oro also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing