We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly staff”
Review of Adventure House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Adventure House
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Unfriendly staff”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights at the end of June. The hostel is located in a safe neighbourhood and is only 3 blocks from the beach. However, this may be the only positive.
We found the staff to be pretty unfriendly. There is a tiny kitchen big enough for 1 person to cook in at a time, and the cleaning lady stood in the kitchen watching us every night, we're not sure why (couldn't ask her as we don't speak portugese) but it was very offputting and felt like they didn't trust us to use their kitchen.
There isn't really a common area - just 2 sofas and a TV next to reception desk, but this is where the staff and their friends hang out every night so we never felt welcome to sit there.
It's not a hostel where it's easy to meet other travellers.
The TV/music is on very loud all night, even after asking them to turn it down, so if you are looking for a quiet nights sleep then this isn't the place.
We would not stay here again and would not recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al-and-Soph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    85
    62
    25
    5
See reviews for
6
18
69
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We found this hostel recommended in our travel guide - we knew that it'd be difficult to find a great and cheap place at Ipanema, so just went with this. We weren't disappointed by the location, it was great.

Although we had low expectations, we were disappointed with everything else. Apart from one guy, the staff was not very helpful when we asked questions about Rio. The hostel rules state that you are suppposed to be quit from 10pm in the evening - but it turned out that the staff was having lound drinks until at least midnight with the guests who came from the same country as themselves. This made it quite difficult to sleep (this might not matter to some people, but we were using Rio as a place to go to the beach in the morning followed by sight-seeing, not to party in the night).

There weren't many bathrooms to share - it was fine when we were there, but the hostel was only half full- I wonder how they'll cope when it's fully booked. Upstairs they had a female bathroom which was decently cleaned - the mixed bathroom on the first floor was usually smelling quite badly. The doors of the showers were kind of see through, so it's not a nice bathroom to share with strangers.

After 2 nights we left - we found another hostel close by - while it wasn't perfect and also had a low number of shared bathrooms, we only paid 35 Reales per person there compared to 55 Reales at the Adventure Hostel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trpadv2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

The hostel is nice in general.
Nice atmosphere, nice stuff.
Also, the location of the hostel, its greatr to, right in the center of Ipanema.
The rooms have air conditionair wich is niice, specially during the summer, you can get a very good night ( or day ) of sleep.

The main problem is that its kinda of dirty in the rooms, One night one gest saw cucaraches in his floor.
The breakfast is not good either and the common area its kinda of small.

In general its still ok, but is too expensive for what it is, totally overpriced.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elanibal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

This is a basic, but very reasonably priced, well maintained and friendly hostel, in a decent location fairly near the beach, and staffed by helpful, friendly people who speak many languages.

The breakfast is pretty measly but there are some great places across the street. The private room we had was tidy, clean, fresh, airy, had air con (crucial in the rio heat!) And was cleaned every other day. The toilets aren't always the cleanest but that's just the luck of the draw. The tours we booked here were great (bealocal.com).

I'd recommend this place to any couple looking to stay somewhere decent in Ipanema for an affordable price

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed 2 nights here. We were unable to get a double room but got a 4 bed dorm which no one else was in. The place was very clean. A small but clean & adequate kitchen to use. Excellent location- close to beach, shops, restaurants etc. staff were very helpful organizing tours & giving directions. All spoke English. Only Negatives were we didnt meet any other guests & Street was very noisy. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KLTACB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This hostel has a spectacular location as it is just a few blocks from Ipanema and Lagoa. Nice staff. WI-FI ok.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EDIAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I thought they rented bikes and things, but they only refer one to shops down the street. The staff answered any questions, but were not as friendly as in nice hostels. The rooms are small and cramped. There are no screens on the windows so mosquitoes come in at night. Breakfast is served to you, instead of self service, and is a very small portion of fruit. I didn't meet any other travelers while staying here. The location is good, but this hostel is overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lsweenstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
#4 of 763 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Discovery Hostel
#1 of 763 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Ipanema
The Mango Tree
The Mango Tree
#23 of 763 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
#13 of 763 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Ipanema
Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel
Bonita Ipanema Pousada & Hostel
#24 of 763 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Beach Hostel
Ipanema Beach Hostel
#19 of 763 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventure House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure House

Property: Adventure House
Address: Rua Vinicius de Moraes 174, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22411-010, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 763 Speciality Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Adventure House 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Adventure House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventure House Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing