We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful! Incredibly dirty and unprofessional.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rio Nature Adventure Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rio Nature Adventure Hostel
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful! Incredibly dirty and unprofessional.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Dirty, poorly maintained, unprofessional service. The location (in a hill, among trees) is fantastic, but simply doesn't worth it.

The restrooms are disgusting and rooms are plenty of dust (noticeably they don't clean it for months).

The private rooms offer balcony's view. But balcony is also the common and breakfast area, so be prepared to "sleep" with no privacy (even in a private room) and "chatting" with your hostel fellows all over the night.

Stayed in more than 50 hostels all over the world and had one of the worst experiences here.

Room Tip: Private rooms are noisy and offer no privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlosAranha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    16
    20
    30
    45
See reviews for
5
42
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

While it was not too expensive, it would be worth it to pay a little more for somewhere better. The rooms and common areas were clean enough, but the lower men's bathroom (separated by a looot of stairs from all other bathrooms) were filthy and without power. There was only one construction style light in the bathroom at all, providing just enough light to figure out where anything was. The guy who checked us in (can't remember his name) was super helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grykajos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

On the plus-side the breakfast was good and it is possible to see and feed small monkeys during it. The view from the breakfast terasse is amazing, especially at night when you can see Botafogo, a favela and the Crist statue lit up. Furthermore There are two tvs with loads of channels to choose from in english and portuguese for when you feel like relaxing.

On the negative side the place is really dirty compared to other places I have stayed in Rio, especially the bathrooms. The internet connection is really bad, I found that it worked better on their computer, but even then it was extremely slow. I didn't care much for the location, the stores surrounding close pretty early and have pretty bad selection and after dark I wouldn't feel safe walking to far alone in the area.

Room Tip: Be prepared to walk a whole lot of stairs, the hostel is located in various buildings up the hill an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C_V88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

This is a filthy, noisy, hostel with staff (except for 1 or 2 exceptions) couldn't care less. The bathrooms are foul - toilets nearly always blocked and out of use, showers ice cold and unclean. Location is good but that is all. My advice - avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OUFCperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

This place is exceptionally disappointing, I recently stayed here for the Rio Carnival, I paid £300 for 6 nights for an 8 bed dorm.

1. I travelled with 3 other people, we were put into a 10 bed dorm, which had an extra bunk bed put in there- there was no room to even turn around without hitting something.

2. After complaining we got moved to another room which was much better, however

3. The toilets on both floors were completly blocked for our entire stay and no one did anything about it. We had to travel up about 50 steps to get to a toilet that wasnt blocked.

4. My friend got bed bugs from the filthy mattresses and bed linen.

5. There is absolutly NO signage, I arrived on my own and it was quite scary walking up about 100 steps without knowing if your even in the right place.

6. The staff were unhelpful.

7. You cannot organise any tours from the hostel, we had to go to another one to do this.

8. The breakfast was OK but could of been more varied.

9. The showers are very dirty and cold.

10. Building work going on by your rooms.

All in all a very disappointing place, especially as it has all the potential to be a fantastic hostel but really don't stay here until they have sorted it out, every other person who was in the hostel with us agreed it was one of the worst they have stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3777CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

I highly recommend you chose another hostel. This one, despite the nice view from the balcony - is filthy, tight, hot and poorly arranged, have HORRIBLE bathroom structure. Did I mention very filthy?
Additionally it's full of cockroaches.

I believe that offering rooms with the bad quality that they offer is lack of respect for the guest.
I repeat again, don't waste your trip staying there. You're warned.

Room Tip: Choose another hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patriciajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavík, Gullbringusysla, Iceland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Not the cleanest but friendly and helpful staff. Liked the location, Botafogo was very nice. Be prepared for many steps to get to the hostel, we counted 141 to our room! Monkeys were cute and the forest around soothing!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emblasol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Botafogo
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo
Ibis Rio de Janeiro Botafogo
#44 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
Copacabana
Orla Copacabana Hotel
Orla Copacabana Hotel
#78 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Laranjeiras
Rio Nature Comfort Hostel
Rio Nature Comfort Hostel
#311 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Botafogo
Injoy Hostel
Injoy Hostel
#9 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Botafogo
Vertical Hostel
Vertical Hostel
#108 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Botafogo
Samba Green Hostel
Samba Green Hostel
#55 of 756 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Nature Adventure Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Nature Adventure Hostel

Property: Rio Nature Adventure Hostel
Address: Travessa Dona Marciana 31, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22280-120, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Botafogo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #470 of 756 Speciality Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rio Nature Adventure Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone who comes to Rio de Janeiro knows that this is one of the most beautiful places in the world. But, as every big city, Rio has its own problems and thinking about that, the Rio Nature founders, a young group of formers backpackers decided to create an option without traffic, luxury, and noise, giving you one of the best things you can find in Rio: The Nature.The Rio Nature Hostel stays at a high mountain, in Botafogo neighborhood, that provides you a waking up morning in touch with the trees, pure air and the nature. The Rio Nature hostel can also provide you very good security. You can leave your luggage at the hostel and enjoy the trip with no worries.We have all kind of adults guests, like tourists, who want to spend some days at the city and some students -for long periods who need a peaceful place. We also have an excellent staff worrying about your comfort and satisfaction at the Hostel with an English speaker crew.Come to Rio Nature and get to know these special experiences, without spending a lot of money, felling like you are at home. Full of nature and peace, we can guarantee you won't find place like this anywhere else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Rio Nature Adventure Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Nature Adventure Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing