We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Pousada, Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Favela Cantagalo
Ranked #65 of 337 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 February 2013

The Pousada is fantastic value for money in Rio de Janeiro, and the location is perfect, 10 mins walk one way to Copacabana beach, and 10 mins walk the other way to Ipanema beach, there is also a metro station in Ipanema which will take you to other areas in Rio.
My room was great, very big, clean, cool, comfortable, good shower, and secure. Ligia speaks very good English, and she will help you with directions for sightseeing, and finding good nightlife, all the staff were very friendly. A lovely breakfast is served upstairs in the terrace, offering spectacular views of Rio
The neighbourhood is not a problem, and you should find most of the locals are friendly, I never had any issues when walking back home at night.
The pousada is high up with a few steps to climb, as long as you are reasonably fit, this shouldn't be a problem. I would recommend staying here in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Pousada Favela Cantagalo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

It can be so expensive to stay in Rio with pretencious hotels charging you a fortune. We loved our stay at this safe and friendly pousada.

When we first arrived, we were not sure if it was a safe place... You are staying within a favela, but a friendly, local and happy one. You arr surrounded but the sights and smells and sounds of how local people live in Rio, it was unreal! And the surrounding people were use to travellers coming in and out of the pousada.

The rooms were clean and double locked. The owners dont speak english, but lucky we can speak spanish to get by and understand more. Our parents stayed in another room and they didnt have hot water, where we did in our room. There is no air-conditioning and I imagine it would be very hot in summer.

Breakfast was good and the view is AMAZING from the top floor where breakfast is served! You look out over the favela and onto Copacabana! So beautiful!
It is also very centrally located with a 5 min walk down hill to Ipanema on one side (to the right) or 5 min to Copacabana (to the left). You do have to walk uphill to the pousada, and watch your step for dog poo.. Remember you are staying in the real Rio. If you don't like walking uphill, then don't stay here.. We thought it was great! And no problem! There are AWESOME cafes and restaurants and the metro within a 5 min walk which was fantastic and the buses were easy! The hosts of the pousada helped us with a map and bus numbers to get to 'pan de azucar' and 'christ the redeemer' which are AMAZING!!
There is wifi upstairs on the top floor and we would stay here again for its central location, friendly vibe, cultural experience and cheapness compared with everywhere elsein Rio this close to the beaches.

Next time we are back in Rio, we will stay at this Pousada!

Room Tip: We stayed in the bottom two rooms over the pousada, it has its own seperate double locked door and i...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mikaela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

great place to stay! the location cannot be better, you got 10-15 minutes walk both to Ipanema and Copacabana, the view from the terrace is breathtaking, the breakfast is delicious and the stuff is friendly, although i communicated in Portuguese and dont know how good their English is. however i'm sure that they will do their best to help in any language! if you want to see the real Rio, beyond the postcard view of the beaches and are curious about the life in favelas, it is the place for you!

Room Tip: we had a double room with windows going out to the stairs outside, which made it a bit noisy, but it...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MECHTOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Fantastic stay in this pousada. The location is amazing, very convenient to Copacabana and Ipanema (walking distance). Very clean place, nice roof terrace with super breakfast.
And last but not least the owner, Ligia, is a jewel. She will do everything possible to make your stay a nice one.
Favela Cantagalo is now a safe place, no problem to walk there, even at night.
Thanks Ligia, and best regards from the 2 german and the 2 asians.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joerg200711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

This place isn't for everyone, but as the name says, it's in a favela so what do you expect? The Cantagalo is in a fantastic spot between Copacabana and Ipanema with fantastic views from the little guest house. The lady who runs it is charming but speaks more French than English, and she enjoys showing her guests around. She told us she was born in a shack nearby 50 years ago and after she retired from her dancing career in Switzerland came home to Rio. When we got there the workers were putting the finishing touches on the rooms, which were clean and comfortable but still a bit rough. The Cantagalo is no longer a dangerous place thanks to the new police force which patrols it, and the people are extremely helpful and friendly, wherever you go. But as I said, it's for the special traveller, not the air-conditioned swimming pool sorts!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lorenzogranada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

The hostel is located inside the slum cantagalo on ipanema. It is a lot of sports to walk up the mountain every time you get home.

The showers were dirty. There was no warm water and they couldn't repair it.

We ordered a 2 bedroom apartment, and got 1 room apartment with 2 beds.

This was a horrible hostel and we had to change it. I really don't recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Archie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Elisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Copacabana Rio Hotel
Copacabana Rio Hotel
#75 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,054 reviews
Ipanema
Arena Ipanema Hotel
Arena Ipanema Hotel
#24 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
273 reviews
Ipanema
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fashion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fa...
#6 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#83 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,190 reviews
Copacabana
Atlantis Copacabana
Atlantis Copacabana
#88 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
1,362 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 283 in Rio de Janeiro
2,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Favela Cantagalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Favela Cantagalo

Address: Rua Saint Roman 200, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22071-060, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada Favela Cantagalo is located on the south side of town in a peaceful community with many cultural entertainment. In addition, the inn offers all the necessary comforts for your stay in this wonderful city. Rooms with double and single beds, private bathrooms and an excellent breakfast on the terrace facing the sea of Copacabana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Pousada Favela Cantagalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Favela Cantagalo Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing