We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
39
17
7
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
17
7
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stayed 3 nights in early April 2013 - although it is in a favela, the hostel is safe at night. There is a walking route to Ipanema and another to Copacabana, both are a bit of a walk with some incline on uneven streets. You may get some weird looks if you're an obvious looking tourist but don't let that ruffle your feathers.

The two local maps given to you are worth studying in detail, they were of great help - be sure to read the Bus timetable on the back, made transportation a doddle once we figured it out. At the time of writing (April 2013), the General Osario/Ipanema metro station is closed so the closest metro station is Cantagalo. There is also a replacement bus service from General Osario to Siqueira Campos.

The double room ensuite (306) we lived in was basic but clean, two single beds, wardrobe (with towels and extra fleece blankets), one table and chairs, one electric fan. The bathroom consisted of a shower and a toilet - in between the shower and the bedroom was a washbasin. I believe my room was tidied daily by the staff.

Ligia (owner) speaks English and Portuguese, whereas her brother and the other staff only speak limited English. They are all very friendly and polite and willing to help. They helped us organise an evening taxi for two people to the International airport for 45 Reals.

Breakfast is a buffet-style affair with scrambled eggs, bread rolls with condiments, some fresh fruit, fruit juice, hot beverages and some frankfurters. The breakfast was good, filling and you can control your own portion size! The view from the terrace at the top is amazing both in the morning and evening, many photos were taken here as it overlooks the rest of the favela out towards the beaches.

You settle the outstanding cost of your room upon check-in and they accept credit cards.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank borntorunJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I picked this accomodation because of its placement, right between Ipanema and Copacabana beaches (it is like 10mins walk to either) and when I told people we will stay in a favela the comments weren't great. After the stay I must say I couldn't have chosen better. The actual pousada is very clean, the ladies working there friendly and able to help and walking around safer than most other places. The off licence (favela one) was open until early morning and the locals were frindly, smiling back and acknowledging us. The rooms have toilet and shower en suite and the breakfast takes place upstairs on the terrace with the most amazing view...all together we loved it, thank you very much!!

Room Tip: higher floors are better, I think
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the Pousada Favela Cantagalo. First we we're a little bit afraid of staying in a hostel in the middle of a favela. Now we can say, that it was the best experience ever. It wasn't dangerous to walk around, even at night we didn't have any problems. The people in the favela are all really friendly and helped us when we didn't know the way. Also the owner of the hostel, Ligia, is helpful and does everything that you feel comfortable in the hostel. Our room was big and they cleaned it every day. The best thing about this hostel is the terrace. You have an excelent view over Copacabana and the favela. They serve there one of the best breakfasts we had so far.

Don't be afraid of the favela and book a room in this hostel!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marco J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

The Pousada is fantastic value for money in Rio de Janeiro, and the location is perfect, 10 mins walk one way to Copacabana beach, and 10 mins walk the other way to Ipanema beach, there is also a metro station in Ipanema which will take you to other areas in Rio.
My room was great, very big, clean, cool, comfortable, good shower, and secure. Ligia speaks very good English, and she will help you with directions for sightseeing, and finding good nightlife, all the staff were very friendly. A lovely breakfast is served upstairs in the terrace, offering spectacular views of Rio
The neighbourhood is not a problem, and you should find most of the locals are friendly, I never had any issues when walking back home at night.
The pousada is high up with a few steps to climb, as long as you are reasonably fit, this shouldn't be a problem. I would recommend staying here in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

It can be so expensive to stay in Rio with pretencious hotels charging you a fortune. We loved our stay at this safe and friendly pousada.

When we first arrived, we were not sure if it was a safe place... You are staying within a favela, but a friendly, local and happy one. You arr surrounded but the sights and smells and sounds of how local people live in Rio, it was unreal! And the surrounding people were use to travellers coming in and out of the pousada.

The rooms were clean and double locked. The owners dont speak english, but lucky we can speak spanish to get by and understand more. Our parents stayed in another room and they didnt have hot water, where we did in our room. There is no air-conditioning and I imagine it would be very hot in summer.

Breakfast was good and the view is AMAZING from the top floor where breakfast is served! You look out over the favela and onto Copacabana! So beautiful!
It is also very centrally located with a 5 min walk down hill to Ipanema on one side (to the right) or 5 min to Copacabana (to the left). You do have to walk uphill to the pousada, and watch your step for dog poo.. Remember you are staying in the real Rio. If you don't like walking uphill, then don't stay here.. We thought it was great! And no problem! There are AWESOME cafes and restaurants and the metro within a 5 min walk which was fantastic and the buses were easy! The hosts of the pousada helped us with a map and bus numbers to get to 'pan de azucar' and 'christ the redeemer' which are AMAZING!!
There is wifi upstairs on the top floor and we would stay here again for its central location, friendly vibe, cultural experience and cheapness compared with everywhere elsein Rio this close to the beaches.

Next time we are back in Rio, we will stay at this Pousada!

Room Tip: We stayed in the bottom two rooms over the pousada, it has its own seperate double locked door and is much cooler in temperature because of the tiled floors and shade. Room 101 or 102 had hot water and privacy.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mikaela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews