We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our best place in Rio”
Review of Guesthouse Bianca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Guesthouse Bianca
Ranked #18 of 327 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
“our best place in Rio”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed at Guesthouse Bianca twice for 4 nights at the beginning and the end of our 30 days trip to Brazil.
If you are planning to stay in Santa Teresa, this colonial-style villa is the perfect place to be. Very comfortable and stylish. A small garden with beautiful trees and some flowers are around the house. There are nearly no car traffic on the streets. Just perfect to really enjoy and relax. To get to the center you need to walk down some 15 minutes (or take a taxi) to the metro station in Gloria. The evenings we enjoyed walking some 20 minutes down to enjoy the bohemian scene of Lapa, or to Centro (bars, music-clubs).
Breakfast is served on a beautiful terrace surrounded by a small garden with beautiful trees and some flowers. Breakfast includes a lot of fruits and fresh juice.
The rooms are spacious and kept perfectly clean. The rate (including bottled water, access to the internet) was excellent value for Rio (February 2013).
Guido is a charming and very helpful host. We profited a lot of his advises about where to go and what to see. This is the place we liked most in Brazil. We recommend it highly. Edward,

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    26
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
130
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Bianca is a beautiful old house in my favorite neighborhood in Rio. The house is wonderfully refurbished, elegant and comfortable, and a great section of Santa Teresa. The staff are friendly and helpful. Recommended very highly.
Bob L

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobLevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Guido and the team do an excellent job to make you feel very welcome at this beautiful house set high atop Santa Teresa. Lovely interior design, clean rooms and an imaginative, delicious breakfast. A ten minute stroll to a string of intimate restaurants of varying cuisine. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

My boyfriend and I had a fantastic stay at Guesthouse Bianca in February 2013. To begin, the home is beautiful; the rooms are spacious and kept immaculately clean. A local television show was even shooting an episode at the home during our stay! Breakfast was delicious - very fresh and lots of options. We also greatly appreciated the complimentary water bottles each day. Guido was very kind - he gave us advice on how to get around the city and what to see. Additionally, he went out of his way and mailed some postcards for us because he knew we were short on time. Guesthouse Bianca provided us with a safe and welcoming environment, and we will always remember our stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Britni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed at Guesthouse Bianca for 4 nights at the end of our 2 week holiday in Brazil.

We were lucky enough to stay in the Sugarloaf room which has amazing views of Sugarloaf and a lovely balcony where you can look down on the rest of Rio. The room was a very generous size with a large en-suite bedroom. I can't recommend staying here enough, the house is beautiful, with lots of old features, a great garden and in a ideal location.

Guido was a great host, he gave us lots of valuable tips about things to do and see, directions and tips on travel, and recommendations for the best places to eat in Santa Teresa (which is a fabulous part of Rio). We used the metro line which is close by, but Guido also gave us good directions for walking to Gloria and Centro, whilst also booking taxis for us

The room rate was excellent value for Rio, especially considering the size, views and extrs (bottled water, strong wifi and a really lovely, personalised breakfast)

I recommend staying here rather than by the beach, the service is more personable and you feel really looked after with only 3 rooms. We'll be recommending Guesthouse Bianca to our friends that visit Bazil in the future

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_Christine_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

After 3 weeks traveling in Argentina we stayed here for 3 nights to relax and enjoy Rio before our flight back to Holland.
We loved the enthusiasm of Guido and his staff to make this place a pleasure to stay. The rooms are lovely (some of them have a nice view of Sugar Loaf). One room has a seperate private bathroom. I can imagine there are people who want to have 100% privacy so check during booking. It's also been mentioned on the website. Wifi and safe deposit box are available in the room.
The breakfest was the best we ever had during holiday. Everything was fresh and the fruit was amazing. Eggs are prepared based on your preference. Breakfest is in the large dinningroom or in the beautiful garden.

It's a 15min downhill walk to the center of Rio (bars and pubs) and 15min (other route) downhill to the cheap subway (it will take you to Copacabana, Ipanema and Leblon Beach / the last 2 stops will be available in 2014 but you take the free bus extension). You can also take a taxi but they aren't really cheap. Normally a tram stops just around the corner. But due to a crash in 2011 the line has been closed untill problems have been fixed.

We had some problems with our card (being skimmed) but thanks to the flexibility of Guido we found another solution for the payment.

If you want a beach just around the corner the average price of a hotel is 200 Euro/500R per night (that aren't the best rooms). And I would not be suprised if the rates are exploding during WC2014 and the Olympics in 2016.
And the hospitality at Bianca's (we appreciate) is for free.. ;)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2013

If you are looking for a charming, unique place to stay that is central to much of the city of Rio, this is the guesthouse for you. Beautiful grounds and a home that is as well appointed as it is comfortable. Simple, delicious breakfast table is set out daily, along with complimentary bottled water in the guest rooms. A unique place in an interesting part of Rio. A relatively easy walk to Centro and Gloria where one can pick up the Metro. Was a challenge to get a taxi to take us back to the Guesthouse after an evening at the Theatro Municipal in the Centro, but otherwise we were able to organize cabs without great difficulty.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eydiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#1 of 327 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#2 of 327 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa T...
#4 of 327 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#5 of 327 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa da Carmen e do Fernando
Casa da Carmen e do Fernando
#8 of 327 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Geranio
Casa Geranio
#10 of 327 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Bianca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Bianca

Property: Guesthouse Bianca
Address: 35 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 327 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse Bianca is one of the only places in all of Rio de Janeiro from which you can enjoy a true bohemian neighborhood, the chic beaches of the south, the bustling city center, the infamous viewpoints, and the non stop nightlife - all from the luxury of a private home surrounded by a tropical garden.  The newly renovated home was built in 1932 and is located on a quiet residential street in the heart of Santa Teresa, considered by many to be the most charming cultural and historical neighborhood in all of Rio.  Guests are only a 5 minute walk to countless restaurants, bars, shops, bus and tram stops, and just a 10 minute walk to Rio's ever expanding metro system. The three rooms are exquisitely appointed and furnished, two of which boast stunning views of the Bay of Guanabara and Sugar Loaf.  The private guest entrance is through the lush garden, where you can find mango, coconut and goiaba trees, bromeliads, orchids, not to mention countless tropical birds and the occasional monkey. All of the rooms have elegant private bathrooms, inlaid hardwood floors, air conditioning, ceiling fans, and free wireless Internet. On the ground floor, guests have their own dining room and a self-catering kitchenette where they are welcome to prepare light meals and drinks.  Guesthouse Bianca's gracious host, Guido, is a native Cariocan and has lived in Rio all his life.  He speaks English, French and Italian and is always available to give tips on Rio, or join guests for a homemade piece of cake or a cachaca on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Guesthouse Bianca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Bianca Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Guesthouse Bianca Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing