We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical place and wondrous hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guesthouse Bianca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Guesthouse Bianca
Ranked #15 of 330 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Magical place and wondrous hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

My friend and I were really lucky to get a night at Guesthouse Bianca because they normally do 2 nights minimum and we had gotten our itinerary wrong when we first booked, but Guido was very accommodating and accepted us nonetheless. And what a joy it was! Our only regret was that we were not able to stay longer. We had such fun taking photos around the house, pretending that we live in that beautiful mansion. Guido was away during that time, but his friend, Alessandro who was helping out, was extremely helpful in arranging airport transfer and making sure that we were comfortable.

Breakfast was a lovely spread in a beautiful environment in the dining room (or in the verandah if you prefer) - everything was freshly baked and delicious.

Santa Teresa is far from Copacabana and the other shopping areas but taxi is readily available and the area is charming.

Also look out for the friendly cat and dogs - love them.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    26
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
129
17
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed in the Sugar Loaf room in July 2013 for 2 nights. As indicated by other reviewers Guido was welcoming and helpful. Breakfast on the patio was excellent. The room was comfortable and has great views from the balcony.
Minor niggles - only cold water in the hand wash basin (cold shave) and as often in Brazil no plug so take your universal sink plug. With the window open some noise from nearby apartments, so not quite as quiet as we had anticipated from other reviews. Also our guide warned us that it was not safe to walk back from restaurants in the neighbourhood in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WildlifeWatcher90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuidoSantAnna, Owner at Guesthouse Bianca, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
We are always grateful to get feedback from guests, as we are continuously looking for ways to improve our service and help guest to feel more comfortable. We just purchased fogless mirrors for each of the showers in the guest house; this way guests can shave with hot water in the shower. In addition to having hair dryers available in each room, we also recently purchased magnifying mirrors for each bathroom.

While we provide electrical adaptors for electronics from the United States, it is difficult for us to provide adaptors for every country from around the world. Nonetheless, we are happy to assist you in making any of your electronics work in Brasil.

Care should be taken when walking in all parts of Rio, as in any large international city. Whether it is Ipanema or Copacabana or Santa Teresa, it is always wise to assess the local environment before heading out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Guido's hospitality was great. We enjoyed our 4 days stay in this very well attended, thoroughly furnished (fantasy architecture) villa near the top of a hill in Santa Teresa a lot.
Super breakfast (on the veranda facing a beautiful little garden - planted and maintained with "savoir). Spacious rooms and a very calm atmosphere in the house!

On our next trip to Rio, we will stay there again !

Werner + Irmi

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wernerlorke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

I deeply recommend these bed and breakfast! Guido - the owner - has a lot of experience and gives you a lot of information if you like. The surrounding of the Guesthouse is awesome - a lovely place to calm down and to relaxe. The location of Santa Theresa it is like Montmartre Paris - a little bit boheme with artists shops and nice restaurants in the evening..
You will definitely enjoy the breakfast outdoor of the guesthouse - a great start into the day to discover Rio!!!! Quite delicious!!!!!
Agaton

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aganac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We spent our last night in Rio at Guesthouse Bianca. We would have loved to stay longer but unfortunately our schedule didn't permit it.
It is a beautiful, well maintained villa with a charming garden in the quiet, arty neighbourhood of Santa Teresa. We stayed in the Sugarloaf suite which has magnificent views to Sugarloaf and Guanabara Bay. The bathroom is big and airy and decorated with blue tiles. The balcony has seating for 2 and a hammock. There is a separate entrance for guests with a little kitchen which we used to make coffee. Free Wifi is available.
We really enjoyed the delicious breakfast which was served in the patio and consisted of fresh fruit, juice and freshly baked croissants and pao de queijo.
Guido was away while we were there but Alessandro and Paulo made us feel very welcome. They gave us good tips on restaurants and clubs. Our flight back was in the evening and we were allowed to stay in the room even after checkout time as it was not booked for the following day. If our room had not been free, they would have allowed us to use another bathroom to get refreshed after the day's sightseeing. Excellent service!!!
Staying at Guesthouse Bianca is like staying with friends rather than a hotel. We will definitely stay here for the entire stay if we visit Rio again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed at Guesthouse Bianca twice for 4 nights at the beginning and the end of our 30 days trip to Brazil.
If you are planning to stay in Santa Teresa, this colonial-style villa is the perfect place to be. Very comfortable and stylish. A small garden with beautiful trees and some flowers are around the house. There are nearly no car traffic on the streets. Just perfect to really enjoy and relax. To get to the center you need to walk down some 15 minutes (or take a taxi) to the metro station in Gloria. The evenings we enjoyed walking some 20 minutes down to enjoy the bohemian scene of Lapa, or to Centro (bars, music-clubs).
Breakfast is served on a beautiful terrace surrounded by a small garden with beautiful trees and some flowers. Breakfast includes a lot of fruits and fresh juice.
The rooms are spacious and kept perfectly clean. The rate (including bottled water, access to the internet) was excellent value for Rio (February 2013).
Guido is a charming and very helpful host. We profited a lot of his advises about where to go and what to see. This is the place we liked most in Brazil. We recommend it highly. Edward,

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Bianca is a beautiful old house in my favorite neighborhood in Rio. The house is wonderfully refurbished, elegant and comfortable, and a great section of Santa Teresa. The staff are friendly and helpful. Recommended very highly.
Bob L

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobLevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#1 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#2 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa T...
#4 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#5 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Santa Teresa
Mama Ruisa
Mama Ruisa
#3 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa da Carmen e do Fernando
Casa da Carmen e do Fernando
#7 of 330 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Bianca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Bianca

Property: Guesthouse Bianca
Address: 35 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse Bianca is one of the only places in all of Rio de Janeiro from which you can enjoy a true bohemian neighborhood, the chic beaches of the south, the bustling city center, the infamous viewpoints, and the non stop nightlife - all from the luxury of a private home surrounded by a tropical garden.  The newly renovated home was built in 1932 and is located on a quiet residential street in the heart of Santa Teresa, considered by many to be the most charming cultural and historical neighborhood in all of Rio.  Guests are only a 5 minute walk to countless restaurants, bars, shops, bus and tram stops, and just a 10 minute walk to Rio's ever expanding metro system. The three rooms are exquisitely appointed and furnished, two of which boast stunning views of the Bay of Guanabara and Sugar Loaf.  The private guest entrance is through the lush garden, where you can find mango, coconut and goiaba trees, bromeliads, orchids, not to mention countless tropical birds and the occasional monkey. All of the rooms have elegant private bathrooms, inlaid hardwood floors, air conditioning, ceiling fans, and free wireless Internet. On the ground floor, guests have their own dining room and a self-catering kitchenette where they are welcome to prepare light meals and drinks.  Guesthouse Bianca's gracious host, Guido, is a native Cariocan and has lived in Rio all his life.  He speaks English, French and Italian and is always available to give tips on Rio, or join guests for a homemade piece of cake or a cachaca on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Guesthouse Bianca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Bianca Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Guesthouse Bianca Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing