We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay at a beautiful guesthouse”
Review of Guesthouse Bianca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Guesthouse Bianca
Ranked #20 of 340 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed at Guesthouse Bianca in November for 2 nights at the start of our Brazil trip and two further nights at the end. The guesthouse is a lovely colonial house in the Santa Teresa neighbourhood with good restaurants and bars within walking distance. We had a fabulous stay in the sugar loaf room with stunning views over Rio towards Sugar Loaf mountain. Breakfast was excellent and Guido was a brilliant host - very friendly and helpful with nothing being too much trouble.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClandyWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

By far the best place we stayed during our 5 week trip to parts of Argentina and Brazil- and certainty not the most expensive.

It's hard to pin point what is so great about this place but the house- an amazing 1930's mansion which has been impeccably restored by the host- comes to mind. Beautifully furnished with rooms that make you feel great every time you enter. Not surprising that a Spanish ambassador lived their once.

Another reason is the owner, Guido. A gentle and charming man who somehow does not give any impression of being a businessman running accommodation but rather a refined man who had spare rooms in his beautiful house and decided to get guests in to pass the time. He is generous to a fault. He laundered a large pile of our clothes (for no cost) and went to the pharmacy on our last day because I was feeling terrible (worst hangover I can remember) and had a flight to catch.

Special mention of the breakfast on the veranda.

Why anyone would stay in overpriced accommodation on the beach I don't know.

We also did not catch one taxi during the day (we hate to) and the walk up the hill was fine although not for the elderly or unfit. Other guests sometimes got taxis. The neighborhood is lovely with some amazing houses and close to Lapa to go out at night. 5/10 minutes walk to metro which takes you everywhere.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We got to see the sugar loaf room and use the balcony when the guest moved out and it was free (AMAZ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adhamhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

This is absolutely one of the best places to stay while visiting Rio! Despite all its natural beauty and friendly people, Rio de Janeiro can be exhausting!!! By the end of a day at the beach in Ipanema, nothing better than coming back to Guido's comfortable house at historic Santa Teresa. I am a frequent traveler to Brazil and my stay at his guest house was the best time ever in Rio! Everything is perfect at Bianca Guest House--from the tastefully furnished rooms to the gardens and trees sorrounding them as well as from the many gorgeous views of the city to the peaceful nights away from loud crowds. I am definitively making this my destination in Rio. Thanks to Guido and his wonderful staff for a great vacation!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicaelili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The house in itself is an attraction. Built in 1930 this house has preserved the charm of the old Rio. Every corner has a beauty, tiles, doors, windows, floors. The owner Guido, is a lovely man who takes care of every detail for his guests. His taste is impeccable. Breakfast was served outside in a beautiful setting with delicious tropical fruits and warm bread, with freshly made eggs. The room was comfortable and beautiful. A wonderful find!

Room Tip: They only have 3 rooms and from what I could see they were all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APMarkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This is an absolutely stunning guesthouse set in an artsy part of Rio away from the tourist crowds of Ipanema and Copacabana. Guido and his staff made our stay as comfortable as possible and there was very little that they could have done better. The breakfasts on the veranda were incredible. The room (Corcovado) was very clean and had amazing views of Sugar Loaf Mountain and Christ the Redeemer. There was air con as well which is needed when it gets hot.

My only issue was the pressure and heat of the shower. It was only luke warm - which is ok when it's hot - but a bit annoying if you like a hot shower.

The area the hotel is set in is really bohemian and there are lots of great bars and restaurants. It's not too far from Centro (historic area) or Lapa (area with lots of bars). It is a bit far from any beach though if that's what you're coming for. Santa Teresa is located on top of a hill so be prepared to take taxis (about 10 real from Gloria metro stop) up to the hotel or walk up steep cobbled streets. There are small minibuses which do the run up from Gloria (2.5 real per person) but it's hard to figure out when they'll be going.

Overall I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing stay in Rio. Guido provided some great tips about places to eat, things to do and helped book taxis for our trip up to Christ the Redeemer and to the airport. If I ever go back to Rio then I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The Corcovado room doesn't have an en-suite room but the bathroom you have access to is your pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tplday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I chose to stay my last nite in Rio in the St. Teresa neighborhood, as an alternative to the beach. Glad I did. A great ending to my 2 week trip.
The house and gardens are lovely and well maintained. All previous posts marveling at Guido's hospitality are absolutely true. Over breakfast he served his guests and filled us with information. Discovering my plan for the day or really lack of one. He pulled out maps and pointed out the not to miss sites. Guests were coming and going and he managed to attend to all personally. A nice touch was the soft music always on light jazz or soft Brazilian. When returning could always hear it from the street. An inviting way to know you're "home"
I stayed in the Mango room. Not quite what I had imagined. Rather utilitarian. But just look at the window wall with shutter views of the street and stain glass upper windows. Don't think much can be done, needs of guests require all the furniture. Also, thought there might be a minibar, like hotels. Small fridge in hall..empty. To have that lovely terrace and gardens and not be able to sit and enjoy with wine or beer, just doesn't seem right. Maybe I missed the local liquor store.
My complaints are small compared to Guido's big welcome. Highly recommend.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights with Guido recently. The guesthouse is a beautiful colonial house which is set high on a hill with an amazing view of the Sugarloaf. It felt like a haven of calm. Decent restaurants were a 10 minute stroll away. Breakfasts were delicious. The room was spotless, although the rather old plumbing meant the shower was a bit weak. The main attraction was Guido himself - a really kind, considerate and helpful host who went out of his way to help us. Thanks!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BushResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#10 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
327 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#1 of 340 in Rio de Janeiro
803 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa 48
Casa 48
#4 of 340 in Rio de Janeiro
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Mama Ruisa
Mama Ruisa
#2 of 340 in Rio de Janeiro
408 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa da Carmen e do Fernando
Casa da Carmen e do Fernando
#5 of 340 in Rio de Janeiro
276 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#3 of 340 in Rio de Janeiro
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Bianca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Bianca

Address: 35 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 340 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £50 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Guesthouse Bianca 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse Bianca is one of the only places in all of Rio de Janeiro from which you can enjoy a true bohemian neighborhood, the chic beaches of the south, the bustling city center, the infamous viewpoints, and the non stop nightlife - all from the luxury of a private home surrounded by a tropical garden. The newly renovated home was built in 1932 and is located on a quiet residential street in the heart of Santa Teresa, considered by many to be the most charming cultural and historical neighborhood in all of Rio. Guests are only a 5 minute walk to countless restaurants, bars, shops, bus and tram stops, and just a 10 minute walk to Rio's ever expanding metro system. The three rooms are exquisitely appointed and furnished, two of which boast stunning views of the Bay of Guanabara and Sugar Loaf. The private guest entrance is through the lush garden, where you can find mango, coconut and goiaba trees, bromeliads, orchids, not to mention countless tropical birds and the occasional monkey. All of the rooms have elegant private bathrooms, inlaid hardwood floors, air conditioning, ceiling fans, and free wireless Internet. On the ground floor, guests have their own dining room and a self-catering kitchenette where they are welcome to prepare light meals and drinks. Guesthouse Bianca's gracious host, Guido, is a native Cariocan and has lived in Rio all his life. He speaks English, French and Italian and is always available to give tips on Rio, or join guests for a homemade piece of cake or a cachaca on the terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Guesthouse Bianca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Bianca Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Guesthouse Bianca Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing