We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How much time do you really need to spend your hotel room?.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Atlantico Praia
Ranked #149 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“How much time do you really need to spend your hotel room?.”
Reviewed 14 December 2012 via mobile

Hotel is located directly in front of the beach. The hotel was undergoing construction while we were there, some issues eith loosing power in the room which was much larger than need for furniture inside, bathroom and shower very nice snd clean. The staff went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure we were taken care of as we arrived at 6am when check in was much later in the day. The staff knew we had taken a very long overnight bus trip and offered us room to shower and get cleaned up while arranging us a wonderful tour of Rio which we loved and took up most of the day. The evening staff was just as accomidating any questions or help we needed they were right there with answers. I would return especially after construction was finished, hotel does lack wifi.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpbNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    193
    146
    74
    82
See reviews for
249
125
24
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

On the sea front in copacabana which is great in the day time but at night the area is taken over by women of the night and is very obvious. If your broad minded it is not a problem but not somewhere I would take my children.
The room was basic but adequate and the view made up for that.
The hotel was in course of refurbishment at the time but our room had not been touched at that stage.
Breakfast was adequate but a bit disorganised but this could be as they were doing up the kitchens as part of the refurbishment.
I would stay again but only for a couple of days as there are nicer areas to stay in Rio.
From what I saw of the refurbished rooms they look good and worth a revisit if I ever return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

The only good thing about this hotel is the location and the views from bedroom towards Copacabana. The breakfast is OK, pretty much what you can expect from a 3*hotel.
I wouldn’t recommend this hotel at the moment. The renovation is more extensive than I assumed from the reviews – surprisingly they still receive guest! It feels quite unsafe especially if you need to use the stairs as the lift doesn’t work appropriately. Very noisy after 8am and there is dust everywhere. The room we got were really big with comfortable beds but... was carpeted, smelled damp and the furnishings are rather dated. The only thing new was the flat screen tv. The bathroom is also very old fashion and damp but had warm water. We noticed that some of other rooms are better!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

If you just need a place to sleep this one is for you, if the price it's ok. I think it was very expensive and the overall quality was quite poor. The breakfast room is small and dirty, with few things to eat. The Hotel was under renovation so it was a little dusty and noisy but i hope it's a temporary condition. The swimming pool was unavaible because of the renovation.
One last thing...
The WIFI was really expensive (15€/Day) , no free time, and the reception's computer for customers didn't work.
Luckily just outside the hotel, on the bench on the right, there's a free wifi which works quite well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the beach so you get a great view and free wifi in the room from the outside free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetmcquack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Not too bad if you have a low budget and you do not have great expectations.We paid 200 euros for 2 nights - 3 persons including brekfast for a triple delux room with 2 single and 1 double bad at 9 th floor with the sea wiew ( wich is great). So if you have a low buget,beeing with friends for 1 fun week and you do not want lux , but wanna stay in Copacabana beach I would recomand it,othrweys no.It's still on renovation but at the 9 floor we could not hear the workers.....maybe because of traffic that could be heard from outside through the old single glass windows.Room is very big,clean but with old furniture.Brekfast is modest . Location is good, a little bit to the end of the beach , closer to Suger Loaf Mountain side. No internet unless you pay 30 reals a day.No air conditionat in the room.No problems regarding the warm water.All toghether it is a 3 stars Hotel under renovation !

Room Tip: Ask for high floor room with sea wiew when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharkyo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

The only thing this place has of a hotel is the name (that incidentally has been removed from the front as part of the renovation). The room was dirty, the beds used and abused, the carpet completely stained, half the tv channels didn't work and the shower disgusting (rusted shower head). Sadly it was one of the only hotels available and recommended by hotels.com. I now understand why it still was available. Hope they really renovate the place and make it into a hotel as the location and original structure (untouched since it was built 70 yrs ago?) would have lots of potential.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba
Level Contributor
140 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

The city was fulll and this one was the only place available! Never ever again! Big, but very old rooms with totally uncharming furniture. Very dirty and old carpet floor. They are refurbishing the restaurant, so workers began to make noise at 7 am and did not stop anymore. Only good thing was the location and breakfast was ok, but I will never ever stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BibianaCWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Hotel Rio Lancaster
Hotel Rio Lancaster
#131 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
447 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Astoria Palace
Hotel Astoria Palace
#102 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
977 reviews
Copacabana
Olinda Rio Hotel
Olinda Rio Hotel
#93 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
Windsor Excelsior Hotel
#30 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,373 reviews
Copacabana
Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana
Tulip Inn Rio Copacabana
#70 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,121 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Palace Hotel
Windsor Palace Hotel
#31 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantico Praia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantico Praia

Property: Hotel Atlantico Praia
Address: Avenida Atlantica 1456 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22021-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Atlantico Praia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Atlantico Praia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atlantico Praia Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing