We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deliciously Certified Gelato At Vero Gelato Italiano”
Review of Vero - MOVED

Vero
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Neighbourhood: Ipanema
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
177 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Deliciously Certified Gelato At Vero Gelato Italiano”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

One thing that really surprised me was how popular gelato is in Brazil. After visiting Vero in Ipanema, I started noticing more and more gelato shops around Rio and Sao Paulo.

Come to find out, Vero is the only ice cream shop in Brazil to receive certification from the Accademia della Gelateria Italiana, so, I mean, I had to try it. They have a large selection of unique and delicious sounding/looking flavors, producing about 30 flavors freshly every day.

I had their Figo com Amendoas (fig and almonds). It was amazing. This place could easily stand with the best of them in NYC. The gelato itself was creamy, with the perfect consistency. Folded in are little pieces of chopped fig to go along with the fig and almond flavored gelato.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sprungonfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    69
    19
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
132 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fair price for it style”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Located on a great place in Ipanema, it has delicious flavours of ice cream at fair prices.
The Tiramisu is awesome!! It is one of the best ice creams I tasted in Rio de Janeiro.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don't miss if in Ipanema”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

A few stylish locals strongly suggested visiting Vero for gelato and I am very pleased I did. Small shop with about 20 or so flavors to choose from. If you are in Ipanema be sure to stop by Vero for gelato as good as you would get in Italy...maybe even better.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank STALF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Innovative and delicious”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Vero has one of the best ice creams you can have in Brazil. The different flavours combined with a perfect texture makes me coming back again and again. For sure a must go in Rio.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LBrettas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

The ice cream is ok, good... Not great. But my last time there the staff was so unpolite... Unfortunately a reality in Rio.

Helpful?
Thank Hamass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vero also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing