We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place i ever been”
Review of El Misti House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Misti House
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place i ever been”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Close to the beach, to the metro and also to the principal busses, i got an awesome caipirinha when arrived, all the time were people cleanning the house, the breakfast and dinner was abundant and the staff are helpfull and nice... I meet many funny people there, the atmosphere there was so good!

Room Tip: Up stairs rooms are better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GCM314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    267
    122
    31
    24
See reviews for
25
48
304
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salvador, BA
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Good location and atmosphere. Great price. Includes breakfast and if you reserve from 4 nights, pick up free! You can walking till Ipanema, Leblon beaches., Rodrigo de Freitas Lagoon. One block from the metro. Banks, supermarkets, mails ... everything you need , very close.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2013

location, price, breakfast, staff.
good hostel in great location , near the beach, for a fair price.
4 blocks from the beach, bikes rental, really helpfull staff, and cheap caipirinhas and dinners every night.
they offer a free pickup if you stay more than 4 nights that worked more than fine with me.
i shared my room with amazing people that turned to be travellers buddies in my next destination...
we made some tours and they were well organized.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danyolano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I came to el misti to stay originally for 3 nights and I have decided to stay here for the whole of my stay in Rio as this hostel is amazing; perfect location, close to the beach, metro and buses. The staff can't do enough to help .The free breakfast is fantastic and the French chef offers "all you can eat" dinners in the evening and his cooking is fantisimo!!!!! The atmosphere here is very warm, welcoming, fun and safe. The best hostel I have ever stayed in the world, and I have stayed in lots............what more can I say? Maravilhosa hostel (marvelous hostel

Room Tip: fantastic room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NICOLALAWRENSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

No security to go in the hostel, no locks for the rooms, unfriendly and unhelpful staff, loud and unfriendly cleaning ladies, dirty bathrooms, dingy and crowded rooms, expensive tours advertised, had to pay for Internet, small social area, small eating area. Only good things were cheap caipirinhas from the friendly bartender, and decent breakfast. Would have been better if staff were actually friendly, but still would've been pretty bad.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I had an accident in the bathroom, the glass door of the shower crash suddenly and all my body was with little glass. My hands are damage, two hard cuts in my fingers.
IT´S NOT THE FIRST TIME THIS ACCIDENT HAPPENS!!!!
They must change to plastic!!!! So if you go there never have a shower in the bathroom downstairs (near room 8). People from the stuff are polite and gave me some help, especially the cleaning lady. Anyway they charge me the night and ruined my stay in Rio, you can´t swim or sunbathe when your hands are burning.
I stayed in bedroom 8, it´s not good: the roof isn´t tall enough and it´s wet.
The atmosphere is good.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amelia n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Had stayed here during June 2011 with a friend of mine. It had a very good break fast and the rooms were decent. We stayed in one of the dorms and the dorms were clean and neat. The best part is it is 100 meters away from metro station and 600 - 700 meters from the beach ! The staffs were not very friendly and most of them are from Argentina and thus their service and behavior is quite understandable. Very good place to stay in Rio if you are looking for a economic backpacking hostel in center of Copacabana neighborhood.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aravind17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
El Misti Hostel Rio
El Misti Hostel Rio
#6 of 805 in Rio de Janeiro
805 reviews
Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
#3 of 805 in Rio de Janeiro
432 reviews
Copacabana
El Misti Rooms
El Misti Rooms
#4 of 805 in Rio de Janeiro
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
El Misti Hostel Copacabana
El Misti Hostel Copacabana
#23 of 805 in Rio de Janeiro
984 reviews
Ipanema
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
Che Lagarto Hostel Ipanema
#10 of 805 in Rio de Janeiro
1,122 reviews
Copacabana
Pura Vida Hostel
Pura Vida Hostel
#21 of 805 in Rio de Janeiro
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Misti House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Misti House

Property: El Misti House
Address: Rua Silva Castro, 49, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22030-030, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 805 Speciality Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — El Misti House 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an excellent location in Copacabana, on a very quiet, no-car street, just a few steps from a metro station and surrounded by varied stores, El Misti House is a great option in Rio de Janeiro if what you are looking for is low cost, comfort and getting to know people from all around the world. At the hostel you will find a well equipped kitchen, two living rooms, free Wi-Fi, as well as private and shared rooms with lockers and linen. This hostel also offers El Misti Experience**, a programme that provides free tours with one of the staff members, as well as free pick up service on arrival*, buffet breakfast and dinner service both at a very low cost. A relaxed atmosphere and a 24 hour trilingual staff willing to give you several tips on tours and exciting parties is what you will find in this hostel. Here you will meet other travellers like yourself and will have an unforgettable stay! El Misti Hostel offers you a free pick up upon your arrival in Rio de Janeiro from the airport to our hostel. Minimum stay 4 nights and one of these two conditions: For bookings of 1 to 3 people: The total booking value must be equal to or higher than R$250. For bookings of 4 to 6 people: The total booking value must be equal to or higher than R$500. In order to get the free transfer, passenger has to reserve with the hostel or our Booking Center at least, 48 hours in advance. Please note that in case of flight delays or cancellations, it is the passenger's responsibility to inform El Misti about the new time of arrival. In case the passenger has not informed sufficiently in advance to our staff about the delay , El Misti will not be responsible for the transfer charge. The passenger will be held responsible for the total amount of the transfer in. Schedule: This free transfer service is offered between 07.00am to 10.00pm, with the exception of 25/12, 31/12 and 01/01, days when we DO NOT OFFER pick up. The transfers are done every hour by van. Right to use the service is subject to time and space availability. The free transfer is not valid for groups. It is offered only for reservations of no more than 6 people. -Check in as from 01.00pm. Check out until 11.00am- ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Misti House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Misti House Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing