We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Rio Gem”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Vancouver...
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Rio Gem”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Had a Fantastic stay! Alastair's very stylish place truly captures the colour and vibrancy of Rio! Located on a very quiet tree lined street but steps away from the beaches and all the action. The rooftop deck is perfect for a jacuzzi and chill after a day at Ipanema beach. Ellie (the host that met me) was super helpful and even found a reasonably priced gym close by ( Beach Club Gym) The doormen at the building were also very kind and helpful!
Highly recommend this Rio Gem!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scanlon20...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Penthouse - Very Friendly and Helpful Host”
Reviewed 26 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed at this penthouse during carnival with two friends. Staying here made our whole experience so much better than it may have been. As it is conveniently split into two levels ii offers both communal space and privacy at different times. The host Alistair was very responsive to inquiries and an invaluable source of knowledge regarding the neighborhood and Rio in general. Conveniently located with lots of restaurants and shops nearby with the beach a 5 min walk away. I'd encourage anybody looking for a place in Rio to stay here.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2017
Thank you David so much for taking the time to leave a review,much appreciated!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacatione...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location in Ipanema and fabulous apartment”
Reviewed 24 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
3
people found this review helpful

We loved our 10 day stay at Alastair’s gorgeous penthouse apartment in Ipanema. The apartment is located in the best part of Ipanema on a quiet street but only minutes away from the beach, shops and restaurants. The apartment itself was fantastic with colourful design, comfortable beds and a fantastic penthouse jacuzzi with great views. Having two levels also enabled a level of privacy between the two main bedrooms which was nice. Alastair was very helpful and responsive to my emails and questions before we arrived and during our stay. When we identified that one of the wifi routers did not seem to be working, it was almost immediately replaced which was most appreciated. I highly recommend Alastair’s place to anyone planning a trip to Rio – we’ll be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2017
Look forward to welcoming you back,many thanks!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
576antony...
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Penthouse with a view of Christ the Redeemer”
Reviewed 15 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in this beautiful penthouse for ten days. The beds were super comfortable and the accommodation was awesome. The location was just perfect for us and in a very safe neighbourhood. Prime location and we just couldn't walk past the patio doors to the terrace without looking up at Christ the Redeemer. We actually had to stay in a hotel on Copacabanna beach for our last night and it was nowhere near as comfortable as the penthouse. A truly wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The terrace and the beds
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the design of the place
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
J0ri
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow, glamoureous penthouse and top location!”
Reviewed 15 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I speak french so I will do my best to write in english.
Stayed there for 6 nights. After reservation, Alastair the owner sent emails about what to do in Rio, what not to do and how to use appliances in his penthouse. Thanks to him because he told me in time that we would need a Visa to come to Rio!! We are Canadians. When we arrived, we met the charmant owner Alastair who was staying there the week before, Ellie the manager and Alveis the doorman. Those 3 peoples where more than welcoming! So kind, respectful, and honest. They doing their best to make you feel happy. More than our expectations. Very nice humain beings!
The penthouse is wonderful. We felt at home. Warm and glamoureous atmosphere! Wonderful decoration.Wow! One cool terrasse and one great balcony. All included. Real flowers everywhere.
Top location in Ipanema and situated in one of the best and beautiful residential street. Felt secure. Close to the beach, lagoon, restaurants, stores, metro, taxis.. The penthouse is beside a school. We had great time watching children playing soccer
For the same price of an hotel room beachfront with NO balcony, since we were 2 friends sharing the condo, we got all this We recommend this place without any hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Decoration, terasse, location, and great service with a nice team!!
Liked least: Our stay not long enough!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keenancj
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Ipanema”
Reviewed 6 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were in Rio for five nights in October and immediately knew we had picked the right place when we arrived at the apartment.
We were able to arrange airport pickup through Alastair the owner and were greeted on arrival by Ellie the apartment manger who showed us around and even recommended a tour company to use for visiting Christ the Redeemer.
The apartment is very stylishly decorated and has every conceivable convenience you could need. There’s massive amounts of space and you are spoilt with two balconies with views of Christ the Redeemer statue. Make sure to try out the jacuzzi on the rooftop terrace!
There is a decent selection of DVDs in the master bedroom if you fancy a night in and also a collection of books. Good powerful showers and comfortable beds. There’ even a washing machine and dryer.
Ellie had a bottle of water cooling in the fridge and there was tea and coffee in the cupboard which was very welcome on our first morning.
The penthouse is located on a residential street but literally around the surrounding streets there are a host of great restaurants to choose from and there’s a supermarket under fifteen minutes away if you fancy cooking for yourself.
Three blocks away is Ipanema beach which is absolutely stunning and a nicer beach to Copacabana. There’s a metro station about fifteen minutes away which can get you into Centro to explore the older part of the city which I would recommend.
From the very first time I contacted Alaister he was exceptionally helpful and sent through an insiders guide to Rio. Ellie left a mobile with us so we could contact her easily if we needed to and she also arranged a return transfer to the airport.
If you are looking for somewhere special in a great location this is where you need to book!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, space and overall presentaion
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing