We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food ok but they openly cheat you on service charge”
Review of Balada Mix

Balada Mix
Ranked #97 of 13,705 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
268 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“food ok but they openly cheat you on service charge”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I ordered a veggie burger that was over-priced with no sauce and the salad with it was all wilted... but worst of all, the bill that they give you only totals your food and a hand-written 20% overcharge.. I was not certain of how much the service charge was as a foreigner so I paid for it after some protest, but on my way out asked the hostess who told me it is 12%.... Don't like to be cheated... check your bill!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travel2findoneself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    305
    71
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“2 types of veggie burger in a restaurant in Rio!!”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

This was an oasis for me as a vegetarian in Barra. Going into a restaurant and actualy taking time with the menu was becoming a novelty, so I was happy to go here and see the various options. Went for a cheese covered soya burger with fries, mainly to see how a soya burger would be in Brazil. It was ok. Despite the melted cheese on top, it was a little dry, but went nicely with the warm pitta bread. Fries were a little dry, but then I'm not keen on fries generally anyway. Colleague had a salad which seemed to go down well, although she didn't like the chicken in it.
Beers were very cold, but as with most Brazilian beer, fairly lacking in taste. Service was good, especially the English-speaking waitress who was a great help.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkP39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice but rushed and mediocre food”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I went to the Balada Mix in Barra Shopping one midweek lunchtime with my sister in law and was impressed by how busy it was and how organised the Maitre d' appeared on the door. We didn't wait too long for a table, sadly once seated, we did wait considerably longer for our order to be taken. The menu was quite spartan so we opted for one of the specials, Salmon with rice and potatoes. We ordered a beer and a coke too. There seemed to be a system with one waiter taking the order, another looking after food and yet another looking after drinks. Our meal arrived quite quickly but our drinks took quite a bit longer - we had to ask for them and they arrived half way through the meal, but not a moment too soon as the salmon was very very dry and the meal had no moisture in it of note! It was tasty, but just too dry. We then had to wait a while to locate the appropriate waiter in order to pay and then we shuffled off out into the centre, sated, but not joyful from our eating experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JojoJacques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A bit of everything”
Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

They have a great variety in their menu.
During the weekends it's also offered a buffet with a fixed price. All you can eat, plus very good quality items.
The ambiance is cozy.
We love to eat there anytime of the day or even at night.
The only con is that there was no need to be pricey as it is.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GilmB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Chilled out place with amazing juices”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Came here twice, once for lunch, once for dinner. Lunch involved huge sandwiches and amazing fresh juices, dinner involved pizza, very cold beer and caipirinhas. Relaxed, informal, friendly, loved it'd would go back.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Thomas_and_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balada Mix also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Balada Mix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing