We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXELENTE !”
Review of Lisetonga Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lisetonga Hostel
Mojacar, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXELENTE !”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I've been here five days. Hostel is a short walk from the beach in the hills, but it does not matter.
It's clean, relatively quiet hostel with a great atmosphere.
Thank you all for your interesting experiences and boys from happy moto thanks for the tour of Rio.
One more thing: D, great breakfast ...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 365LoGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    92
    21
    4
    0
See reviews for
16
67
173
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed there in August 2014 in a 5-bed dorm. The location of the hostel is good. Even though it is placed in a pacified favela, you feel save and it is close to the beach of Leme/Copacabana. The facilities were okay with a nice inner courtyard where you get the breakfast wich is also okay. It's highly depending on the staff if you get the information you need/want. Our main issue was that linen and towels (which you have to rent) were dirty/moulded. Even after asking for new once we received again dirty once. Another problem was that sleeping-bags are not allowed, even though the mattresses are covered with plastic sheets(to prevent bedbugs, which is good) and even though you are just provided with a very thin bedsheet which is not enough in colder nights. Bathrooms are okay and the hostel has a nice roof-terrace. Good place to meet people, too.If you can deal with these issues it is a good and cheap place to stay in Rio.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fabian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisetonga Hoste... R, Gerente at Lisetonga Hostel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Fabian, thanks for staying with us. We are sorry you received unsatisfactory bedsheets. We would have loved to change them for you once again if you have brought this issue to our attention. We find natural renting towels. Normally guests do not have issue with that. It is not true you cannot use your sleeping bag. You are welcome to use yours. Guest in colder nights also frequently ask for additional winter blankets which we have and distribute for free at request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Coming to the end of our 3 month trip my boyfriend and I stayed here twice (before and after going to ihla grande). The hostel is actually in Leme, but a short 10 min walk to the Leme beach (which is the end of copacabana beach). Also very reasonable prices (30 R/night/person for a dorm..which is cheap in Rio!). We found the staff to be very helpful and the hostel has all the resources you'd want in a good hostel - free and fast wifi, a kitchen, a great included breakfast, hot showers, and a list of what buses to take for the bus system. All in all a great choice!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank tak12345654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I loved this hostel and consider it to be one of the best stays I've had throughout all the years that I have been traveling. The staff is super helpful and very friendly and caring and create a great welcoming atmosphere right off the bat, the location is very close to the beach and although it is located up a somewhat steep hill, walking only helps with that bikini bod and if you are absolutely exhausted you can take a moto-taxi that will take you up there for really cheap (about US $1), the decor and atmosphere are very comfortable and makes you feel right at home. Breakfast is really tasty in the morning and there are lots of common areas to mingle with people. I really did not want to leave to my next destination as I had such a great overall experience. If you are in Rio this is definitely the place to stay!!

Room Tip: I stayed in Bratislava, which was a 4 person room and was on the quieter side and had a really great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeronikaVesna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Positives:

The facilities are really great. We stayed in a 4 bed dorm which had it's own balcony. The showers are hot.

Negatives:

If you are looking for a hostel with a great location, this hostel is not for you. It was a 25 minute walk to the nearest subway and a 10 minute walk to the bus. You also have to walk up a hill to get to the hostel.
We didn't find the staff that helpful, especially as the receptionist during the day struggled to speak English. The vibe was a bit flat.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisetonga Hoste... R, Gerente at Lisetonga Hostel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Greg, thank you for staying with us. We are very sorry that you downrated us on based on something that you knew prior to your booking. Location. Next time we suggest you check location before booking, so that you do not have to leave bad ratings for something that is fully in your control. Our rates reflect our locarion and we are very honest about where we are located. Most travellers seem to understand it. So you had a 4 bed dorm with a private balcony for 55 reais per person 5 minute walk from the beach. What a bad deal, indeed. We suggest you look for more expensive places next time that will have the great location you of course are very willing to pay for, right? ;-))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

The Hostel is really nice, The position is ok(just 6 minute up to a little hill and 10 from the beach) and totally safe!
The nearest metro station si a bit far (20 minutes) but the bus is closer.
There was a good atmosphere even if in low season and the bathrooms were always clean.
What I didnt like was the bed because of the "plastic" that cover the mattress(every time u wake up u are wet of sweat!!!), maybe just ask for more than one blanket!
The guys of The Hostel are awesome even if sometimes they are travellers like u And they cant give u The info that u need because dont know the city so good.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Fedeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Nice staff, good location, good prices :D My friends and I really enjoyed our stay at Lisetonga and Rio. The hostel has everything you would expect in a hostel, it is pretty near to Copacabana beach, you can meet a lot of people there and have a lot of fun ;)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tavo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Leme
Windsor Leme Hotel
Windsor Leme Hotel
#43 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
928 reviews
Leme
Chill Hostel Rio
Chill Hostel Rio
#45 of 805 in Rio de Janeiro
78 reviews
Le House Hostel
#31 of 805 in Rio de Janeiro
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aquarela do Leme
#14 of 805 in Rio de Janeiro
56 reviews
Pousada Estrelas da Babilonia
#30 of 805 in Rio de Janeiro
42 reviews
Botafogo
Vila Carioca Hostel
Vila Carioca Hostel
#29 of 805 in Rio de Janeiro
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisetonga Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisetonga Hostel

Property: Lisetonga Hostel
Address: Ladeira Ari Barroso 15, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22010-060, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Leme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 805 Speciality Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly renovated, chalet-style house, just three blocks from the beach. We have spacious dorms and private rooms and four beautiful social areas. Come and join us for breakfast on the terrace or chill out in a hammock in the tower lounge with a spectacular view of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lisetonga Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisetonga Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing