We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look no further... Stay at Casa Mosquito!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Mosquito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Mosquito
Ranked #29 of 331 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, Ca
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Look no further... Stay at Casa Mosquito!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

My wife and I just spent three nights at Casa Mosquito. It's a truly charming oasis a short walk from both Copacabana Beach and Ipanema. Unlike all of the nearby beach hotels, which are on very busy and loud streets, Casa Mosquito is inexpensive, tranquil and relaxing, the perfect place to return to after a tiring day exploring the hustle and bustle of Rio. Casa Mosquito provides a beautiful view of the now safe and pacified nearby favela from its many terraces and the entire place is beautifully designed. Our room was moderately sized and completely comfortable. It was beautifully appointed with the best shower I've ever enjoyed. And the private terrace offered a beautiful view of Rio. Benjamin and the entire staff provided superb service from the moment we made the reservation until we left. They arranged our transfers to and from the airport in Rio for a very reasonable price. Mainly, Benjamin, Lydia and Sergio, the chef, made us feel completely at home in Rio. Stay here. You'll be glad you did.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the nearby community or favela.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joshua T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    49
    16
    9
    10
See reviews for
23
167
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights based on the reviews on trip advisor. Benjamin who owns the hotel was fantastic, friendly and helpful, a pleasure to deal with.

Pros

Great location near ipanema although it is on a fairly steep hill so bewarned.

Lovely hotel, beautiful small touches and very clean. Very classy and elegant just like its owner.

Firm bed and great shower.

We took a tour with Benjamin's neighbor Marco who spoke great English and was 100 reals per hour (at time or writing one real = approx 1 AUD / 1 USD)

Cons

Additional services very expensive. Breakfast was great but was very costly for what we got. One day we ordered toast and were brought a fruit platter we didn't order, we assumed for free. Unfortunately it ended up costing us about $35 USD.

Another thing was laundry - we dropped some laundry off (and I should have asked the cost!) - probably about 12 tshirts and 20 pairs of socks and underpants - the bill for this was almost $220 USD - I was absolutely gobsmacked by this, I couldn't believe it.

Apart from the very expensive extras it is a fantastic hotel run by a fantastic bloke and I would certainly stay there again, I'd just do my laundry myself.

Hope this helps someone.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Watty48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjamin C, Propriétaire at Casa Mosquito, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear James,

Thank you so much for your review. It was a real pleasure for the whole of us to have you stay at Casa Mosquito. We will be more than happy to welcome you again in the future should you decide to come back.

As for the Laundry cost, I'm surprised and sincerely sorry that you didn' t see the Laundry Price List inside of your closet door. You would have seen that we do indeed charge 5 reais for underwears or socks and 15 reais for any other items, which are prices way under any other hotel of our standing rates.
It's true that considering the fact that you had asked for 50 pieces (17 shirts & 33 intimate pieces) to be taken care of, it did reach a high laundy bill.

As for breakfast, our fruit plate, if asked separately from the 35 reais full breakfast set menu, costs only 12 reais.
As you must have noticed, our staff, for now speaks a very basic english, if none as we are teaching them, little by little.
If in any case it was served to you by mistake, we would have been happy to send it back to the kitchen, if you wouldn't have accepted it.However if you thought it came for free I can understand that you decided to keep it.
I'm not sure though how to understand how you came into your calculation to a total of more or less 35 dollars and I'll be more than happy to fix any problem regarding the matter if you think that we made a mistake of any sort.

Well, I'm glad these little inconvenients were overlooked thanks to the rest of your positive impressions and once again I'm more than grateful for your nice review.

Warm regards,

Benjamin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madrid
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed 4 days in this nice boutique hotel and we had a great experience. The views from our room were wonderful, just a great experience to see the daybreak from the bed. The room although no big was very comfortable and cozy. The staff was great and Benjamin suggestion about visit and restaurants very good. For us just the breakfast can be improved specially when its not included in the room price. I highly recommend this place!!

Room Tip: Room with views is a must in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ana a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at this small, lovely and super stylish but still cozy boutique hotel. The room was ok sized and very nicely decorated. The place feels like being at home or in the vacation house of friends. The breakfast was ok, with the add ons that can be ordered very good. The kitchen staff was very flexible, and also prepared things that we wished for, even tough they were not on the card. The owners and staff were friendly, helpful and made us feel welcome. Our favorite place of the hotel was the terrasse, where cocktails were served and overlooked rio (cocktails are served everywhere in the premises but on the terrasse, they tasted extra delicious). Our room was with partial sea view, however the partial was a very small piece of sea that could be seen. Next time in Rio we will for sure stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Personal service & perfect rooms. Very stylish in all areas of this small boutique hotel. The view out to sugarloaf isnt as awesome as shown on the website (assume the photos were taken from a bedroom higher up in the house) but the terrace is still lovely to sit on and drink in the surroundings. We quite liked the 10min cobbled street walk down to Ipanema centre but the walk back up the hill was a bit of a challenge after a few too many caparinhias but not biggie. Long story short we'd definitely stay at CM again

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazza_savvytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guimaraes, Portugal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We found "Casa Mosquito" in the website (http://www.atmospherehotels.pt/), when we were looking for a nice, but not expensive hotel to stay three days in Rio. For sure, this was the best price/quality solution.
Casa Mosquito is a "boutique hotel", located in a restores period hillhouse, 500metrs from Copacabana and Ipanema beaches, right in the middle of then, in a very calm place, even though it's very close to a favela we never felt unsafe.
The atmosphere is great, the service people very friendly and you really fell like if you're at home.
We highly recommend a dinner made by the Chef Aly Oliveira....prepare yourself for a wonderful flavours experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PedroCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Its got to be said that Rio certainly has it's work cut out for it. 2014 and 2016 are fast approaching and this city truly lacks for great (or even good) hotels. Thank god there is some hope. Casa Mosquito opened last fall to quick international attention (that's how bad the hotels here are) with a notice in Monocle Magazine no less. I'm so glad to have discovered this intimate yet stylish (owner run and managed) little escape located on a hill adjacent to Ipanema (its a 10 minute walk to the beach) and the only neighbourhood where you need to stay in Rio.

The owners have done a great job with turning what was a run down old mansion into a chic little Franco/Brasilian retreat with wonderful views from the lobby (and from 2 of the 4 rooms). The rooms are compact as befits a boutique however the beds are firm and the shower is always hot - exactly what you need after a tough day on the beach and checking out Ipanema.

Should you not wish to leave the hotel they do offer room service as well as a set lunch (55R) by their resident chef and which was indeed one of the better meals I had in Rio.

Is it perfect? Well this being Brazil of course there are some issues - the workmanship in some places is a little shoddy and the breakfast (not included, 35R) is poor quality/value (go to the juice bars for a powerful Acai smoothie instead) however the Casa Mosquito is about as perfect as can be in Rio. Also needs to be said that the current assistant manager Lydia is a hoot.

Currently Casa Mosquito is, in my opinion, the ONLY place to stay in Rio. I hope other hoteliers take notice and force Rio to up its hotel game. A sexy city deserves sexy hotels. Wake UP! ;-)

2 Important Caveats:
1. this hotel is located on a steep hill so a fair amount of climbing is required, both from the city as well as from the entrance of the hotel itself. This is not a place to stay for anyone with any mobility issues
2. is located in a residential area and next to a church you will hear a lot of local noises in your room including but not limited to: church bells, dogs barking and roosters crowing at 5am when you are returning to your room after a night of clubbing. To me that's part of the charm but consider yourself warned.

Room Tip: request a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the_real_bohemian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
The Villa
#157 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#16 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Gavea Tropical Boutique Hotel
#186 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Hotel Arpoador
Hotel Arpoador
#21 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#12 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
#5 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mosquito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mosquito

Property: Casa Mosquito
Address: Rua Saint Roman, 222, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22071-060, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Mosquito 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Mosquito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mosquito Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing