We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot to get a real feel for Rio”
Review of Casa Mosquito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Mosquito
Ranked #25 of 328 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great spot to get a real feel for Rio”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed here in January at the beginning of a 2.5 mth trip/honeymoon in South America. The street and entrance when you arrive might make you question your decision to book here but it is a very safe area and a beautiful property inside with great views from the front porch.

The decor and experience are a perfect reflection of the owner, Benjamin, who was extremely kind and helpful to us during our 4 days there (same for the evening staff).

Yes there was some construction occurring while we were there, but it didn't disturb our stay too much and not much anyone can do about that as they're looking to expand.

Easy walk to the great neighbourhoods of Ipanema and Leblon, although as noted by others it is located on a hill so just be cogniscent of that (it's less than 5 mins walking up the hill though).

In summary, great setting in a not-too-touristy area, convenient location for different neighborhoods, beautiful and tasteful design, and helpful staff. Expensive but worth the treat.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa D, Gérant at Casa Mosquito, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hello Andy,

We hope this email find you well!
Thank you for your kind comments!
We are always happy to receive the best possible our customer.
Now our construction was finished and you must comes back to have a drink at side our swimming pool.


Best Regards,
Rosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    49
    16
    9
    10
See reviews for
23
169
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

First of all, the B&B is currently a construction site. Shortly after 7 AM, some fifteen workers swarm onto the premisses speaking rather loudly. The hammering and drilling follows around 8 AM on the new building being built on the property. When I brought this to the manager's attention, he vehemently denied it: the work was definitely not starting before 9 AM. Initially, I thought it could be possible that I didn't set my clock correctly to the Rio timezone, but the whole thing repeated itself the next day. A promise was made that the problem would be remedied, that I would be moved to another room or that the construction wouldn't start until 9 AM, but that never came to pass. To their credit, the construction did start a bit later the next few days, but never really after 9 AM. What was the most disheartening to me is that prior to completing the booking I wrote an email that this was our honeymoon trip, and that I would like a description of the room they had available for us, because we wanted something romantic, preferably with a balcony and a view. All I received in response was a generic email vaguely describing all rooms (none specifically) and mentioning that they all come with a balcony. Upon arrival, I realized that we ended up booking one of the two small rooms with a balcony staring at the hideous new construction which during the day had no privacy due to the proximity and the vantage point of the construction workers.

The landscaping and the interior design of the common area are stunning! Unfortunately, everything else is a bit subpar: our room was small, basic and somewhat unkept (the paint was peeling off the walls and the shelfs in the closet were really dusty), the breakfast was mediocre for (upscale) Rio standards. The staff was very sweet and did try to give us helpful tips. The manager seemed aloof and disinterested.

The location is not central but it is decent. However, it is a bit of a shlep up a hill, so while a good exercise, be mindful of your choice of footwear. The cabbies don't always know where this street is, and they also don't always respond to the calls from the B&B.

Room Tip: While the construction is ongoing stay away from the two rooms facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjamin C, Propriétaire at Casa Mosquito, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking time to make your observations regarding your recent stay in february 14.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed the decoration of Le Bristol, and our overall service. We were disappointed however that you found our standard room basic.

As you say our annexe is now almost ready, and there is no more trouble in the hotel.

We are looking forward to giving another mosquito experience, give us an another chance we make your stay unforgiveable and we will offer your and upgrade to our brand new suite.

Best
Benjamin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed for 3 nights, the place is great, the staff very kind and helpfull. The views of the city are top notch as is the breakfast. The rooms are far bigger than shown on the photographs and full of character and elegance. Love this place.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonitacaretell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosa D, Gérant at Casa Mosquito, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour a Vous,

On vous remercie encore pour votre choix et nous esperons que nous aurons le plaisir de vous recevoir a nouvaux.
Vos commentaires nous touche beaucoup et nous continuons a travaillez pour que nous puissons toujours vous offrir le mieux.

Cordialement,
Rosa dos Prazeres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Just a great place. Beautiful rooms, property, and view. Favela walking tour with Annabelle was incredible and worth doing to shift your thinking about these slums (obviously you are going into one that has been pacified but it shows the hope that exists for the future of the country).

Only two things to note: 1) I did not love walking to or from the hotel at night as you are pretty isolated on a winding road that ends in amother Favela (also pacified but...) and many taxi drivers fought with me when I asked them to take me back here either because they thought I wanted to go into the Favela or because the distance is actually very short from most places in ipanama. It was not a big deal but just be prepared to figure this out on your own.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lubecm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjamin C, Propriétaire at Casa Mosquito, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest,

This is a review really important for us, you can't imagine our hapiness to read that you enjoyed your stay, and specially your tour with our guide Anabelle.

This tour is really important for casa MOSQUITO we are social partner with the favela, it is our "moral" contract to participate of their growing and their hope of a better future, that is what we call equitable tourism at casa MOSQUITO.

Thank you for sharing this with us, and we always recomand Annabelle because it is a MUST have done when you come to Rio

Of course I will advise her asap she will be so happy.

See you soon at casa MOSQUITO

Warmest regards,
Benjamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
france
Level Contributor
130 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I stay over a week end, the place is just so nice, The decoration is perfect, the room very nice with a nice terrasse, the breakfast is very good.The welcome is friendly, nice and very efficient. 10 minutes by walk to Copacabana and 5 to Ipanema.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmplolo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjamin C, Propriétaire at Casa Mosquito, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstable thank you for taking time to review us on trip advisor.

We are glad to read that you enjoy you stay at casa MOSQUITO.

We are looking forward to hosting you again in a near future.

Warmest Regards,
Benjamin & Mosquito Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The house is beyond beautiful. The staff are extremely helpful. The location is authentically local while still perfectly safe.

So puzzled by the few negative comments I've read. People complaining about cost and location - both things that can be researched before hand surely? - and don't forget, this is marketed as a 'b&b'.

The standard is superb, and as such Casa Mosquito is great value.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grillardin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjamin C, Propriétaire at Casa Mosquito, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your posting on TripAdvisor regarding your stay with us in January

The fact that you found your guest experience amazing is the highest compliment you could ever give us!

We look forward to having you back at casa MOSQUITO

Best
Benjamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This is the first time we put a review on Tripadvisor and true, it took us 4 months to do it! Partly because we wanted to keep this gem for ourselves, I admit, and partly because we wanted to find the right words to describe this amazing experience we had at Casa Mosquito.
From the fresh welcoming fruit juice to our evening Caipirinhas, the attention we received was just outstanding. Benjamin and his team have this magical touch which makes you feel immediately at home. The choice of colours, of smells, of furniture, of pieces of art, etc. were an invitation to chill out in the lounge, after a great day out in Rio with an amazing caipirinha in the hand, listening to a great selection of music. It was such a privilege to sip our drinks on the terrace, facing a great view over the city and the lights of the favelas far off in the distance. The location of Casa Mosquito was ideal and allowed a nice stroll to the seaside in 10 mins and to Ipanema busy parts in 5 mins. The closest tube station was closed but the remplacement bus service worked perfectly and was an opportunity to drive through Copacabana, where the next station was. Walking back up the hill to Casa Mosquito was no challenge at all (and sometimes quite welcome, considering the amount of amazing food we had in the nearby restaurants, based on Benjamin's precious recommendations!). The peaceful, cosy and refined atmosphere in the bedrooms, the quality of the bed and softness of bedsheet were an inspiration to let go and be sound asleep. We felt at home, from the second we entered Casa Mosquito. Home as you exactly imagine it, as the ideal home, not as the one you actually live in. We loved it so much that we came back at the end of our Brazil trip, for another night before flying back to Europe. I was not sad to leave it because I know, I'm sure, that I will come back. Merci mille fois Benjamin et Louis pour ce tresor que vous avez su creer!
Em & Pedro

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ems2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjamin C, Propriétaire at Casa Mosquito, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Waou

I do not have the words just to thank you for this review. I am very pleased to read this, i will also share it with all my team.

This is exacty why i do this job, just to read that your stay was fabulous.

Once again thank you so much to have taken time to write it on Trip Advisor.

We are wainting to seeing you again in a near future at casa MOSQUITO.

Kindly,
Benjamin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
The Villa
#158 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#10 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Gavea Tropical Boutique Hotel
#187 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Hotel Arpoador
Hotel Arpoador
#24 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Inn
Ipanema Inn
#11 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
#6 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Mosquito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mosquito

Property: Casa Mosquito
Address: Rua Saint Roman 222, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22071-060, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 328 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Mosquito 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Mosquito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mosquito Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing