We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Inn Rio Leblon
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We went in Rio during New Years and accommodations were expensive in general. With no other affordable choices available (all $600 USD per night or up), we stayed here for one night at a crazy price. $170 USD!

We understood the theory of demand and supply and they had all rights to charge so much because rooms were short. But I really hate to see that our money is going into this hostel that is there just to rip your money off.

Our bed is in a small room with 2 triple levels bunk beds. The beds are flimsy with bottom supports that are cracked. I could hardly sleep looking at the supporting beam above my head cracking everytime the person above turned. The lockers in the rooms were perhaps made by some highschool kids within an hour before they heard out to the beach. Big gaps and fell off.

The bathroom were so dirty like they haven't been cleaned for 2 weeks. The common area is also dirty. There are quite a bit of "staffs" hanging around behind the reception area but just no one cares about the tidiness or cleanness. The power went off at night and an hour.

Lastly, I don't know if it's really in leblon as it's really 20 mins walk from Leblon.



  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bobui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2011

My husband and I stayed in their Delux suite for 2 nights. The staff and others staying there were friendly. However, I would not recommend staying here unless you absolutely have to stick to a budget and this is the cheapest option. The location isn't ideal...it's a 20 minute walk to the beach. They advertised that they have a private beach but there's no such thing. The bathrooms weren't clean and seemed like they hadn't been cleaned for a while. Breakfast was okay but not enough according to us...a cup of coffee, a banana and a ham and cheese...and you're not allowed to ask for more than one of each item. We paid $100 per night for the tiny bedroom with a shared bathroom, so I would say it wasn't worth it. The pictures made the place seem much nicer than it really was, so it was a huge disappointment for us when we got there. If I go there again, I would spend a little more money on places right by the beach, since it would be more convenient to go out then.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Traveler x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Esa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016
1  Thank Gabriela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Quartos do segundo andar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Renata F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Quanto mais longe da entrada melhor o quarto
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiago D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Cerca a la playa Ipanema y central.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
CabanaCopa Hostel
CabanaCopa Hostel
#86 of 835 in Rio de Janeiro
491 reviews
Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Mar Ipanema Hotel
#80 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,203 reviews
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#17 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
3,378 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#24 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,632 reviews
Ipanema
Praia Ipanema Hotel
Praia Ipanema Hotel
#89 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Inn Rio Leblon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Inn Rio Leblon

Address: Avenida Niemeyer 187, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22450-220, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #427 of 835 Speciality Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Inn Rio Leblon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Inn Rio Leblon Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing