We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oversold and dirty” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Inn Rio Leblon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Inn Rio Leblon
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oversold and dirty”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

If you like parties, then this is a good place. The staff is also nice and friendly, but it is simply not worth the money. I like to party, but I also like a decent level of cleanliness. The common room was generally a big mess, and very small, as is the hostel. There is an okay terrace, but that is about the only thing the hostel really has going for it. The location is awaz from the beach and Leblon... its very easy to catch a minibus into town, but I would recommend anybody to just find a hostel located on the streets behind the actual beach or more towards Lapa which is where the samba bars are. It was new years so the hostel was completely overpriced... I have never paid so much for so little.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KimboJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    7
    6
    6
    14
See reviews for
2
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

There are too many things wrong with this hostel. I left on day 1 when I had a 5 day reservation.
1. It is Not in Leblon. It is a 20min walk to the beach.
2. Common area is dirty.
3. Entrance stinks.
4. Service of the staff SUCKS. There are few of them but they do not do anything.
5. TOO expensive for the crappy room.
Seriously, there are so many better hostels or hotels in Rio. Do not waste your time here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KeepTraveling_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

Guatape, Colombia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We went in Rio during New Years and accommodations were expensive in general. With no other affordable choices available (all $600 USD per night or up), we stayed here for one night at a crazy price. $170 USD!

We understood the theory of demand and supply and they had all rights to charge so much because rooms were short. But I really hate to see that our money is going into this hostel that is there just to rip your money off.

Our bed is in a small room with 2 triple levels bunk beds. The beds are flimsy with bottom supports that are cracked. I could hardly sleep looking at the supporting beam above my head cracking everytime the person above turned. The lockers in the rooms were perhaps made by some highschool kids within an hour before they heard out to the beach. Big gaps and fell off.

The bathroom were so dirty like they haven't been cleaned for 2 weeks. The common area is also dirty. There are quite a bit of "staffs" hanging around behind the reception area but just no one cares about the tidiness or cleanness. The power went off at night and an hour.

Lastly, I don't know if it's really in leblon as it's really 20 mins walk from Leblon.



  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bobui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

My husband and I stayed in their Delux suite for 2 nights. The staff and others staying there were friendly. However, I would not recommend staying here unless you absolutely have to stick to a budget and this is the cheapest option. The location isn't ideal...it's a 20 minute walk to the beach. They advertised that they have a private beach but there's no such thing. The bathrooms weren't clean and seemed like they hadn't been cleaned for a while. Breakfast was okay but not enough according to us...a cup of coffee, a banana and a ham and cheese...and you're not allowed to ask for more than one of each item. We paid $100 per night for the tiny bedroom with a shared bathroom, so I would say it wasn't worth it. The pictures made the place seem much nicer than it really was, so it was a huge disappointment for us when we got there. If I go there again, I would spend a little more money on places right by the beach, since it would be more convenient to go out then.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Traveler x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Hennessy House
Hennessy House
#381 of 757 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema B&B
Ipanema B&B
#93 of 757 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Casa da Chacara
#305 of 757 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Botafogo
LimeTime Hostels
LimeTime Hostels
#40 of 757 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
#3 of 757 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Beach House
Ipanema Beach House
#87 of 757 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Inn Rio Leblon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Inn Rio Leblon

Property: Ocean Inn Rio Leblon
Address: Avenida Niemeyer 187, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22450-220, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #415 of 757 Speciality Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ocean Inn Rio Leblon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Inn Rio Leblon Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing