We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh!”

Restaurante Mitsuba
Ranked #23 of 13,662 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$40
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fresh!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Don't let the outside fool you as they look to be renovating signs at the moment. Inside you will find some of the freshest seafood you will have ever tasted. We ordered the Combinado Mitsuba which gave us Sashimi from 5/6 different fish and also a selection of sushi with the usual accompaniments. The Tuna was awesome, melt in your mouth stuff. It is out of the way a bit but well worth the visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tommygun32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    131
    30
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Fresh, Tasty and Simple”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I went to Mitsuba after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and was not disappointed.
This small corner restaurant serves excellent Japanese food with very traditional Sushi. In a city full of restaurants that serve Sushi or call them selves Japanese, this place is extraordinary and transcend them all. For the first time in Brazil - no cream cheese in my role! YES!

We were 3 people and took the Obentou to start with (Usually offered as a 1 person meal) and the Chef's Special w/30 peaces for the main course.
The Obentou was delicious and surprising, we found it to be interesting as a starter because it is composed of several small portions that gave variety to our experience.
The chef's special was delicious! we chose the 6 specials (optional) and left the rest for the Chef to decide. We received a plat of Nigiri with 10 different types of fresh tasty fish that absolutely melts in your mouth!
For dessert we had the Fried Ice cream, a true Japanese classic, that was put to flames on our table (See photo).

Service was good and attentive.
Location is easy accessed with the Metro - Sao Fransisco Xavier Station.

For all the above with 2 juices and a cup of tea we paid 270 BRL (130 USD) including service.

Enjoy

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Z_HardAtWork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Japanese restaurant for Japanese people”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Really nice restaurant. The best thing they have is the variety of white fish and the different dishes. I was really tired to go to a japanese restaurant and only eat sashimi, sushi and makimonos...

They got a delicious katsudon. If you are in two, have a new experience and get a special obentou, and also try their salmon onigiri!!! Delicious!

Try to stay on the first floor, because the second sometimes is really empty.

Helpful?
6 Thank TeardropBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Totally out of the beaten path: A carioca japanese haven”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This restaurant doesn't look like your typical japanese restaurant. Located in a far corner of Tijuca, in Rio's North Zone, it looks like a typical carioca bar, small and unpretentious. But underneath the simple façade is a place able to serve some of the best japanese food in Brazil. Food is done the traditional style, typical in Brazil of São Paulo's Liberdade. They have giant fresh tunas to slice your sashimi, a whole gamut of hot fare and some of the best deserts in town. It's strongly recommended that you try the cheese ice cream. If you ask if it's worth to be 20 minutes in taxi from Ipanema, Leblon or Copacabana to visit the exquisite place, the answer is a strong yes!!!!!!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Luckyminero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“For sure is the best japanese restaurant in Rio!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014


The largest variety of fish and specialties that only they have. If you're lucky you will prove the giant squid sashimi, which is amazing! Dishes on the torch are also very good...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Osvaldo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Mitsuba also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Restaurante Mitsuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing