We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very expensive....basically a b&b”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada
Ranked #22 of 348 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Quinta azul is on a nice street in santa teresa.....but the lovely Amazonian restaurant next door was the highlight of our stay.....not the accommodation. It's not a bad place in itself, just bad value for money.

Rooms are relatively small for the price.....even with rio prices in mind €175 a night seems expensive for a room with little space to walk around the bed. The shower and toilet area is nice and modern. The outside terrace was not very inviting and the jacuzzi looked like it had seen better days, and we weren't tempted to try. The breakfast is ok....some nice home cooked cake.

The reception area is a bit unwelcoming, especially in the evening when the tv blares soap operas. Wifi is temperamental and didn't work in the room (just in the reception).

I'd say pay an extra €50 and go to one of the upmarket hotels or save €100 and go to a more upmarket hostel/b&b.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lcckav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moviemakerlondon, Gerente at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Sorry you did not have a satisfactory stay with us, but we endeavour to do our best in satisfying all our guests but we will try to understand why there was soap opera playing at night in the Pousada.Our policy is to have only gentle Brazilian music on the background.
We are a Pousada, not a hotel and sells the place as such. We are a small guest house with 13 in a chic bohemian setting; what we do not offer in hotels, we hope to do in hospitality of a family type run place which gives personal attention to all our guests.
We believe what you paid for the Deluxe Room is good value; considering it has four poster bed, 400 thread count sheets and very comfortable bedding , and with outside space and jacuzzi. It would be difficult to find the same anywhere in Rio.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

This is quite a pleasant hotel set on several levels in the Santa Teresa district. We stayed here 3 nights. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom very stylish with a good shower. Hair dryer was provided on request which was brilliant! Breakfast was ok too.
Our room was right on the road and next to the entry gate which clanged every time anyone came in or out so quite noisy.
Pity the tram is no longer working because to get into town is either a taxi ride every time if you're not into walking or a steep 20 minute hike down to Gloria metro station and back up. This is a quiet, arty, bohemian area, but please do be careful. I'm no innocent abroad but I was attacked and robbed just 5 minutes walk from the hotel at 4pm in the afternoon. Luckily I had no money or documents on me and just bad luck. No reflection on the hotel, but a reminder that it can happen anywhere.

Room Tip: Away from the road and entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

If St Theresa is a cake complete with icing then all it needs is a cherry on the top of it.

Quinta Azul is just that, a sweet, succulent little morsel perched on top of it.

The neighbourhood is a friendly relaxed one and Quinta Azul is perfectly situated for exploring it.

The rooms are plain, spacious and clean, the staff friendly and relaxed.

Look forget the review, just book in there and enjoy it, it really was top.

Sebastian

Room Tip: Get a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastian_and_Gina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moviemakerlondon, Gerente at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Sebastian,

We're delighted we were able to provide you a memorable experience during your stay with us.
We appreciate your positive comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Quinta Azul Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Quinta Azul is one of the best places I've ever stayed. The Pousada is an oasis of calm and tranquility located in the hills of beautiful Santa Teresa. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and stylish, ours had the advantage of an outdoor terrace with hot tub which was perfect after a long flight. The staff are all exceptionally helpful and kind and the breakfast is wonderful, I can't recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: The room at the top of the Pousada has a balcony in the treetops with monkeys in the trees, very sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moviemakerlondon, Gerente at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Lee,

Your enthusiasm for our pousada is very much appreciated.
Many thanks for your nice review on our facilities and location.
Your feedback will be a great source of motivation to the entire team, we will surely forward your kind words to all at Quinta Azul.

We look forward to your next visit hopefully in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards from Rio!
Quinta Azul Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

From the first contact with this hotel, every part of our experience was very professional. They organized a taxi to pick us up from the airport and even went to the pharmacy to pick up some medicine for me when I was sick one day.

The hotel can seem a little noisy as mentioned by others, but we all slept really well because the beds are SUPER comfortable!

As far as location goes, Santa Teresa does seem a bit "out of the way" if it is your first time in Rio. However, this hotel has a great reputation and the value for money makes the taxis worth while if you can handle the windy/bumpy streets. If you mention that the hotel is right next to Espiritu Santa (very well known restaurant) we found that this helps taxi drivers find it much faster. Santa Teresa itself has a lot of culture and beautiful buildings, I wish we had more time to explore a bit more.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moviemakerlondon, Gerente at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Katalin,

We are very happy to know how much he liked yout stay at Quinta Azul.

Personalized service is very important to us and we really appreciated your kind words about it.

We also appreciate your comments on our location as well as on our staff.

Your words serve to encourage us to continue our work philosophy that is always seeking to satisfy our guests.

Thank you for your report. We hope to see you here again!

Regards,
Quinta Azul Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I highly recommend checking out Quinta Azul. The rooms are large and comfortable. There is a patio area surrounded by lush trees where you can read and have reakfast in the morning.
The staff is quite friendly and helpful. They speak English very well, which helped immensely.
Santa Theresa is my favorite neighborhood in Rio. There's a great, local night life scene there. I didn't run into a tourist the entire time I was there. I hope that doesn't change now that I've written this review. :)
Also, there's a bus stop right across the street that takes you down to the center of the city.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moviemakerlondon, Gerente at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Patrick,

What a wonderful your review about our pousada!
These cooments says that we are doing a good job.
We appreciate your positive comments on our services and facilities during your stay as much as your view of Quinta Azul neigborhood.

Our team will look forward to continuing to delight you with our hospitality on all your future visits!

Best Regards,
Quinta Azul Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada was a wonderful find - comfortable accommodations with extremely helpful staff to help with sightseeing plans, absolutely delicious breakfast buffet and all the amenities to make for a great stay. Santa Teresa was a wonderful neighborhood for galleries and restaurants, easy to catch a bus or taxi to other parts of Rio.

Room Tip: Rooms near reception desk can access free WIFI in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HSE_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moviemakerlondon, Gerente at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your positive comments on our services and facilities during your stay and can assure you that its comments like yours that motivate us all in delivering on our service standards.

We appreciate your comments on our location as well as on our staff, which you found to be so helpfull. We will forward your comments to the team.

Regards,
Quinta Azul Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#6 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
367 reviews
Santa Teresa
Mama Ruisa
Mama Ruisa
#3 of 348 in Rio de Janeiro
419 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#1 of 348 in Rio de Janeiro
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Discovery Suites Rio
Discovery Suites Rio
#8 of 348 in Rio de Janeiro
65 reviews
Santa Teresa
Guesthouse Bianca
Guesthouse Bianca
#20 of 348 in Rio de Janeiro
221 reviews
Botafogo
O Veleiro Bed and Breakfast
O Veleiro Bed and Breakfast
#18 of 348 in Rio de Janeiro
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada

Address: Rua Almirante Alexandrino 256 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-260, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 348 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £45 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta Azul is a Nineteenth century colonial building completely restored to original and modern day standards to provide best comforts and great value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing