We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something different”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada
Ranked #17 of 331 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Something different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

After several stays directly at the coast line in Rio de Janeiro we decided change location when German friends visited us. The Pousada is large and nicely located at a steep hill (you don't notice when you are standing at the entrance door) with Caja trees (not Caju) - the personnel showed us how to eat the fruits with salt - we liked them. Clean, good breakfast and very nice staff with at least one person around who speaks a decent English. At our late arrival at 21 h they gave us an excellent restaurant recommendation nearby and managed to book a nice city tour on short notice for the next morning at 9 h (the guide arrived on time ! Which is worth mentioning in Brazil). The bairro Santa Teresa is nice and appeared safe (we parked at the street without any problems). The only drawback is the access to the rooms via steep stairs - not good for little children and elderly or handicapped persons (there was no 'warning' in the description) and if you don't have a car it could be difficult to catch a taxi in and to Santa Teresa (not all taxi drivers like to get there), because it is further out from the majority of the normal customers.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank_E_Runge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moviemakerlondon, Gerente at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Frank,

Thank you for your great comments about your experience at Quinta Azul. We are really happy to know you appreciated our service and breakfast.

We sincerely hope to host you again in a near future.

Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    114
    37
    4
    3
See reviews for
41
209
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

I stayed at Quinta Azul for 3 days and had excellent time!
Erica and all the teams are dilghtful people, they may speak english, spanish, portuguese and definitely do their outmost to assist with every request.
The posada in itself is a beautiful, relaxing and comfortable hotel; and breakfast is just great with full range of choices. Mango juice was my favorite!
If there was a detail to improve, i would say iextend the WIFI internet connexion in the rooms, as it is only available in the restaurant area.
The location in Santa Teresa is about 20/30 minutes from Ipanema and any major attraction of Rio: defnitely good.

Room Tip: My room had a private jacuzzi on a private terrasse, definitely a must if your travelling with your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S- D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moviemakerlondon, Gerente at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
The Team Quinta Azul is immensely grateful for your comments. They motivate us to continue to provide services which bring satisfaction to our guests, as did for you.

We appreciate your positive comments on our services and facilities during your stay and can assure you that its comments like yours that motivate us all in delivering on our service standards.

We are very happy to know how much he liked to have been staying in our hotel. His words serve to encourage us to continue our work philosophy that is always looking for satisfy our guests.

As the Quinta Azul is a place where the comfort of our guests really matters, I was concerned to read we didn't meet your expectations in this particular issue.

We're naturally very sorry we were unable to deliver on some of our services and facilities and would like to mention that we take each and every guest/s comments very seriously.

We would be happy to inform you that we will work on and take steps to address the points you brought.

We were exceedingly pleased with your comments about our hotel and its services.

The main goal of our team is making sure that guests leave here very satisfied and return to our hotel.

We do believe in personalized and great service and your comments does motivate us to do an even better job.

I have also shared your encouraging feedback with our staff, and it truly drives us to give our very best.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

The staff are lovely and very helpful and the pousada itself is stunning. Set in the steep hills of Santa Teresa, it's modern, clean and the rooms are a great size. The breakfast is excellent and if you're lucky you'll see some marmosets running around. Santa Teresa is a beautiful place, with great bars and restaurants. Could recommend it highly enough. Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Redbellyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moviemakerlondon, Gerente at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear,

We are delighted to have you here as our guest, and we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Thank you for the kind words.

We sincerely hope to host you at Quinta Azul again!

Warm regards from Santa Teresa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

My stay of 4 days and nights in Quinta Azul was made extremely pleasant thanks to the comfort of the room and friendliness of the wonderful staff – one lovely lady even drove us to a samba club in Lapa, danced with us into the night and then drove us home. My memories of Rio will stick for a long time, not in small part because of my comfortable surrounding at Quinta Azul.

Thanks for looking after this gringo so well!

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Drew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moviemakerlondon, Gerente at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Drew,

Many thanks for taking time in sharing your very kind review on Tripadvisor!
We pledge to provide a refined personal service for our guests, as well as properly maintained facilities and are pleased to hear that our effort is recognized.

Thank you for choosing Quinta Azul for your stay in Rio
We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Quinta Azul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Charming, fun, friendly, loved it from the first moment we arrived and it got better. The gals running the pousada are the perfect storm of helpful, friendly and professional. The place just grew on us ... each day better than the day before. We will return for sure and not just because Erica owes us a caipirinha ~

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank dharmadas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moviemakerlondon, Gerente at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to hear positive comments about our services and facilities.
Thank you for sharing your review.
We promise that you will have your caipirinha on your next visit, which we hope will be soon.

Best regards from Rio!
Quinta Azul Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Quinta azul is on a nice street in santa teresa.....but the lovely Amazonian restaurant next door was the highlight of our stay.....not the accommodation. It's not a bad place in itself, just bad value for money.

Rooms are relatively small for the price.....even with rio prices in mind €175 a night seems expensive for a room with little space to walk around the bed. The shower and toilet area is nice and modern. The outside terrace was not very inviting and the jacuzzi looked like it had seen better days, and we weren't tempted to try. The breakfast is ok....some nice home cooked cake.

The reception area is a bit unwelcoming, especially in the evening when the tv blares soap operas. Wifi is temperamental and didn't work in the room (just in the reception).

I'd say pay an extra €50 and go to one of the upmarket hotels or save €100 and go to a more upmarket hostel/b&b.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lcckav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moviemakerlondon, Gerente at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Sorry you did not have a satisfactory stay with us, but we endeavour to do our best in satisfying all our guests but we will try to understand why there was soap opera playing at night in the Pousada.Our policy is to have only gentle Brazilian music on the background.
We are a Pousada, not a hotel and sells the place as such. We are a small guest house with 13 in a chic bohemian setting; what we do not offer in hotels, we hope to do in hospitality of a family type run place which gives personal attention to all our guests.
We believe what you paid for the Deluxe Room is good value; considering it has four poster bed, 400 thread count sheets and very comfortable bedding , and with outside space and jacuzzi. It would be difficult to find the same anywhere in Rio.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

This is quite a pleasant hotel set on several levels in the Santa Teresa district. We stayed here 3 nights. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom very stylish with a good shower. Hair dryer was provided on request which was brilliant! Breakfast was ok too.
Our room was right on the road and next to the entry gate which clanged every time anyone came in or out so quite noisy.
Pity the tram is no longer working because to get into town is either a taxi ride every time if you're not into walking or a steep 20 minute hike down to Gloria metro station and back up. This is a quiet, arty, bohemian area, but please do be careful. I'm no innocent abroad but I was attacked and robbed just 5 minutes walk from the hotel at 4pm in the afternoon. Luckily I had no money or documents on me and just bad luck. No reflection on the hotel, but a reminder that it can happen anywhere.

Room Tip: Away from the road and entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#16 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#2 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#5 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa Teresa
Casalegre Art Vila B&B - Santa T...
#4 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Santa Teresa
Pousada Sant'Martre
Pousada Sant'Martre
#45 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#1 of 331 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada

Property: Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada
Address: Rua Almirante Alexandrino 256 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-260, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta Azul is a Nineteenth century colonial building completely restored to original and modern day standards to provide best comforts and great value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing