We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 star accommodation for 5 star price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada
Ranked #21 of 346 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

First thing - Santa Teresa is a great area and worth visiting / staying in...just think about other accommodation. We had the room positioned under the breakfast area. We had crashing noises from above until the early hours of the morning which started again at 6am when the breakfast is being set up. The bathroom door was broken and when we pointed it out they promised to fix it the first thing the next day. They didn't fix it during our stay so we had to use the soap dispenser to close the door. All of the breads on the first morning's breakfast were stale. Also breakfast doesn't start until 8am but if you want to visit any of the attractions in Rio, like Christ the Redeemer or Sugarloaf mountain you need to be away long before that to beat the queues. Such a shame as we had looked forward to visiting this accommodation based on other reviews.

Room Tip: Avoid the room directly under the breakfast area. Do not choose this accommodation if you have any d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moviemakerlondon, Gerente at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We so sorry you did not have a satisfactory stay with us, but we endeavour to do our best in satisfying all our guests.

In the weekend that you stayed with us, we have a group of friends who always made noise in the morning, also we have a complaint from another guest.
Our breakfast always start at 08:00 oclock.
We make the key for the door of your bathroom in the next morning at your request.
We believe what you paid for the Deluxe Room is good value; considering it has four poster bed, 400 thread count sheets and very comfortable bedding , and with outside space and jacuzzi. It would be difficult to find the same anywhere in Rio.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

My son and I stayed here for three days totally enjoying the place and the location - have nothing negative to say. The style of the hotel is perfect for the St Teresa area. Staff is very friendly and helpful is planning your outings. The breakfast is offered on an outdoor area that is watched by marmosets in the trees. The location is great close to many restaurants and sights.
The perfect place to soak in the atmosphere of St Teresa - enjoy !

Room Tip: The hotel is narrow and on several levels, like all the older homes in the area. Ask for a lower roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Timothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moviemakerlondon, Gerente at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Timothy,

We are very proud to read your experience at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada.

It was a great pleasure to have guests like you, and our goal is always to try to exceed expectations.

I am extremely happy that we full filled yours, and we would like to thank you again for your lovely words about every detail.

Kind Regards from all Quinta Azul team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at Quinta Azul for 4 nights and felt we had made a great choice for our visit to Rio.
Santa Teresa is quirky and interesting although sadly, the tram was no longer running. The tram would surely add extra charm to this part of the city. Staff at Quinta Azul were friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet was varied and plentiful. We already recommended the hotel to other travellers the following week and they too were very happy to have found such a gem of a place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Algarvedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moviemakerlondon, Gerente at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very proud to read your experience at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada.

It was a great pleasure to have guests like you, and our goal is always to try to exceed expectations.

I am extremely happy that we full filled yours, and we would like to thank you again for your lovely words about every detail.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you once again and we thank you for this wonderful detailed feedback.

Warm regards Quinta Azul Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Myself and a friend stayed here for a week - lovely basic hotel in Santa Theresa.

The location was great, walking distance from a lot of good restaurants. The staff were lovely and very helpful.

The rooms, though basic, were very clean.

Two things to note:
1. Be prepared for loud wake up calls from 7am from road traffic and cleaners running up and down and shouting in the stairways

2. Watch out for an addition 10% charge which they slap on the bill when you go to check out. Despite having payed 100% of the cost before arriving, apparently this 10% service fee covers the cost of cleaning and breakfast.

Room Tip: The rooms located at the front of the building are very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZehraJabeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moviemakerlondon, Gerente at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Zehra,

Thank you for staying at Quinta Azul and we are so grateful to see your review.

It is very important for us to have your feedback and to know that you had a good time with us.

We are surprised at your comment to be awake at 07:00 am for our cleaners, what happened when guests were coming from a party and making a lot of noise. They were a group of friends, who were staying close to your room.

Our goal is to prioritize the guest, we offer to you and your friend a late check out when you inform to us that your flight was in the evening. No additional cost but to better serve you.

We have no hidden fees! All our fees are reported on the site, and the policy of each booking.

Quinta Azul Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

After several stays directly at the coast line in Rio de Janeiro we decided change location when German friends visited us. The Pousada is large and nicely located at a steep hill (you don't notice when you are standing at the entrance door) with Caja trees (not Caju) - the personnel showed us how to eat the fruits with salt - we liked them. Clean, good breakfast and very nice staff with at least one person around who speaks a decent English. At our late arrival at 21 h they gave us an excellent restaurant recommendation nearby and managed to book a nice city tour on short notice for the next morning at 9 h (the guide arrived on time ! Which is worth mentioning in Brazil). The bairro Santa Teresa is nice and appeared safe (we parked at the street without any problems). The only drawback is the access to the rooms via steep stairs - not good for little children and elderly or handicapped persons (there was no 'warning' in the description) and if you don't have a car it could be difficult to catch a taxi in and to Santa Teresa (not all taxi drivers like to get there), because it is further out from the majority of the normal customers.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frank_E_Runge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moviemakerlondon, Gerente at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Frank,

Thank you for your great comments about your experience at Quinta Azul. We are really happy to know you appreciated our service and breakfast.

We sincerely hope to host you again in a near future.

Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I stayed at Quinta Azul for 3 days and had excellent time!
Erica and all the teams are dilghtful people, they may speak english, spanish, portuguese and definitely do their outmost to assist with every request.
The posada in itself is a beautiful, relaxing and comfortable hotel; and breakfast is just great with full range of choices. Mango juice was my favorite!
If there was a detail to improve, i would say iextend the WIFI internet connexion in the rooms, as it is only available in the restaurant area.
The location in Santa Teresa is about 20/30 minutes from Ipanema and any major attraction of Rio: defnitely good.

Room Tip: My room had a private jacuzzi on a private terrasse, definitely a must if your travelling with your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank S- D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moviemakerlondon, Gerente at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

The Team Quinta Azul is immensely grateful for your comments. They motivate us to continue to provide services which bring satisfaction to our guests, as did for you.

We appreciate your positive comments on our services and facilities during your stay and can assure you that its comments like yours that motivate us all in delivering on our service standards.

We are very happy to know how much he liked to have been staying in our hotel. His words serve to encourage us to continue our work philosophy that is always looking for satisfy our guests.

As the Quinta Azul is a place where the comfort of our guests really matters, I was concerned to read we didn't meet your expectations in this particular issue.

We're naturally very sorry we were unable to deliver on some of our services and facilities and would like to mention that we take each and every guest/s comments very seriously.

We would be happy to inform you that we will work on and take steps to address the points you brought.

We were exceedingly pleased with your comments about our hotel and its services.

The main goal of our team is making sure that guests leave here very satisfied and return to our hotel.

We do believe in personalized and great service and your comments does motivate us to do an even better job.

I have also shared your encouraging feedback with our staff, and it truly drives us to give our very best.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The staff are lovely and very helpful and the pousada itself is stunning. Set in the steep hills of Santa Teresa, it's modern, clean and the rooms are a great size. The breakfast is excellent and if you're lucky you'll see some marmosets running around. Santa Teresa is a beautiful place, with great bars and restaurants. Could recommend it highly enough. Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Redbellyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moviemakerlondon, Gerente at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear,

We are delighted to have you here as our guest, and we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Thank you for the kind words.

We sincerely hope to host you at Quinta Azul again!

Warm regards from Santa Teresa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#7 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
351 reviews
Santa Teresa
Mama Shelter Rio Santa Teresa
Mama Shelter Rio Santa Teresa
#70 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
118 reviews
Santa Teresa
Discovery Suites Rio
Discovery Suites Rio
#8 of 346 in Rio de Janeiro
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#1 of 346 in Rio de Janeiro
816 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa da Gente
Casa da Gente
#16 of 346 in Rio de Janeiro
261 reviews
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#7 of 346 in Rio de Janeiro
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada

Address: Rua Almirante Alexandrino 256 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-260, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 346 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £58 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta Azul is a Nineteenth century colonial building completely restored to original and modern day standards to provide best comforts and great value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing