We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming pousada in a lovely area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada
Ranked #18 of 341 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here for 9 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it.
The rooms are comfortable and the whole place is very charming.
The staff are wonderful and did everything to make our stay enjoyable- giving us advice, booking tours and lending us beach towels.
The area in Santa Teresa is very nice and there are plenty of great bars and restaurants very close by.
The only negative was that our room (at the front of the building) was very noisy so we had to sleep with earplugs.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank SallyStorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moviemakerlondon, Gerente at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Sally,

We are delighted to have you here as our guest, and we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Thank you for the kind words.

We sincerely hope to host you at Quinta Azul again!

Warm regards from Santa Teresa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed four nights during the World Cup. This was our first time in Rio and we were unsure what to expect. Santa Teresa is a lovely little neighborhood, and once we got our bearings we felt very comfortable walking around, both during the day and at night. The pousada staff were all excellent - friendly and helpful. We had two rooms, both on the upper levels (as others have noted, the rooms are spread out over several floors and staying here would be difficult for people with mobility issues). Both rooms were very clean and comfortable. Yes, both wifi and hot water availability were spotty, but this is pretty common throughout Brazil and these minor inconveniences were far outweighed by the positives about this cute little place. We decided that Santa Teresa was our favorite neighborhood in Rio and would not hesitate to return to Quinta Azul.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moviemakerlondon, Gerente at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Tracy,

We are very proud to read your experience at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada.

It was a great pleasure to have guests like you, and our goal is always to try to exceed expectations.

I am extremely happy that we full filled yours, and we would like to thank you again for your lovely words about every detail.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you once again and we thank you for this wonderful detailed feedback.

Warm regards from Santa Teresa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed for 2 nights at the beginning of my trip to Rio and overall found it a great and quirky retreat. The staff are fantastic - really friendly and helpful with good English (as long as you dont speak too fast). It's not a luxury hotel - its a lovely, very Brazilian guesthouse built over several levels (so wouldn't be appropriate for people with disabilities or anyone who doesn't like stairs.) My room was basic but clean with a small balcony, good air conditioning, TV and a great shower.
Breakfast is plentiful (Fruit, Cheese, meats, breads, smoothies) and you have it on a lovely open verandha (part indoors/part out) with the forest around you and the little monkeys sometimes add to the experience.
The area around the hotel is probably the best in Santa Teresa for bars/resturants with plenty within 5 minutes (or less) from the front door - I ate at Espirito Santa (next door) & Bar do Arnaudo which were both superb. Bar Arnaudo in particular was very good value.
The immediate area felt safe and it was easy to get a bus or pick up a taxi to go downtown/beech etc.
Overall - A great place to stay and a really authentic experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrummieGaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moviemakerlondon, Gerente at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear BrummieGaV,

We are very proud to read your experience at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada.

It was a great pleasure to have guests like you, and our goal is always to try to exceed expectations.

I am extremely happy that we full filled yours, and we would like to thank you again for your lovely words about every detail.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you once again and we thank you for this wonderful detailed feedback.

Regards,
Quinta Azul Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My buddy and I stayed here 4 nights during World Cup. It was very clean with a nice breakfast set-up on a delightful deck area and coffee always available. The hostess Erica was wonderful, very warm, friendly and helpful. She gave a great first impression of Brasilian people! The room was clean and comfortable and they fixed a malfunctioning window lock muy pronto!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moviemakerlondon, Gerente at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Peter,

Thank you for staying at Quinta Azul and we are so grateful to see you amazing review.

It is very important for us to have your feedback and to know that you had a great time with us.

We will be informing all Quinta Azul staff about your nice words in appreciation of all.

We sincerely hope to host you again in a near future.

Warm regards,
Quinta Azul Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stayed for 3 nights recently and was very impressed. Great area with about 10 bars and restaurants within 200 metres. Safe and friendly. Very good breakfast in a semi open room/terrace. The WiFi could be improved upon though. I would certainly return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moviemakerlondon, Gerente at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Kenneth,

We are delighted to have you here as our guest, and we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We are working to improve the internet. Thank you for the kind words.

We sincerely hope to host you at Quinta Azul again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We booked this stay based upon the reviews and have to say it didn't live up to the hype.

The rooms were clean and the bed was super comfortable but there was no hot water in the sink and it was incredibly noisy.

The shower was broken when we arrived and wasn't very good once it was fixed.

Breakfast was ok but we were given milk that was off on the first day.

The staff were very good but overall it was not worth the money at £115 per night.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eca99mab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moviemakerlondon, Gerente at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We so sorry you did not have a satisfactory stay with us, but we endeavour to do our best in satisfying all our guests.

We remember the incident with the shower and at the same time the problem was solved. And when arrived the another guest, we don't have any complaint. We informed you before that there was no hot water on sink.

Your room is one of the the quietest we have. Because it is a room downstairs. We are surprised when you say about the incredible noise.

Best Regards,
Quinta Azul Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed a week at the Quinta Azul and really enjoyed it. The hotel has a lot of character and the staff are friendly and helpful We loved its location in Santa Teresa - there’s so much to see around the area, it’s just a short walk to the metro and one can catch a bus right outside the hotel to get to Lapa. There are great restaurants within walking distance and the markets at Gloria on Sundays are definitely worth a visit. Breakfast at the hotel was impressive with plenty of fresh fruit, fruit juices, smoothies, eggs cooked to order and different sorts of breads and cakes. This is served in a dining area which opens onto a verandah, shaded by large trees in which one can spot the occasional marmoset. Our stay at the Quinta Azul certainly contributed to the great time we had in Rio.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kath L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moviemakerlondon, Gerente at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Kath,

We are very proud to read your experience at Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada.

It was a great pleasure to have guests like you, and our goal is always to try to exceed expectations.

We are extremely happy that we full filled yours, and we would like to thank you again for your lovely words about every detail.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you once again and we thank you for this wonderful detailed feedback.

Warm regards from Santa Teresa!

Quinta Azul Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Santa Teresa
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Santa Teresa Rio MGallery ...
#10 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
336 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Cool Beans B&B
Casa Cool Beans B&B
#1 of 341 in Rio de Janeiro
807 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa da Gente
Casa da Gente
#19 of 341 in Rio de Janeiro
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Rio Panoramic
Rio Panoramic
#7 of 341 in Rio de Janeiro
217 reviews
Santa Teresa
Discovery Suites Rio
Discovery Suites Rio
#9 of 341 in Rio de Janeiro
61 reviews
Santa Teresa
Casa Beleza
Casa Beleza
#3 of 341 in Rio de Janeiro
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada

Address: Rua Almirante Alexandrino 256 | Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241-260, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 341 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £58 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quinta Azul is a Nineteenth century colonial building completely restored to original and modern day standards to provide best comforts and great value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Azul Boutique Pousada Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing