We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault the staff but would not recommend if you want to sleep!!!”
Review of Rio Aplauso Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rio Aplauso Hostel
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights with my sister. First time to Brazil and it was a last minute decision so booked this hostel as it was cheap and one of the few still available, the reviews looked good but I wasn't expecting too much after the price..

When we arrived at the hotel. We were greeted by a friendly gentlemen who checked us in and while he did that he gave us maps and information about the area which was great. We were showed to our room which was a double room which you had to access by walking through the male dorm - not ideal as you didn't get the privacy you wanted in a double room as you had to disturb the male dorm to walk though, I felt terrible locking the room when I went out as I felt like it was rude to the males in the other dorm.

The room was clean and had the facilities we needed. The beds were made although no towels were provided. There was air con in the room but you had to request this downstairs. There was a television in the room but no remote. The room was adjacent to another dorm which you could not access but you could hear very clearly. The shared bathroom facilities were poor, only one warm shower so had to que up for the shower in the morning. The bathroom was down the corridor fom our room.

During the 5 nights that we spent in the room, we had very little sleep. I am a heavy sleeper and I struggled to get a wink of sleep. The room has two very large windows, one with clear holes in the shape of a cross which meant all the noise from outside came in and it was extremely loud, the buses run all the time which is not the hostels fault of course but the noise was unbearable. The room was right on the main road so you heared everything from dogs barking to beeping outside.

The hostel was quiet which meant we didn't get the chance to meet other travellers so we did not spent any time in the hostel in the evenings but there is a television room with books and guides about the area.

The breakfast was exactly what you would expect from a Rio hostel - cheese and ham toasties! There was also biscuits, crackers, dulce de leche, chocolate milk and then tea and coffee but never any juice or water which I was disappointed to see.

The hostels location is good as you are just 5 minutes walk to the metro station. The road is safe and we did not feel vulnerable at any time. There are no safes in the room but we didn't need one as we locked the door when we left the room. You cannot get in the hostel without calling the bell which I thought was great as it adds to the security.

Overall an experience but I would not recommend this hostel. Stay at Bossa hostel just down the road.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bvbbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2012

firendly staff, great localisation, we just spend 2 nights as a couple so it was ok but enough for a couple! but poeple were charming! they also offred us some snacks! Wifi is free and good. Poeple at the front desk always trying to help you! Highly recommended, even more if you travel alone or between friends because it is easy to meet poeple

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gege C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We booked our trip for the carnival very early (10 months before), still the availibility of hotels on internet was very low. We choose one and did not have very high expectations but saw it as a bit of an adventure. However, three weeks before arriving we were contacted by the hostel and it turned out it had been rebuilt, the double room we had reserved had disappeared and there was now only dorms. After a bit of discussion we were promised a 8 bed dorm for only me and my wife. It sounded too generous to be true and at arrival it turned out it was too generous to be true. However, we were offered an apartment, in another part of the city. We arrived there with a nice guy from the hostel. The lady who lived there moved to her neighbour during two nights and we got to live in her one room apartment. She prepared nice breakfasts and did the cleaning. Carnival was a fantastic event, we also saw a lot of other Rio highlights and left very content. The people from the hostel helped us a lot with practical things and good advise.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NilsEmmelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Are u tired of trying out hostel that have 'raving' reviews on the net only to find that they are hell manifest in the form of guest houses?

Are u on a budget and yet the cheapest thing u can find will blow a weeks worth of budget planning?

Are u fed up of staying at hostel where guests throw up on u while u sleep, steal your shampoo (and only that if u r lucky!) and wake u up at all hours of the night as they stumble in from 'Narnia' where they managed to get to by consuming copious amounts of intoxicants?

.....me too.....

And this is why have hit the jackpot when u found Hostel Aplauso..... This is a quality backpackers dream come true.

Philip will help u get around town and let u leave yr bags and use the showers if u need to check out late. Breakfast is usually fresh fruit, toast,some type of juice and lots of yummy Brazilian coffee (never touched the stuff till I got here).

..... And the there is the price .... Just take a look people...

PS. There are female and Male dorms to choose from for us prudent ladies.

Don't bother looking elsewhere....

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellin_blues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Não tenho boas coisas para falar ha respeito dos quartos!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iago C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank UstedJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Francisco A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Jacarepaguá
Midas Rio Suites
Midas Rio Suites
#211 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
168 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#22 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,730 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
3,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Pestana Rio Atlantica
Pestana Rio Atlantica
#67 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,478 reviews
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#18 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,907 reviews
Ipanema
Praia Ipanema Hotel
Praia Ipanema Hotel
#94 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Aplauso Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Aplauso Hostel

Address: Rua Francisco Muratori 19, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20230-080, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #325 of 856 Speciality Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £27 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rio Aplauso Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O Rio Aplauso Hostel possui os melhores quartos compartilhados. Todos com ar-condicionado e ventilação natural. Funciona num casarão que é Patrimônio Histórico e Artístico da cidade do Rio de Janeiro, e que integra o chamado Corredor Cultural. Está localizado no Centro da Cidade, a apenas uma quadra dos Arcos da Lapa e de Santa Teresa. Rio Aplauso Hostel has the best mixed dorms (all with air-conditioning and natural ventilation). The hostel has its headquarters in an old mansion that belongs to Cultural Tour and the Historical-Artistic patrimony of Rio de Janeiro. We are located in the center of the city, just one block of Arcos da Lapa and Santa Teresa.In just ten minutes from the hostel guest arrives at Santos Dumont Airport, the Marina da Gloria and Vivo Rio. The location is perfect for those who want to enjoy the most exciting nights in Rio, with nightclubs of the most varied musical styles.Around the hostel we have the most famous houses of samba, bars, restaurants, cultural centers and our wonderful Municipal Theater. We are just 10 minutes from the subway Cinelândia, making it easy for guest access to beaches and Maracanã Stadium. We offer great accommodations and a delicious breakfast buffet. Enjoy the most charming place of Lapa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rio Aplauso Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Aplauso Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing