We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse place I have ever stayed”
Review of Hotel Pompeu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Pompeu
Ranked #224 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Seattle WA
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Worse place I have ever stayed”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This place is in a horrible location, Its not near the International airport but rather the local airport. It is dirty, the rooms are dank and filthy, the air conditioning doesn't work and people leave there doors open because its so small and hot. It is in desperate need of paint and I wouldn't be surprise if there is danger around ever street corner, my friend who drove us here was worried to leave us here. Next they didn't have to beds for us so I had to sleep on the floor. No compensation for the worse room in the house and was yelled at by the check in woman. Who does she think she is to treat guest so badly. It wasn't until we spoke to the manager did we get a second, kids bed for me to sleep on. The room was so small we moved the refig. to the hallway. My advice find another hotel, Rudest staff in the world, didn't tell us about any of the problems while my Portuguese speaking friend was their and once he left she spoke no English.

Room Tip: Worse hotel ever go somewhere else, no AC, tiny, dirty, smelly, bad news and staff horrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Capetownrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie A, Gerente at Hotel Pompeu, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear guest,

Pompeu Rio Hotel is located in downtown, just 300 metres from Avenue Presidente Vargas, the most important street in the center of Rio.

There are no personal data in your profile so I am not able to find your booking data, in order to find out what could happen.

There are sometimes that our guest pretend to book a twin room, but due to some confussion in booking agency website, they finally book a double room instead. We got this problem, sometimes and we solved in the checkin.

I've just checked in your Tripadvisor's post that your stay where in June 2014, probably during World Cup. In World Cup, the hotel were fully booked, so those changes in room types were quite difficult to solve. Whether it was not our responsability, I would like to appologize for this situation.

In your statement you speak about a frontdesk woman that was rude to you. Please contact us via sac@rederiohoteis.com.br and give us some more information about this facts. I will very glad to receive from you, and I will make the appropriate measures.

Kind regards

Ronnie Arosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    33
    38
    15
    16
See reviews for
30
23
13
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Linkoping, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Tiny rooms, dull breakfast and dull area, but relatively close to metro so it's easy to get to other locations. Hotel slightly dated but still in Ok condition. If you need silence in the morning you should ask for a room away from the street.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ronnie A, Gerente at Hotel Pompeu, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thankyou for sharing your opinion. It's very important for us.

Kind regards,

Ronnie Arosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

Aldie, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Booked two double rooms 2 months in advance but they did not have them when we arrived. Assigned a 3 person and 1 person rooms for the night. The 3 persons room was 5 feet from the busiest city street, door does not even close fully and has shutters with gaps; so it was literally like sleeping on the footpath - hundreds of cars and buses going by from 5am. They gave us double rooms for the next night and thankfully away from the front of the hotel. But the beds were tiny, very narrow doorways, no moving space in the room, mostly makeshift deprecated rooms. Cannot seat on the toilet with legs on either side as the toilet is to one corner of the tiny bathroom, close to the wall. The ceiling was dripping in my friends room when it rained outside. General locality around the hotel is terrible; cannot go out after dark.
This hotel was a disaster; really surpised that the city has not closed it yet. Only good thing about the whole nightmare was the free breakfast.

Room Tip: If you book a room here, you only have yourself to blame.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hemanth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronnie A, Gerente at Hotel Pompeu, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We appreciate to receive your comments regarding your stay at the Pompeu Rio Hotel. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express our sincerest apologies.

Ronnie Arosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We were misled by the website and were forced to stay at this place because there was nowhere else to go. The neighbourhood is very scary, but the 'hotel' tops it up with some of the people who stayed. The stink and the noise was horrible, and we couldn't sleep at night with people coming in and out. My room was not cleaned in the 3 days I had to stay there because there was nowhere else to go. And for 250 reais for a single room, plus 35 reais for breakfast, it would be a joke if it wasn't so pathetic.

Room Tip: Stay clear of this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Pompeu, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Mr. T P,

Our hotel is located in downtown, just 2 quarters from President Vargas Avenue, the most important avenue of Rio de Janeiro. Our neighborhood is included in the project "Porto Maravilha", and workers of Council of Rio de Janeiro are working in the streets near the hotel, so in this times, streets are dirtier than usual

The hotel process establish that rooms must be cleaned every day. When our guest leave his key in the frontdesk, cleaning is requested to the room maid for this room. Furthermore, we have 24 hours staff so guest could ask us to clean their room any time of the day

Our breakfast is totally free, from 6 am to 10 am. So you shouldn't had paid any value for the brakfast. Please send us an email to pompeu@hotelpompeu.com.br with your invoice for checking it. If we had made an error, we'll refund you with this amount.

Kind regards.

Ronnie Arosa
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Gamboa Rio Hotel
#184 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
81 reviews
Centro
Hotel Puma
Hotel Puma
#268 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
30 reviews
Centro
Hotel Galicia
Hotel Galicia
#263 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Pouso Real
#185 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
136 reviews
Centro
Arosa Rede Rio Hotel
Arosa Rede Rio Hotel
#82 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
273 reviews
Bristol Easy Plus Hotel Lapa Rio
#75 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pompeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pompeu

Property: Hotel Pompeu
Address: Rua Camerino 15 | Centro, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20080-011, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pompeu 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Placed on Rua Camerino, in the historic center of Rio, close to the Praca Maua and avenues President Vargas and Rio Branco. The area where it is located is undergoing a major revitalization since is placed in the area of the "Marvelous Port" project, which includes the museum MAR (Art Museum of Rio), the future Museum of Tomorrow (Spanish architect Santiago Calatrava), the Pier Maua, the new headquarters of the Bank of Brazil, Rio Trump Tower, the headquarters of Tishman Speyer (the British architect Norman Foster). These are some examples of projects that are under development in the region, and are all near the Pompeu Rio Hotel. The hotel is in a modernist building from the year 1939 and has 60 rooms, some newly renovated. The common areas were renovated in 2013. Our apartments are idealized thinking about your comfort, and they all come with private bathroom, LCD TV, air conditioning and minibar. Our guests have access to WIFI connection from anywhere on our establishment, totally free of charge. Come and taste the traditional Brazilian cuisine or try international dishes in the restaurant PIER XV recently opened, attached to our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Pompeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pompeu Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing