We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour of Rio with Madson Araujo”

Madson Araujo, Rio De Janeiro Tour
Ranked #3 of 475 Tours in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Customized private tours to Sugar Loaf, Christ the Redeemer statue, colonial areas, and more. English, French, Spanish and Italian spoken. IMPORTANT: I do not send another tour guide to do my job -- I will be your guide.
Nassau, New Providence Island
1 review
“Tour of Rio with Madson Araujo”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our (4 adults 60+) tour with Madson included the Christ , Santa Marta favela, Selaron steps, a fruit market and Santa Theresa neighbourhood. He came for us on time, in a comfortable car and we had a great day together. He was very professional, had a lot of knowledge, was humorous and made our introduction to Rio a very positive one. He gave us a lot of recommendations for eating out, other attractions, the best place to watch the sunset and so much more. He was very patient with us as we moved at Caribbean speed but we didn't want to miss anything. This was truly an enjoyable day and we would recommend his tour to anyone visiting Rio. Great, great value for the money spent. Teran, Donna, Malvern & Camille from Nassau, Bahamas

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donna242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadsonGuide, Owner at Madson Araujo, Rio De Janeiro Tour, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
I am glad to read that it was "great value for the money spent". Thank you for the compliments and review. All the best. Madson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
1 review
“legendary”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Did a tour with madson at the end of may 2104, withg 4 best friends, we are 24 years old and werent sure what to expect. We organised with madson to do a favela, thge redeemer, sugar loaf and the lapa steps. We were completely blown away, it was the best day of our trip, he had so much knowledge, was an absoloute crack up and one of the boys! Stayed longer then planned with us to enjoy a beer and tell us what else there is to see in rio! He was never rushed and was helpful with info and all the photo opportunities which he had some funny ideas and always wanted to take some so we could enjoy and remember the experience! cant thank him enough, it was a day il always remember
Brett from Tasmania, Australia

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brett A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadsonGuide, Owner at Madson Araujo, Rio De Janeiro Tour, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
I am glad to read that the tour day "was a day to always remember". Thank you very much for the review and for the compliments. All the best. Madson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tour of Rio with Madson Araujo”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had booked Madson for a tour of Rio during the World Cup months in advance. Right from the first enquiry he was very clear and professional about everything. Timings, sights etc were all made clear. Making a booking was also straightforward. On the day of the tour Madson arrived at the exact time he had promised (he was waiting for us in fact!) and off we went. A warm, enthusiastic, friendly guy, we felt comfortable with Madson right away. He constantly gives you information about Rio and its surroundings as you drive from area to area so not a minute of the tour goes to waste. He took us to a favela which he knew would be safe for us. He seems to be well known there which made it a lot for welcoming for us. Our tour itinerary changed a little as we wanted to stay at the favela a little longer than originally planned - Madson was absolutely fine with this and was quite happy for us to take our time and choose exactly wherewe wanted to spend our time.

His overall knowledge of Rio is excellent. He'll give you the lowdown on where to eat, drink, shop, relax and how to stay safe.

If you want to be shown around Rio then Madson is without doubt the number 1 guy for a fun, informative and safe tour of the beautiful city.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadsonGuide, Owner at Madson Araujo, Rio De Janeiro Tour, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you very much for the detailed review, filled with compliments about my services. All the best. Madson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rio sightseeing”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I spotted Madson on Tripadvisor a few months ago and was delighted to book his trips as part of our World Cup plans. Overall we had 2 great trips - early starts for Christ and Sugar Loaf which meant we missed the crowds and made the most of our time. Madson also took us to a Favela and a local market which we wouldn't have done without his local knowledge. I would completely recommend Madson- an informative insightful guide who delivers in a witty engaging way.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DPA1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadsonGuide, Owner at Madson Araujo, Rio De Janeiro Tour, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for the review and for recommending my services. All the best. Madson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
“Rio sightseeing tour with Madson”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Many thanks to Madson for bringing our Rio trip to life. Great knowledge, English, organisation and sense of humour all added up to two great tours. We started early in the morning to beat the rush which worked perfectly so we we spent our time sightseeing instead of standing in lines. The highlight was Christ Redeemer but everything that we did was fantastic and will live long in the memory. Well done Madson, keep up the great work. David S.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MadsonGuide, Owner at Madson Araujo, Rio De Janeiro Tour, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
I am glad to read that the tour will live long in your memory. Thank you for the review. All the best. Madson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Madson Araujo, Rio De Janeiro Tour also viewed

 

Been to Madson Araujo, Rio De Janeiro Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing