We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Sesc Copacabana
Nearby Hotels
Belmond Copacabana Palace(Rio de Janeiro)
US$710
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Miramar Hotel by Windsor(Rio de Janeiro)
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Transamerica Prime Barra(Rio de Janeiro)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Novotel RJ Santos Dumont(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$44
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Rio Othon Palace Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Copacabana Rio Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Atlantis Copacabana(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Copacabana(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (750)
Filter reviews
750 results
Traveller rating
329
362
53
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
329
362
53
5
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 750 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

After a disastrous experience at Rondovia, our travel agent (who was fortunately travelling with us) managed a saving move to SESC for our two remaining nights in Rio. Location is good, in a pretty quiet street near Copacabana beach and various nice bars and restaurants. My room was ok, nothing special to highlight, but at least no issue. Like most places I stayed in Brazil, breakfast buffet was just fine. While wifi was not working well, the big issue in his hotel is about elevators. Only two lifts for such a high-rise building made me wait sometimes up to ten minutes !

I can’t really understand how the place is so highly rated among all Rio’s hotels (well, it basically shows how average is the accommodation offer around...) but it’s all in all not a bad place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuldCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Great location near Copacabana, but unfriendly staff, wifi and elevator (waiting time sometimes more than 10 minutes, guests walk in the staircase because they have enough) do not work properly, mold in the shower, totally overpriced

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RetoWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We recently had a family reunion in Rio de Janeiro. There were 8 of us and we stayed at the SESC and it was just perfect! It is right in the heart of this famous area of Rio, just a block from the beach and surrounded by restaurants, shops, coffee shops, supermarket close by, etc. Staff were friendly, informative and helpful. The hotel is not new, but impeccably clean and well maintained. Breakfast is included and they offer a varied buffet of fresh fruit, juices, eggs and sausage, coffee, tea, cereals and the obligatory (and delicious!) Brazilian cakes and breads. Rio is expensive in terms of accommodation, but this was very affordable and could not have been better located. Completely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I loved this location hotel. Is very near from the beach and from the bus stop which takes you to the main touristic attractions. The apartments are comfortable and has a fair price if you are comparing to the most hotels in this city.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ligyabsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This hotel is deemed to be a three star hotel in Brazil, but would be the equivalent of a two star hotel in North America. The best thing related to the hotel is its location. It is in an excellent location. Right in the middle of Copacabana, but in a quiet street. Steps from the beach and the busy N.S. de Copabana Street, where you can get buses going everywhere in Rio and where taxis abound. The subway station is also not very far, just a few blocks away.

The breakfast is acceptable, but they serve the same things every morning (scrambled eggs, pork sausages in tomato sauce, biscuits, papaya, banana, melon, cold cuts, cheese, bread, cake and juices.

The front desk is inflexible as to the check-in time: nobody, but absolutely nobody can check-in before 2:00 p.m. Also there is not much room behind the desk to leave your luggage and come back to check-in later. When they run out of run behind the desk, they will not even store your luggage. So, people linger around, sometimes for hours waiting for 2:00 p.m. Since there are only 2 people checking people in and payment must be upfront at checking-in, the process can take quite a while. A good number of people (some with the luggage they could not store) are lined up up to one hour until they get to be checked in. Since I arrived earlier in the morning I was lucky enough to be able to store my suitcase behind the desk and then go out. Even though I waited to check in 45 minutes after 2:00 p.m., I still had to line up to do so.
By the way, the check out can also take time as if you check out early in the morning, there will be only one person at the desk.

As for the rooms, they are a nice good size with large bathrooms. There are also two internet stations available free to the guests on the third floor where the breakfast is served.

Be warned that sometimes you will have to wait for the elevators, even though there are two of them, as the building also has facilities for members of the SESC organisation and general public making the elevators very busy.

Would I stay there again? Well, since there are discounts for seniors, the price is right, if you are a senior as you would pay the same as the members of the SESC organisation, otherwise, if I were paying the price for the general public, I might do some more research and try to find somewhere else to stay. So, are you a senior citizen? Then, you could not beat the price for the location and value you will get in Rio for similar accommodation!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Capisce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews