We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Misti Hostel Rio
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I spent more than 10 days there and I would surely come back to this awesome hostel. The toilets were spotless, breakfast is great, well located the beach is only 4 blocks away and the metro station is just opposite the hostel, the staff is always giving you the best tips to make your trip easier. Best place to meet people, there a huge kitchen and nice common area.

Obrigado for everything

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cumbianena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucianoChaumont, Manager at El Misti Hostel Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Juan Pablo.
We truly appreciate your review! Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case.
Thank you for your comments, this motivate us to keep putting our best effort in daily job.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 874 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

I had a really nice time at El Misti Rio, it was in a great location, the staff were great, the meals were delicious and it was a great place to meet others travellers. Its very cheap and i believe value for money...i'd stay again!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank happyclubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucianoChaumont, Manager at El Misti Hostel Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Happyclubber
First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon.
Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

One of the receptionists wasnt nice.
There were no water at the hostel 2 days in a row when we came back from the beach and were full of sand (that sucked :/)
Except for that the hostel was pretty clean and they had a good kitchen and utilities

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucianoChaumont, Manager at El Misti Hostel Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Alon,

Thank you for your opinion about your recent stay at our hostel. It is the most important value to us to improve our facilities and quality of services.

We would like to apologize that we did not reach your expectations. Unfortunately the lack of water was a problem in the whole neighborhood,so we could not do so much to resolve it. Based on your comment and suggestions, we will make a great effort at any cost to make some improvements.

We hope to see you again in the future and give you great experience at out hostel also to exceed your highest expectations.
Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed here for Carnival. Amazing staff very polite and helpful. Big party hostel, clean and a good breakfast available. Also offer a free airport transfer during Carnival and New years eve periods. Rooms. Free caipirinha upon arrival was a good suprise! Don't take any notice of the bad reviews this is a top hostel. Thanks for an amazing holiday El Misti!

Room Tip: Recommend paying the extra and getting an en-suite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coxy1516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucianoChaumont, Manager at El Misti Hostel Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Coxy
First of all allow me to thank you for choosing El Misti Hostels as host of your recent vacation. We are glad to know we provided you a relaxing experience, highlighted by our facilities and the excellent service offered by our attentive staff. We look forward to welcome you soon.
Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

One of the worst hostels we stayed at. We can't believe this hostel has nearly a 90% rating. It was horrific.

Staff: The worst thing about this hostel were the staff, they were extremely lazy, slow (on purpose) and unresourceful. Took us over 30 minutes to check-in (which ONLY involves showing us our room since payment etc is done at check-out). This was around midnight after we've travelled long to get to the place. There was supposed to be a free pick-up from the bus stop but we were told last minute that "no pickup after 10pm", which is not mentioned anywhere on the website.

Internet: You were lucky if it worked at all. When it did, you got dial-up speeds at best. Extremly unreliable.

Showers: Either extremly hot or extremly cold. Usually both within a span of 30 seconds. The shower only had ONE button, no hot or cold control. You pushed the button for water and water only flowed for 30 seconds at a time, at which point you need to press the button again. To achieve anywhere near a normal shower, you have to constantly hold the button and hope that the water won't burn you or freeze you to death. On top of this, the lights in showers/toilets were set to "light sensor" with the lowest setting, which means, it would have barely been 1 minute you were in the shower and it would turn off - leaving you in complete darkness (since there are no windows in the shower). If you were in the shower, you would have to step out and try and get the sensors attention to get the light working again. Bringing all of these problems to the hostel staff's attention yielded no results. They refused to address any problems. Lazy and uncaring.

Cleanliness: Toilets not cleaned often. People left their dirty underwear in the common showers and the hostel did nothing about it. Hostel floor had sand everywhere, which was never cleaned during our 4 day stay.

Security: Non-existent. You are not given any keys or anything. You have to press a bell to be let inside the hostel and they opened the door to anyone. Once inside the hostel, our room door didn't even close properly let alone have a working lock, which means anyone can walk in at any time.

Offers available: The only information they could provide was about parties. They had no readily available information on all the other things advertised here such as "hang gliding and natural hikes". The staff couldn't provide answers to normal questions such as "how do we get there" or "how much would it cost".

Comfort: The comfy couches they claim to have were old, dirty and broken so you were just sitting on a wooden frame. The dorm beds were very short in height, so if you were stuck with the bottom bunk then you couldn't even sit up properly due to the second bed being (purposely) bolted too low. We saw that the height of the second bed was adjustable but they had decided to leave it at the lowest height.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank PParth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LucianoChaumont, Manager at El Misti Hostel Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear valued guest,
Thank you for your opinion about your recent stay at our hostel. It is the most important value to us to improve our facilities and quality of services.

We would like to apologize that we did not reach your expectations. Based on your comment and suggestions, we will make a great effort at any cost to make some improvements.
We hope to see you again in the future and give you great experience at out hostel also to exceed your highest expectations.
Kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

El Misti are a chain of hostels, and there are several across Rio and other parts of Brazil. I don't know what the others are like, but I can't say I'd recommend this one, as close to Copacabana beach as it may be. I actually split my time in Rio; I arrived and spent a few days there, then went to the Ilha Grande for a few days. When I came back to Rio for a night just before my flight, I went into a far nicer hostel elsewhere.

The first problem is that the hostel is really too small. The rooms are more like army barracks than standard hostel rooms. I was in a fairly cramped eight bed dorm, but it could have been worse; the larger dorms actually had bunks of three, and were really unhygienic as a result. The communal spaces were also a bit small for what they were. I did meet some nice fellow guests, but some of them seemed a bit superficial; I didn't realise that this is a bit of a party hostel.

The staff were okay, though I did have a slight run-in. They organised my transfer to the Ilha Grande, but the guy failed to tell me that it was at 6am when on the wall it said it was 11am. By chance I asked for clarification at around 10:30/11pm and was told that it was actually at 6am. The guy who told me didn't make any effort to apologise, and gave me a rather condescending "told you so" look. Ironic considering his colleague didn't bother to do so.

On the positive side, the breakfast buffet is fine, as is and the budget dinner option they have every night. And the barman is really nice and makes good caiprinhas.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarvmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

they didn't have running water, we arrived at night and there was no way to go to the bathroom, then the rooms themselves are small and really dirty, no human been should sleep there ever in their life. what else can I add.

Room Tip: don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Seb12345672013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
El Misti Ipanema
#6 of 842 in Rio de Janeiro
545 reviews
Discovery Hostel
#2 of 842 in Rio de Janeiro
506 reviews
Copacabana
El Misti Rooms
El Misti Rooms
#10 of 842 in Rio de Janeiro
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
Mango Tree Hostel Ipanema
Mango Tree Hostel Ipanema
#7 of 842 in Rio de Janeiro
709 reviews
Ipanema
Ipanema Beach Hostel
Ipanema Beach Hostel
#3 of 842 in Rio de Janeiro
241 reviews
Barra da Tijuca
WOLO Hostel
WOLO Hostel
#11 of 842 in Rio de Janeiro
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Misti Hostel Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Misti Hostel Rio

Address: Rua Tonelero 197, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22030-001, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 842 Speciality Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £12 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — El Misti Hostel Rio 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an excellent location in the heart of Copacabana, right in front of a metro station, El Misti Rio has three storeys and nice comfortable facilities. It´s the perfect place to get a good rest after a full day exploring Rio de Janeiro or even after a party night. The hostel offers a delicious breakfast buffet and a dinner service both at very low cost, a large shared kitchen, a large dining area with TV, free Wi-Fi and dorms equipped with lockers and linen. Its attentive trilingual receptionists are available 24 hours a day to assist you with great advice on tours, parties and everything you may need. This hostel also offers the El Misti Experience programme** with which you will have the chance to get to know one of Rio de Janeiro`s ¨must see ¨ spots for free with one of the members of El Misti staff. Make the most of your next trip to Rio de Janeiro staying at El Misti Rio! El Misti Hostel Rio offers you a free pick up upon your arrival in Rio de Janeiro from the airport to our hostel. Minimum stay 4 nights and one of these two conditions: For bookings of 1 to 3 people: The total booking value must be equal to or higher than R$250. For bookings of 4 to 6 people: The total booking value must be equal to or higher than R$500. In order to get the free transfer, passenger has to reserve with the hostel or our Booking Center at least, 48 hours in advance. Please note that in case of flight delays or cancellations, it is the passenger's responsibility to inform El Misti about the new time of arrival. In case the passenger has not informed our staff about the delay, El Misti will not be responsible for the transfer charge. The passenger will be held responsible for the total amount of the transfer in. Schedule: This free transfer service is offered between 07.00am to 10.00pm, with the exception of 25/12, 31/12 and 01/01, days when we DO NOT OFFER pick up. The transfers are done every hour by van. Right to use the service is subject to time and space availability. The free transfer is not valid for groups. It is offered only for reservations of no more than 6 people. NOTE: check-in is as from 1pm and the check-out is until 11am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Misti Hostel Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Misti Hostel Rio Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing