We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as great as the other Galetos :-(”
Review of Galeto & Cia

Galeto & Cia
Ranked #243 of 13,657 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Brazilian, Barbecue, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Copacabana
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not as great as the other Galetos :-(”
Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is nicer than "Galetos Quick", but if i have to recommend one, I will definitely recommend to walk 5 or 6 more blocks and go the "Galetos Quick" on Rua Duvivier!

Here they serve just regular tasting grilled small chicken, kind of dry:-(

Helpful?
Thank Mishmish-Lilu
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    165
    40
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Tasty food for a reasonable price”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

During our stay in Rio, we have eaten in many places but Galeto kept bringing us back. each dish on the menu was absolutely delicious and the portions were big. Both the meats, chickens and side dishes were fantastic, we were more than satisfied after each visit. The service was quick and friendly, no matter where we sat. The atmosphere was warm and welcoming, with free wi-fi and it was always packed with people, enjoying their food and the great variety of cold drinks.

One of the few places where there is nothing negative to mention at all.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
206 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Chicken, great service, fair prices.”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Had a very nice evening with my girlfriend here. Seems to be a popular place, has a nice, modern interior and several waiters keeping an eye on all the guests. We ordered "Galeto do Carioca", Chicken with cooked vegetables and rice with garlic. The chicken was juicy and tasty and the rice and vegetables was equaly good. Beer/Chopp in frosted glasses is never wrong. The meal was 44 Reals, about 20USD and one meal serves 2 people.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarlXII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
95 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice place full of locals...”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Well you know what they say about a place full of locals... you can't go wrong (most of the time...)
This one is no exception. We had the beef parmagiano (breaded beef with tomatoe sauce underneath and a thick layer of cheese on top) with rice and mash potatoes.
It was very good. Our waiter was really nice too and very friendly with just everyone around us.

The prices are very fair for the quallity of the food and the drinks aren't too expensive either.

Definitly a nice place to go while in town...

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jingeos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“For a galeteria, they could have better chicken”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Galeto, located on a street corner on Avenida Nossa Senhora de Copacabana, has the feel of a neighborhood place and, to judge from the number of customers who seemed to know the waiters, is popular with the locals. We ordered a serving of chicken with lots of sides and what struck me about the meal is that all the sides, the appetizer (fried polenta covered in cheese), and the drinks were excellent. But the chicken was a very small serving and was disappointing. Prices are modest and the service was fast.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Aegletes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Galeto & Cia also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Galeto & Cia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing