We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstandingly good hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Ranked #3 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstandingly good hotel!”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed at The Miramar for 7 nights and we truly enjoyed our 14th floor Sea View room. We were impressed by the level of decoration and attention to details within the hotel, which you could clearly see had been fully refurbished recently. Services were top notch too. Breakfast is of outstanding quality and there is lots of different choice offered overall. Pool on the roof top floor is nice, if a little small, with great views over Copacabana beach and Rio. We also use "recommended tours" from the hotel which were not of the overall quality we expected and so made relevant comments to the General Manager who was very professional in sorting out our complaint.
Overall a great new luxury hotel with 5* services which can only get better as the team gets more experienced.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olivier_desales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Mr and Mrs Desales,

We really appreciate to have you as our guests. Be sure that the informations you told us during the time you were in our hotel help us to develop our concierge service. We are taking care with old and new services that the city has before we could offer them to our guests.
We hope to see you soon.
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,841
    404
    69
    15
    15
See reviews for
450
1,136
108
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel looks great, nice and modern, good value for money, good friendly staff and a great location. Unfortunately I was let down by their surprise no guests policy, so don't book here if you're hoping to have visitors. A pity because otherwise this would have been one of the best hotels I've stayed in in brazil.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Philyellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Mr Philyellen,

Thanks for your comments. Unfortunently we need to have a special control for "visitors". We are in a big city and we do it for our safety. But it is not something that we can not change sometimes. I really don´t know what happenned in your case, but be sure that we always try to make the best for our guests.
Sorry If we failled with you. I hope to see you one more time.
Thanks again. Your comments always help us.
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We had an amazing trip, made better by the outstanding service that we received on our stay at the Miramar Hotel. Customer service was excellent, friendly and helpful staff in every area of the hotel, nothing seemed too much trouble when asked for advice or help. The location was perfect with a view to die for at the roof top swimming pool, with views along the beach of Copacabana and Sugar Loaf mountain. Buffet breakfast was excellent, something for every taste, we never had a problem being seated, whatever time we ate. Rooms were pleasant and very clean, we had an Ocean front room which was perfect. The only negative that we experienced was that of noisy guests staying in the room above ours, but this can hardly be the fault of the Hotel. We used the local buses, these are very cheap and quite an experience!!!! Would return tomorrow if we could.

Room Tip: Try for a high floor with Ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casal5560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Mr and Mrs

You can´t imagine how we feel happy when we read comments like yours. We work hard to make our guests feel like they were in their homes. Our staff try to do the best to help guests giving information, advicing them about a tour, Football games and answering other questions.
Thank you very much for your comments!
We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely Yours,

William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This hotel was a very pleasant surprise not so much for the quality of the accomodation, which was of the expected standard for its 4 star rating, but for the quality of the customer service. Staff were polite and helpful at all times.
We arrived in Rio on a very early flight and got to the hotel at 7 am expecting to drop our luggage off. We were given a room almost immediately and allowed a late (2pm) check out on the day we left.
The hotel's ocean front location is a bonus as is the rooftop swimming pool with stunning views over Copacabana beach. We watched the sunset over drinks up there.
The buffet breakfast was good. I'd definitely recommend this hotel and would happily return there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Mrs Danexa,

It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest. Always when its possible we use to give early check in or late check out for our guests. Why do our guests have to wait If we have rooms available? Of course we can not do it all the time, but If we can... . Thanls a lot for your comments, they help us in many ways.
We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely Yours,

William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The Miramar is a pleasant surprise, brand new, great location, newly remodeled, but...they only forgot to have enough hot water for all rooms.
I stayed in a luxury room the 8/17-18 weekend and couldn't have a hot shower on Saturday. What annoyed me most was that I didn't even get a "we're sorry" after a few complaints.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luciano p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Mr Luciano P,

I read your comments here in the Trip Advisor and also in our "Guest Comments" that you sent to us and I really answered you since last monday. The trouble with the hot water happened in one of our equipaments. Not the whole building had this situation, It happened in the lowest floors. The problem was not "enought water", but in the way we distribute inside the building. We had already fixed it. We do have about 18.000 l of hotwater. But the major problem was not that. The biggest problem was the way you said our staff take care with this situation. I had already talk to them about what happened with you. And I would like to say "sorry" for this inconvenience and I'm sure that if you give us a chance to repair this situation staying once more with us you will be happy with our services.
Anyway, Thanks for your comments. They always help to develop our services.

Sincerely Yours,

William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I had a great time in Rio with my boyfriend staying at this hotel for a weekend.Outstanding service, good breakfast, nice, clean, new, comfortable, breathtaking views from the swimming pool roof terrace.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JakelineN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Mrs Jakeline N,

Thanks for your comments! It was a great pleasure to have you in our hotel. Your comments will help us to develop our services. We hope to see you soon.
Sincerely Yours,

William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Guys keep trying to have a better service... New hotel, okay, but come on, number 1 in Tripadvisor?? Food was bellow average, small rooms and service was really basic. From good morning to good evening, this is the maximum staff can say in english. Poor for someone expecting a little bit more.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leugim33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Google Translation
Prezado Sr Leugim

Agradecemos seus comentários a respeito do nosso hotel, os quais sempre nos auxiliam a melhorar nossos serviços e, eventualmente, corrigir nossas falhas. Tentei localizar o apartamento que o Sr ficou hospedado no Miramar, todavia, com os nomes acima, foi em vão. Um dos diferenciais deste hotel é justamente o amplo tamanho dos quartos. Quanto a comida esta é coordenada pelo Chef Paulo Góes que está recebendo a cópia desse seu comentário para sua avaliação. O que mais nos estranhou foi o fato dos idiomas, pois, na Recepção todos os recepcionistas falam, pelo menos, 3 idiomas e o inglês é um dos mais fluentes. Além disso, maitres, Supervisores de Governança entre outros profissionais também são qualificados em inglês. Iremos buscar onde podemos ter falhado nesse ítem de referência.
Uma vez mais, agradeço por sua opinião, pois, essa assim como todas as outras registradas aqui no Trip Advisor nos motivam a buscar sempre melhorar nossos serviços.
Atenciosamente,

William F. Rodrigues
Gerente Geral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#13 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,591 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#4 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,191 reviews
Jacarepaguá
Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
#2 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fashion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fa...
#5 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
#6 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Copacabana
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel
Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hote...
#16 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramar Hotel by Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramar Hotel by Windsor

Property: Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Address: Avenida Atlantica, 3668, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-001, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#9 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Miramar Hotel by Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miramar Hotel by WindsorA new concept in hospitality in Rio de JaneiroLocated right in front of Copacabana Beach the Miramar Hotel is surrounded by attractions and in the middle of the electrifying atmosphere of Copacabana. Fast and easy access to the main tourist spots in Rio and to airports. Ipanema beach is only a few minutes’ walk awayThe new Miramar is for demanding guests. The hotel is decorated with noble materials and fixtures, like ecological wood (ecowood), Venetian cristal and fine marbles from different countries.The Miramar Hotel – offers 200 modern, stylish, luxurious rooms and suites.All rooms are equipped with Butler Service, Trussardi bed and bath linen and Nespresso Coffee Maker.Restaurant Sa, under direction of Chef Paulo Goes, contemporary cuisine and elegant decor. Panoramic terrace with beautiful view of Copacabana and complete fitness room with state of the art equipment Infinity edge pool, heated in winter.Pet Friendly, the Miramar Hotel welcomes small pets of up to 5kg and offers special VIP Pet Guest services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Miramar Hotel by Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel By Windsor Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing