We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Let down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Ranked #2 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Let down”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We booked 3 nights at this hotel as the first stop on our honeymoon over new years eve on booking.com in July. Now four months later and only a few weeks before we arrive we have received an email saying they have overbooked and we now cannot stay there. We have been offered an inferior hotel in a less desirable location as an alternative, which does not make up for the loss of our intended stay on our honeymoon. Further by only telling us so close to new years eve there are very few other hotels available and none where we wanted to stay, which would have been available in July.

Thanks very much for the bad start to our honeymoon Miramar Windsor. I hope you put in place practices to not do this to other unsuspecting people again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank BC1334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We are deeply sorry about your complaint. But as we do not have nothing in hands, it is very difficult to say something now...
By this reason, I would like to offer our e-mail address (gerencia.miramar@windsorhoteis.com.br) in order to take care of this matter.
Please, contact us as soon as possible with your reservation´s details. We will do all the best to make your honeymoon much better than you have imagined!

Kindly regards,

José Luís Pilar
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,823
    402
    68
    15
    15
See reviews for
445
1,123
108
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bogota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

As a business everything is great. Lobby, rooms, pool on the roof, breakfast 8/10 on the quality.
During the weekend we have stayed they were full. It means - 20 min to be attend by the reception. No early check-in. Mess with the people who asked for king size beds and got separates. No chairs available by the pool, etc. Smoking room once it was asked for non smoking.
Staff and service - beach especially - excellent.
New hotel or renowated - compared with rest of the beach hotels. Directly in front of the ocean.
In essence: would go back, if I knew that its not high-season.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lukasz_Bogota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Mr. Lukasz,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Miramar Hotel by Windsor on your recent trip to Rio and also for taking your time to help us through your comments.
We are very glad that you have enjoyed our location, our structure, our varied breakfast and, specially, our staff and beach services.
Unfortunately, by the period you were here (November the 2nd is a holiday in Brazil), the hotel was 100% full and by the time you arrived it was not possible to antecipate your check in, as we usually do with such pleasure.
Anyway, please, accept our apologies for this inconvenience and also for our mistake with the smoking room.
We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back in Rio soon.

Sincerely yours,

José Luís Pilar
Gerente Geral Interino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of our trip around Brazil. The hotel has a perfect location right on Copacabana Beach with great views of Sugar Loaf Mountain. The staff were very helpful and assisted us well with any enquiry we had. The breakfast was particularly good with a fantastic choice in a very attractive dining room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Dorne,

Thank you very much for your preference while choosing Miramar Hotel by Windsor!
Thank you also for your compliments regarding our delicious breakfast, our dining room, our helpful staff and our very special location.
We all hope to welcome you back here soon.

Sincerelly,

José Luís Pilar
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Ok, first I have to tell that this was my best hotel experience in Rio so far. So why not a 5? I guess there are a few issues I'd like to see improved in the next stay, and yes, there will be one.
It is important to tell that this wasn't a luxury hotel at first. It used to be a 3 stars one and has changed recently.
Reception : 5/5. It was crowed when we arrived, but it didn't get too long for us to get helped. The receptionist was very nice and kindly managed us an early check in (breakfast not included), for which we only had to wait a few minutes. In the mean time, we were served with two glasses of delicious sparkling wine.
Breakfast: 5/5 Amazing! All kinds of cheese, fruits, bacon, sausage, different types of ham, very diverse , very presentable and delicious. They had complimentary sparkling water, which is very difficult to find in Brazil (for free, I mean).
Pool: 5/5 one of the greatest views in town, it is a little pool, but lovely and has a good bar as well
Room service: 5/5 everything we've ordered was tasty and it was a very fast service. We've ordered delivery from a different restaurant and they kindly provided us silverware, very quickly.
Spot in the beach: 5/5. Great area in Copacabana, since it is walking distance from the Copacabana Fort and to the Ipanema Beach.
Room: 3/5 : Ok, we have got a room in the first floor and we have had a few issues. In our rooms we didn't have a table for meals, only a desk. There was only one bedside lamp, instead of two, and there weren't light switches aside from the bed, which is a pain. Our window was very close to the hotel flags in the street, and that got noisy eventually , when it got windy. There was a little plumbing smell when we first entered the room, and it is not the first time it happens to me in a hotel in Copacabana ( i honestly believe this won't happen in a higher floor) .
So, my tip is not to get a room in the lower floor, all the rest was very amazing (except for the price, of course, but everything in Rio is overpriced, so...)

Room Tip: Get higher floors !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dante M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Mr. Dante,

We are grateful for being your choice in Rio de Janeiro and for taking the time to publish your experience here.
We are particularly glad that you enjoyed our breakfast, pool, room service and, specially, our front desk´s staff - they always do their best to make our guest´s stay the most pleasant as it can be.
Unfortunately, one of our rooms were not up to your expectations (the rooms have different sizes and types and it depends on the category reserved). As we were fully booked when you arrived, it was not possible to offer an upgrade to a higher floor, as we usually do.
But, for your next stay (and you promised to come back), I´m sure you will be completely satisfied.



My kindest regards,

José Luís Pilar
Gerente Geral interino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

The Miramar has just undergone a full refurbishment and it really is a good top quality hotel. We stayed in a Queen Executive room on the 4th floor with views up Copacabana beach towards Sugar Loaf mountain. All the normal facilities were in place - safe, mini bar, super size bed, air con etc. The bathroom included a jacuzzi and very powerful shower. L'Occitaine complimentary soaps and shampoos give a clue to the quality that this hotel delivers.

There is a good standard fine dining restaurant on the ground floor and a pool bar on the 16th with sandwiches and light meals that can be enjoyed whilst checking out the views and dipping in the small pool for a cool off.

Breakfast in the main restaurant is exceptional with huge choice. I am sure that there is something for everyone, wherever you come from.

We were there on a business trip and found the free wifi rather slow if you wanted to download larger files etc but the hotel is really more holiday orientated so this isn't a criticism, just an observation. It is a little inconvenient having only one connection allowable per room, so if you want to use a mobile and also an iPad then you have to log off each device before the other can be joined to the network.

The staff generally are very good although the pool bar service could be a bit slow. English is well spoken and widely understood throughout the hotel.

Overall probably one of the best hotels I have stayed in and for a large city the prices are reasonable and worth it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alistair46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Mr. Alistair,

We are grateful for being your choice in Rio de Janeiro and for taking the time to publish your experience here.
All our staff are very glad that you have enjoyed the various aspects of our hotel, such as the restaurant, pool bar, bathroom´s amenities, location and services.
Regarding our services, we can proudly say that our newly updated breakfast is an experience in itself: a daily selection of fresh fruits, along with freshly squeezed juices, organic granola and a specialty bread selection (from our own bakery) just out of the oven are just a few items. The tapioca (brazilian pancake), omelets and other seasonal and locally produced items are an amazing addition to this meal.
Thank you very much and we look forward to have you as our guest again in the near future.


Best regards,

José Luís Pilar
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The hotel is very good, the only negatives for us were the air conditioning which was very strong even on a low setting and attacked the bed ( couldn't change its direction) and the lack of free high speed internet . The real positive was the staff, who were very helpful, 3 that really deserve a special mention were Piotr one of the bell boys who went out of his way to help and Pedro and Marlon at the reception who both helped an idiot (me) get his camera back after he left it in the room safe! Thank you to all 3 of you, real professionals.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Mr Gary 0304,

It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest during this month. Thank you for your kindly words about my staff (Piotr, Pedro and Marlon). They also read your comments and say "thank you". About the air condition and high speed internet acess we had already fixed them. We hope you had enjoyed your stay in Angra and had taken very good pictures.

Sincerely Yours,

William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel was fantastic- very clean and modern set up, amazing location right in Copacabana and the rooftop is great. My standard room was small which did not bother me at all and it had all the amenities and modern, clean set up needed. The breakfast buffet is great and staff were helpful. The hotel was very busy during my stay , I arrived at 9 am and they could not accommodate early check-in however they stored my luggage while I went out sightseeing for the day. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Mr Apiat,

It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest. Thank you for your sincerely comments. They will be heplful for all my staff. We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely Yours,

William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
#10 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
2,570 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3,155 reviews
Jacarepaguá
Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
#1 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fashion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fa...
#4 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
190 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
#5 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,425 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#17 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
2,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramar Hotel by Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramar Hotel by Windsor

Property: Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Address: Avenida Atlantica, 3668, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-001, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#9 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Miramar Hotel by Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miramar Hotel by WindsorA new concept in hospitality in Rio de JaneiroLocated right in front of Copacabana Beach the Miramar Hotel is surrounded by attractions and in the middle of the electrifying atmosphere of Copacabana. Fast and easy access to the main tourist spots in Rio and to airports. Ipanema beach is only a few minutes’ walk awayThe new Miramar is for demanding guests. The hotel is decorated with noble materials and fixtures, like ecological wood (ecowood), Venetian cristal and fine marbles from different countries.The Miramar Hotel – offers 200 modern, stylish, luxurious rooms and suites.All rooms are equipped with Butler Service, Trussardi bed and bath linen and Nespresso Coffee Maker.Restaurant Sa, under direction of Chef Paulo Goes, contemporary cuisine and elegant decor. Panoramic terrace with beautiful view of Copacabana and complete fitness room with state of the art equipment Infinity edge pool, heated in winter.Pet Friendly, the Miramar Hotel welcomes small pets of up to 5kg and offers special VIP Pet Guest services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Miramar Hotel by Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel By Windsor Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing