We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best and Worst”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Ranked #2 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mount Vernon, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best and Worst”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The average rating is a bit misleading because there are many very good things about this hotel but also a lot of very bad things.

I came to the hotel for New Years Eve and some vacation time. I was met with a glass of champagne and the service wanted to be very helpful. They let me know there was an electrical adapter in my room and showed me where it was (which was helpful as my Ipad was dying), and I put it to immediate use before I went out to check the property. When I returned after an hour, I realized the adaptor was not functioning, I asked to the desk to provide another, as I went out for a long walk and dinner. The desk assured me they would put a new one in my room. When I returned there was no adapter in the room. I went down to the front desk. They explained that they had no more adapters and that nothing was now opened at this hour. If they had told me when I first went to the desk that they had none, I would have gone then and there to purchase one. Having spent nearly $2000 for New Year´s Eve alone, I was less than pleased. After letting the desk know of my displeasure in no uncertain terms, they were miraculously able to find a functional adapter. One should never have to raise one´s voice to get good service. Of course, once I had a charge on my iPad, I discovered the wifi service. To say that it does not favorable compare to dial up service is an insult to dial up service. Wifi was painfully slow to nonexistent. I recently spent 2 nights at a cut-rate hotel in Arpordor and could stream a movie on Netflix with their Wifi. Here was a so called luxury hotel and I could not download a New York Times in less than a few minutes. No business traveller should EVER EVER EVER stay here if relying on wifi. The wifi is just about useless (I am writing this review from the business center). If one wants to have a vacation free of Facebook, magazine and newspaper downloads then maybe this is the place to be unplugged.

Then there is little things. The king size bed only had one nighttable. This would have been fine if I were travelling alone but as there were two of us it was odd. Also the bed was miscentered on the headboard which made me think that the intent was to have two tables and one was missing.

That all said, the pool área is lovely. The caipiranha is delicious (although expensive). The beach service is excelent. But still caveats: beach chairs and umbrellas run out quickly and the pool área fills up quickly as well. The room and bathroom were kept very clean by housecleaning. The location is great as it is an easy trip to Ipanema (which is a nicer beach than Copacabana).

I have said at other luxury hotels in the U.S., México, South América and Europe and sadly this does not compete with the best of them.

Room Tip: A ocean view room is probably not a necessity unless spending a lot of time in room. The pool área...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VernonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Mr "Vernon Traveller",

First of all "Thank you for your complaints and praises". They really help us to identify our failures and improve other actions. About your complaints I had already talked with all my staff and I am sure that it will not happen again. In the WI FI service we had two speeds (one is free) but at New Years Eve we had problems with the supplyer that´s why you said It was slow. Maybe you are right when you say that you can't compare our hotel with other luxury hotels you were in the whole world. We supposed they were openned a long time ago. We just openned but we really try to do the best for our guests and everyday we are learning how to do the best of the best in the next day. And guests like you are helping us to learn how to be better. I am sure that in the future we will get this position also with you.
Once more "Thanks again to open our eyes to our failures". We hope to see you again.
Have a nice New Year!
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,850
    408
    69
    15
    15
See reviews for
452
1,141
111
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Great location, friendly staff, and an excellent roof top pool with panoramic views of Copacabana. Pool area not big but didn't seem crowded. Clean rooms and nice touches like champagne on arrival. Felt like value for money. Breakfast choice also very good and eggs cooked to order!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul201066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Mr Paul,

Thank you very much for your comments. Certainly they will help us to continue to do the best for our guests. It was a great pleasure to have you in our hotel. We hope to see you soon.
HAPPY NEW YEAR!
Best Regards,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Best hotel, best service! I loved it here. 1. They welcome you with champagne at whatever hour you may arrive. 2. The staff is wonderful, plentiful and always had a smile on their faces. 3. The pool is gorgeous, slightly small, but we were able to get chairs at whatever times we went. 4. Room is comfortable and quiet( minus occasionally hearing the chairs moving from the room overhead). 5. Good location in copa close to ipanema beach and easy to walk to arpoador to watch the sunsets. 6. The buffet breakfast is wonderful, and includes champagne. Frest fruit and an egg station....was great! Our friends told us to stay in ipanema or Lebanon because its nicer , which I agree with,it is nicer, but I would stay here again in a heartbeat if I was going back to rio soon. The hotel has been recently remodeled and is clean and aesthetically pleasing.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MindyG1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Mrs Mindy G,

In the last day of this year it's very rewarding when we read comments like yours about our hotel and services. Since we reopenned our hotel (last may) our ideal is "make our guests pleasant with our services" and your kindly words say that we are in the right direction. Thanks again!
HAVE A NICE NEW YEAR!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We travelled to Rio in December and stayed at the Miramar Hotel by Windsor, It was the greatest choice we could have ever made! Not only the staff was magnificent and very polite, but the accomodation, location, breakfast and the hotel's amenities were flawless, just fantastic!

The hotel is very well located, just across the beach and within a few minutes -by foot- from the city center, as well as from a wide range of stores and cafes.

The breakfast and the gastronomic experience were, as well, amazing, sometimes not even having stepped out of the hotel, searching for a place to eat.

Overall, the hotel and staff were really fantastic.We felt like royalty! I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone who is visiting Rio and we will definitely come back and stay at the Miramar the next time we are around.

Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliet_Z_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Mrs Juliet,

First of all ... Thank you..Thank you..and Thank you for your kindly words about our hotel. My Staff and I are very pride of our jobs. We always feel happy when we see that our guests are happy too. Have a NICE NEW YEAR! We hope to see you soon.
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This hotel is just fabulous! I spent a lot of time researching a luxurious, clean, modern hotel in a great location. Miramar was exactly that!
I can't say enough good things about the staff at this hotel! They are at or above the standards of the Ritz Carlton or Four Seasons chains. I was more impressed every day.
Rooms: Small, but adequate. Comfortable king size bed, large tv, desk area. Nice bathroom with large shower.
Rooftop: This may be one of the best views in Rio. Medium size infinity pool with gorgeous views of Copacabana. Good drinks and food. Great place to watch the sunset.
Location: This location is perfect. I wanted to stay close to Ipanema and this hotel is right near the corner where Copacabana and Ipanema meet. Easy walk either along Copa or over to Ipanema.
Breakfast buffet was absolutely amazing! Not to be missed.
Location is perfect, staff is some of the best I have experienced. Best place to stay in Rio.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmd10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Mr DMD 10,

Thank you very much for your nice words about our hotel and my staff. They really make me very pride to be the manager of this hotel. My staff and I really like to do our job. We love to work with people. and to make you and all of our guests pleased is one of our ideals.
We hope to see you soon!
HAPPY NEW YEAR!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riedisheim, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I spent some days there recently at the beginning of the Rio spring, although I am not sure a clear division en seasons is valid there. By the way the hotel was almost perfect. The location just in front of the Copacabana beach ; close to other hotels where in my case I had some professional meetings. The quarter is calm in the front-sea as well as in the back where is possible to find many shops and restaurants. The staff was great I was welcomed with a cup of champagne and everything from the arrival to my departure was almost perfect. I had a flight to visit another south-american country and the hotel accepted to give me a great breakfast opening the restaurant only for me. It was so kind of the staff. I will always appreciate this.
My room was large as well as my bed, everything clean and modern. I spent some time in the outdoor pool and the view of Copacabana, Pao d'azucar and other areas was amazing. The bar service there was very good. But for me most important was the high-quality and friendly staff.
I regret I could not attend a football game in the Maracana stadium they proposed me !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Mr Mario O,

Although we had already spent the Christmas Day we continue receiving gifts from our guests. Your wonderful words about our hotel & services is great gift to us. Thanks to be our guest, Thanks for your comments, and we are waiting for you in a next future.
HAPPY NEW YEAR!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I decided to book at the Miramar due to the reviews I read on TripAdvisor, and once again, I was not disappointed. From walking into the door to waving goodby to the desk staff, the visit was PERFECTION. I was shocked to realize that we ate every meal in the hotel, the restaurant was THAT good. The breakfasts are heavenly (included in the room rate). Do not miss the rooftop infinity pool and bar. What an amazing way to spend an afternoon!

The most memorable part of the visit, aside from the astounding location on the Copacabana Beach, was the staff. Every person we encountered was friendly and most willing to help in ANY way they could! David at the front desk and Eldinado in the restaurant are just two of the staff who were quite wonderful. Need a car? No problem, a private car and driver appear in 10 minutes. Suggestions as to how to see the city, the front desk is the place to go. Truly, they made our stay in their vibrant, exciting city, a joy. Yet the Miramar also managed to impart a feeling of calm and safety amidst the bustle.

Most all staff have a functional mastery of English. The desk personnel are fluent. The menus and all printed material have an English translation, which was much appreciated.

In every review, I try to add some negative comments as well, in order to be as fair as I can. It took me a long time to come up with any for the Miramar.....finally, I remembered that in the middle of the night one night a guest in a room somewhere adjacent to ours began to move the furniture around (??!) and it was audible on the wooden floor. Other than that, we experienced dead silence, even though our room overlooked the bustling Avenida Atlantica and the beach.

Which reminds me, the rooms are chic, modern, and spotless.

If I return to Rio, I wouldn't even consider another hotel.

By the way, I believe the best staff in the Eastern Hemisphere are at the Taj Hotel, Bangalore. :)

Room Tip: We stayed in 1101. What a view!!! ANY question will be eagerly answered by the front desk staff. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Mr Karph,
What can I say? Just say "Thank You"!", Is It enough? I'm sure that it is not. Your kindly words about our hotel made us very pride of our job. When one of our guests say that he is very happy with us it means that we are achieving our ideal. It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope to see you soon.
HAPPY NEW YEAR!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#14 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,615 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
3,211 reviews
Jacarepaguá
Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
#1 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#16 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,304 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#19 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,116 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
#5 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramar Hotel by Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramar Hotel by Windsor

Property: Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Address: Avenida Atlantica, 3668, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-001, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#12 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Miramar Hotel by Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miramar Hotel by WindsorA new concept in hospitality in Rio de JaneiroLocated right in front of Copacabana Beach the Miramar Hotel is surrounded by attractions and in the middle of the electrifying atmosphere of Copacabana. Fast and easy access to the main tourist spots in Rio and to airports. Ipanema beach is only a few minutes’ walk awayThe new Miramar is for demanding guests. The hotel is decorated with noble materials and fixtures, like ecological wood (ecowood), Venetian cristal and fine marbles from different countries.The Miramar Hotel – offers 200 modern, stylish, luxurious rooms and suites.All rooms are equipped with Butler Service, Trussardi bed and bath linen and Nespresso Coffee Maker.Restaurant Sa, under direction of Chef Paulo Goes, contemporary cuisine and elegant decor. Panoramic terrace with beautiful view of Copacabana and complete fitness room with state of the art equipment Infinity edge pool, heated in winter.Pet Friendly, the Miramar Hotel welcomes small pets of up to 5kg and offers special VIP Pet Guest services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Miramar Hotel by Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel By Windsor Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing