We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deserves tripadvisor ranking” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miramar Hotel by Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Ranked #3 of 280 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Deserves tripadvisor ranking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Great location on Copacabana. Staff were polite and efficient. Breakfast was awesome. Rooms were large and well appointed. Staff on the beach were quick to get us set up on the sand with chairs and umbrella. They even catered well for our 18 month old.

It would want to be good considering the high room rate, but it was worth it in Rio.

We would stay again when returning to Rio.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mph_sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Mr MPH_Sydney,

Thanks a lot for your comments about our hotel and services. They are very useful for my staff. Everyday we think a way to do better services for our guests and comments like yours help us to think about it.
We hope to see you again!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,792
    399
    68
    15
    15
See reviews for
436
1,104
108
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
La Spezia, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

My wife and I are still in the hotel and we conferm the high level of rating due to serveral reasons. The team is very professional and kind, always paying attention to you and your need. Breakfast excellent, good suggestions for tour of Rio and perfect location.
We will make the same choice in our future trips to this wonderfull city
Good job to the team when customers are happy!
Paolo and Manuela ( Italy )

Room Tip: High floor is preferred, front side if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paolo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Mr Paolo and Mrs Manuela,
It was a great pleasure to have you as our guests. Thanks to choose Miramar Hotel for your stay in Rio and thanks for your kindly comments about our services. They really help us to creat new services and make better the ones we have. We hope to see you soon.
HAVE A NICE YEAR!
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel over the Christmas holiday in gorgeous Rio. The location is perfect - at the base of Copacabana, with a stunning view towards Pao de Azucar and Ipanema. The hotel is an easy, short walk to Ipanema, so beach choices are unlimited. The hotel itself is beautiful - newly finished, extremely modern yet comfortable in every way. The executive superior rooms front the hotel with gorgeous beach views - higher floors afford quiet and picturesque vistas. The team at reception could not be any nicer or more welcoming - they are all delightful, friendly, and incredibly knowledgeable about all facets of Rio. There is a beach assistant, so when you leave the hotel and arrive on the sand, there is a friendly face to get you a 'Miramar' beach chair and umbrella, planting you as close to the action as needed. The rooms are large and spacious, well airconditioned, silent and dark at night, bright and cheery during the day. Everything was spotless, elegant, and easy. The breakfast is fantastic - on the ground floor, with beautiful views to the early birds of Copacabana cycling, running, and rollerblading. The food is fantastic, plentiful, and delicious - fresh as can be, with so many pleasant staff on hand pouring coffee, and getting you anything to make you feel spoiled. The rooftop infinity pool is beautiful, with a full bar and food service - all very quick and easy as you gawk at the incredible beach scene stretching off for miles. There's a small gym, with cardio and some weights, just enough to get you going. This hotel is nirvana in Rio - from location, to creature comforts, to feeling spoiled and relaxed, to delicious food, to location and vistas, and most importantly, to an incredible, knowledgeable, professional group of people running the hotel. Juliana at reservations told me that they don't sell rooms, they sell dreams - for jaded travelers, this may sound 'too much', but it is TOO TRUE. Thanks to all for making our family trip so beautiful, with a very special thanks to Juliana again for all that she did to guarantee this on the front end! Miramar is hands down the best in Rio!

Room Tip: Splurge on the executive superior oceanfront rooms - they have floor to ceiling glass windows and ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Design-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Mr "Design-Family",

Thanks a lot to all the beautiful things you wrote about our hotel and Staff. I don't know how to express our feeling when we read your comments. Juliana and all my staff is very happy that you had a wonderful stay with us. She is right when she says that "we sell dreams" or at least we try to do it. We love our job. We are here to serve you, our guests. Thanks again to choose Miramar Hotel.
HAVE A NICE NEW YEAR!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

It was a primarily business trip to Rio with occasional beach visits and walks. So, perfect location front of Copacabana beach, rather close to Santos Dumont airport. Room was nice, good bed, normal speed internet. Very good breakfast, nice and fast room service. Has beach service with chairs and umbrellas, but not towels and bags storage. Beach towels are availiable from hotel reception, and are to be returned there to avoid US$50 penalty. On the first day had to go back to the reception. Nice lively area, with restaurants and shops around the corner. Another small negative was paid Nespresso mashine (next time I'll just take my own capsules) and absence of glasses in the minibar, except water glasses.
Bathroom was nice, with powerful shower, has shampoo and hair conditioner, body lotion, but not the shower gel. But soap was there, so this was manageble.
All in all - will be surely back. One has to keep in mind, that traffic along Copacabana (Av. Atlantica) changes direction on some parts of the day. Taxis are availiable from friendly bell stuff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vasily_from_Moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Mr Vasily,

It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest.Thanks for your comments about our services. It always help us to make things better. About nexpresso machine we are studing to include the coffee capsules in the room rate instead of charging it. About Shower Gel we intend to have it in the bathroom in a near future.
HAVE A NICE NEW YEAR!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Short Hills, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed four nights - Christmas through 29th Dec. The hotel is centrally located on Copacabana close to Ipanema and is very clean and updated. Several reviews have already covered - champagne at check in, excellent breakfast, nice fluffy towels, courteous and friendly staff. Some specifics - my wife wanted a flask of hot water for tea every night and they delivered without any charge. Concierge/front desk provided good directions and input for activities and how to get around. Front desk staff spoke adequate English. The only real issues is the Wi-Fi - which is painfully slow. There are two levels of Wi-FI - free and paid. The paid is an exorbitant amount per day. The free is worse than dial in. Suggestion to management - either increase bandwidth/speed for the free or make the paid a reasonable amount per day. We stayed at a hotel in Foz Do Igaucu and the wifi was device specific and three days was only R$4.50 per device - which we were happy to pay for 3 days for 3. devices. Overall we were very happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Optimistic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Mr Optimist,

Thank you for your sincerely comments about out hotel and services. The WI FI service is in the middle of a discussion between us (Hotel Staff, provider and the owners) and I am sure that we will find a better solution for everybody. Thanks again to choose Miramar Hotel for your stay in Rio.
HAVE A NICE NEW YEAR!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

From the moment your cab pulls up to the hotel and the staff opens the car door, consider yourself royalty to this establishment.

Hospitality: They wait on you hand and foot, are extremely helpful, professional and courteous. Anything you want, including off menu items, they promptly deliver. I am convinced that if you need someone to wipe your behind, they have a staff member for that. J/k. 5 stars on customer service. My favorite person is David at the front desk.


Location: Prime. Right across the street from Copacabana beach. Tons of cops in the area so I felt extremely safe at night tons of restaurants around. Easy route to sugar loaf mountain. Views are breathtaking from rooftop.

Rooms: are standard. Thin walls and ceilings, they might want to invest in carpeting so the sound of people dragging chairs on hardwood floors don't disturb guests.

All in all, just a great experience. As soon as I stepped into the hotel at my next destination, I instantly missed Miramar. Tripadvisors users got it right by rating it number 1 in Rio. Love it!!!!

Room Tip: I chose partial ocean view because I didn't intend to spend a lot of time in my room. They prov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Name-me1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Mr Name-me1,

What can I say to you about your comments? Wonderful, Fantastic,... I would like to say "Thank You Very Much to be our guest". Your opinion about our services make us very pride of our jobs. We hope to see you soon.
HAPPY NEW YEAR!
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christchurch
Level Contributor
168 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of a South America tour. Good location, helpful staff, good breakfast. From the swimming pool level you can get excellent views right along the full length of Copacabana beach. Can't comment on value for money, as it was all included in the cost of our tour. Would stay here again if we ever get back to Rio.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roaming_kiwi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Mr Roaming_K,

Let me start by saying "thank you for your comments about our hotel". Thanks again to choose Rio as a part of your South America Tour". It was a pleasure for us (Hotel and the City) to have you as our guest. And of course we hope to see you soon.
HAPPY NEW YEAR!
Best Regards,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
#9 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,536 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#4 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,123 reviews
Jacarepaguá
Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
#1 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#13 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,007 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
#5 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#14 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramar Hotel by Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramar Hotel by Windsor

Property: Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Address: Avenida Atlantica, 3668, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-001, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#9 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Miramar Hotel by Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miramar Hotel by WindsorA new concept in hospitality in Rio de JaneiroLocated right in front of Copacabana Beach the Miramar Hotel is surrounded by attractions and in the middle of the electrifying atmosphere of Copacabana. Fast and easy access to the main tourist spots in Rio and to airports. Ipanema beach is only a few minutes’ walk awayThe new Miramar is for demanding guests. The hotel is decorated with noble materials and fixtures, like ecological wood (ecowood), Venetian cristal and fine marbles from different countries.The Miramar Hotel – offers 200 modern, stylish, luxurious rooms and suites.All rooms are equipped with Butler Service, Trussardi bed and bath linen and Nespresso Coffee Maker.Restaurant Sa, under direction of Chef Paulo Goes, contemporary cuisine and elegant decor. Panoramic terrace with beautiful view of Copacabana and complete fitness room with state of the art equipment Infinity edge pool, heated in winter.Pet Friendly, the Miramar Hotel welcomes small pets of up to 5kg and offers special VIP Pet Guest services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Miramar Hotel by Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel By Windsor Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing