We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Ranked #1 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel was great, although I don't think it is quite 5 stars. The service was great, staff members were attentive and helpful. The rooftop pool/bar boasted a wonderful view, but the area was quite small and felt a bit crowded at times.

The breakfast buffet was superb. A wide variety is available for you, and everything tasted fresh and delicious.

The rooms were very clean, but there was no "wow" factor about it. The decor was tasteful, but the size of the room was small and the non-carpeted floors diminished the quality of the room. I think the floors were just vinyl or something. A major downside of the rooms was the lack of soundproofing. If you are a light sleeper AT ALL this is NOT the hotel for you. Every single sound is audible and the adjoining doors in the room made sure that you can hear your neighbours loud and clear at all hours of the day. We were unfortunate enough to be in a room right next to a bunch of "party tourists". Adjusting to the time zone after being jet lagged from a 30hr flight and dealing with a migraine was made a lot more difficult with Robin Thicke being blasted loudly next door. The staff were helpful when we requested a room change due to the neighbours, but just as we were leaving the room to go on a higher floor, the next door neighbours were literally just walking out their door to check out. Really wish the hotel staff just told us that they were expected to be checking out in a couple of mins/hours so we did not have to repack everything when I was already super sick from a migraine.

We found the lack of noise proofing to be a big downside, so if you decide to stay here, be sure to request a room as far away from the elevators as possible - just so you can minimise the noise coming in to your room.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Janelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Mrs Janelle S,
Thank you very much for your comments. They will really help us to make better services and introduce changes in our hotel to make a better stay for all our guests. Anyway, just for you to know that until the middle of the year the area at the top (swimmingpool) will be bigger than now with the "Solarium" that we intend to open. We do have special floors inside the rooms, It is anti-alergic. That´s why we do not use carpet in most of all the rooms. One thing more I'd like to ask you is about the "Wow factor", what yours spectations for a room with wow factor? We would like to learn about it. We try to follow what our guests suggest in their reviews. Be sure that you are helping us so much to be beter in the future.
Thanks again!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

968 - 974 of 2,450 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

Great hotel on Copacabana. Recently renovated. Rooms and amenities are quite new. Great service. Serves as great base, you could wander to Ipanema and Leblon if you wanted to. AWESOME rooftop pool to hangout at all day.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Mrs Michelle L.

Thank you very for your comments. Also thank you for your kindly words like "Great Service". It helps us to know how we are doing our job. The view from the top, from the swimming pool is really amazed also for us that work here. Thanks to be our guest. We hope to see you soon!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

When we arrived we were upgraded to executive double with beach view, front desk staff were very good with helping us pick our trips around Rio.
Roof pool is something else views were great looking right along the Copacabana beach! Staff were always attentive and look out for Tomas he befriended us and we just had to look at him and he took our order.
Front desk staff were excellent as I mentioned before, the front desk manager was a gem gave us a late check out for free and organised our hotel car to the airport.
The whole staff made our stay very memorable and if you stay use the hotel dining room at night it is very reasonable and not as expensive as we first thought.

Room Tip: Look for the beach front rooms you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Mr Victor,
"Wonderful hotel and Staff"... This beggining is worderful for us. It make us very pride of our job. It says that we are doing exactly what we intend to do since we openned the new Miramar Hotel.
Thanks a lot for your comments. Thanks a lot to be our guest!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed here for our last night on our honeymoon. We arrived and were given champagne in reception and spoilt from start to finish. The staff at reception were so helpful and booked us a restaurant for that evening even though we arrived late. The room was amazing - large, comfortable with a great bathroom and view of the beach! The breakfast was the best breakfast I have ever had - so much choice and champagne on offer too! The best bit though was the roof top pool. We spent our last day in Rio here looking out over the most amazing view!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RC1333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Mr RC1333 (Birminghmam),

It is very good when we begin a new week and read comments like yours. They are the reason we work for, to make our guest happy with our services. It was a pleasure to have you here during your honeymoon. We hope to see you many times during your happy wedding. Thanks to be our guests!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This hotel doesn't quite hit the five star mark, but it is very good. We stayed 6 nights and enjoyed our visit.

The features that put it in the less than five star range are:
-difficult process to book directly via phone with the hotel -- limited hours, language issues.
-room lacked a 'wow' factor
-very small gym (understanding that this is South America and we were grateful to have access to a hotel gym period).
-small rooftop pool -- albeit with a stunning view.
-side chair in the room incredibly uncomfortable.
-one front desk manager (Pedro) seemed to display an apathetic attitude.
-coffee from the inroom Nespresso machine was an additional charge -- first time that we have experienced this in a '5 star' hotel.

The features that contribute to the higher star rating:
-breakfast -- stellar.
-breakfast staff -- so fantastic and attentive. Thanks for the cappuccinos Wellington.
-restaurant Sa -- excellent. Try the The scallop appetizer. It bursts with flavour.
-location -- superb.
-cleaning staff -- very good and honest -- at least on the 14th floor. We left a tip for the maid on the bed and she moved it to the bedside table. We had to track her down to give it to her.

So, the hotel is working it's way up to 5 star. Decent, just not luxurious.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank EMPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Mr EMPP (Toronto),
I would like to say "Thank you" for your comments. Be sure that they will help us to improve our services. We had already talked about your reviews and we are studying what we can do better about services and products that you mention in your comments. We have a Reservation Department inside the hotel, but we also have a Reservation Department for the Windsor Chain responsible for all hotels in our group. I don´t know exactly what happened in your case. About the "small gym" , although it is not so big we do have the best equipments over there. And believe me it is very difficult to find more them two people using it. Although that are other things you tolds us one thing called me more attention... "THe "WOW" Factor inside the room". Could you give us an idea what you spected to find inside the room that could make you feel this "WOW"? I had read about the wow factor and i think it is very interisting. And as you were our guest you could help us about it. Thanks a lot for your reviews! We hope to see you again and have a chance to make better services for you.
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Mirramar hotel one of the best hotels that i have ever been.perfect service better. Just to avoid spending extra money book a hotel at ipanema which is close to shops and restaurants. Go with rio Maximo a tour to sugar loaf and conkorvado cheaper than hotel offers, no dangerous, book a seafood churascaria Marius (don't eat salads as later you have lobsters, prawns etc), book for meat churascaria at palace in Rio de Janeiro, and go to the kiosk 12 that is very nice beach. Avoid to go santateresa as it seems dangerous. Go to the old town which is perfect the pictures during the trip and very interesting shopping spec for ladies and DONT forget to go Colombo cafe something different around the world with little money

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christos1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Mr Christos,

Fantastic your reviews. If I was a traveller I really like to know things like you wrote about the hotel and the city. Thanks for your praises about our hotel. Everyday we really try to do the best to serve our guests. We hope to see you again!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Everything was very nice. Great personnel. A glass of champagne on arrival. The room was large and very clean. The robe and slippers are a nice touch. Breakfast was fabulous. Omelets to fruits, waffles, cereal, meats, rolls and pastries and much much more. Also had mimosas included. Lovely place to stay while in Rio. Roof top pool/bar is relaxing and fun.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueinhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Mrs Sueinhampton,

It is very import to us to read comments like yours. Thanks a lot for your praises. Me and my Staff are very pride of our services. Thanks again to be our guest. We hope to see you soon!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#16 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,728 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#5 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
3,334 reviews
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#18 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#17 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,239 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#23 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,925 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#32 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramar Hotel by Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramar Hotel by Windsor

Address: Avenida Atlantica, 3668, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-001, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £135 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Miramar Hotel by Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miramar Hotel by WindsorA new concept in hospitality in Rio de JaneiroLocated right in front of Copacabana Beach the Miramar Hotel is surrounded by attractions and in the middle of the electrifying atmosphere of Copacabana. Fast and easy access to the main tourist spots in Rio and to airports. Ipanema beach is only a few minutes’ walk awayThe new Miramar is for demanding guests. The hotel is decorated with noble materials and fixtures, like ecological wood (ecowood), Venetian cristal and fine marbles from different countries.The Miramar Hotel – offers 200 modern, stylish, luxurious rooms and suites.All rooms are equipped with Butler Service, Trussardi bed and bath linen and Nespresso Coffee Maker.Restaurant Sa, under direction of Chef Paulo Goes, contemporary cuisine and elegant decor. Panoramic terrace with beautiful view of Copacabana and complete fitness room with state of the art equipment Infinity edge pool, heated in winter.Pet Friendly, the Miramar Hotel welcomes small pets of up to 5kg and offers special VIP Pet Guest services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Miramar Hotel by Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel By Windsor Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing