We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Ranked #2 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
East Northport, New York
Level 6 Contributor
474 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“5 Star Hotel!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This hotel was exceptional! We walked in the lobby to check-in and were greeted with someone pouring champagne for us. Our luggage was whisked away onto a cart where a bellhop waited until we were ready to go to our room. There was a little problem checking in, but the manager was very hospitable and more than fair in working out a solution that everyone could live with. The room was gorgeous, as well as the rooftop pool and bar. What sites you can see from it! Take pictures both during the day and at night when you go there! The breakfast is sensational! Everything you can imagine is there as well as wait staff that fall over themselves trying to help you. One even noticed that our table was a little wobbly and fixed it! The hotel is right across from Copacabana beach, so the location was also terrific. Would definitely return to this hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Mr. LO R,
Thank You for your very kindly words about our hotel. These words make us very happy. We Always intend to enchant our guests and when we read a review like yours we can say that we got it. We hope to see you again!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,870
    409
    69
    15
    15
See reviews for
456
1,151
112
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ascot
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Location is great on beach.Rooms are excellent and the reception, breakfast and breakfast service is fantastic!Covered market is opposite hotel.
Only challenges were that we could not get sunbeds by the rooftop pool as it was so busy and the service in this area was not great ie waiting for table to be cleared for 15 minutes while 3 waiters chatted at the bar. Also no beds on beach for an hour although then got some later in day.Overall we may have been a bit unlucky so would still give this place a go!

Richard

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardAscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Mr Richard Ascot,
Thank You very much for your review. Your praises and criticisms. They really help us to develop our services. About your comments we would like to explain that on the beach the Government from the City does not allow us to use more than the space we have on the sand. It's the law. That's why we use only chairs instead of chairs and chaise longue. The Bar on the Top we are taking care to make better services. We will be waiting for you again!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed here for three nights with the family. Hotel was lovely with extremely courteous, friendly and helpful staff. Great central location on Copacabana Beach so it was easy to walk to other restaurants etc. The roof top pool was fab with lovely views and a well staffed and well stocked bar for essential cooling down swim and sundowners at the end of busy days touring the city, the restaurant was excellent - lovely breakfast and we did eat dinner there one night which was good but fairly pricey. The room was really comfy and clean - we had superior rooms on the side of the hotel so did not face the beach but we did not find this a problem as we spent most of our free time at the hotel on the rooftop enjoying the pool and bar. Staff were really helpful about where to go out and about in the city and the best ways of vetting there. Security was also excellent.

Room Tip: We had superior rooms on the street side of the hotel rather than the beach so although we didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Mrs Lorna72,
Thank You for this Wonderful review! Your words about our staff and service make us very happy. The Rooftop as you told is a special area from our hotel where you can relax after a day touring or business day. It has the power to change our minds although we could be tired.
We hope to see you again!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I would truly recommend this hotel to anyone. Everything is perfect: from its location, right in front of Copacabana Beach (even though I would prefer Leblon or Ipanema, the view is amazing and totally worth it), breakfast is great
I love this hotel

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Mr/ Mrs Sofi,
It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest. Many thanks for your kindly words about our hotel and services. They really make us very happy. We always intend to give our guests a wonderful stay with us. We hope to see you soon!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We visited Rio a few weeks before the World Cup. We stayed at two different Windsor facilities and did a lot of tourist activities in rio. Over all the level of service in the city was average at best and poor at worst except at the Miramar. It felt all of sudden that we were in a different world. The staff was wonderful from the front desk, to the bell boys, to the cleaning staff. The Resturant was great. Over all the experience was significantly better than any thing else in Rio

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohammad E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Mr Mohammad E,
Thanks so much for your kindly words about our hotel. It was a great pleasure to have you and your Family with us. My Staff and I are really happy that your stay in our hotel was delightful. We hope to see you again!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My Husband and I stayed at this hotel during our Honeymoon and cannot recommend it enough. It was the best hotel we stayed at in Brazil. We upgraded to an Ocean View room and it was definitely worth it – the view of Cocacabana Beach was stunning! The breakfast was fantastic, so much to choose from. There was a large volume of staff who were always at hand to help and maintain the hotel. The rooftop area was beautiful. We had a wonderful time in Rio – would love to be back again.

Room Tip: Ocean view room directly facing the beach - only way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GalwayGirlNY5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Mrs Galway,
We are really happy to see that You and your Husband had a wonderful stay with us during this special moment (Honeymoon) of your lives. Thanks for the nice words about our services and, of course, to choose Miramar Hotel for your stay in Rio. We hope to see you again!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Booked as part of a 2 trip stop holiday vacation where we ended in Brazil for New Years. After long night flight from Miami had arrived with warm greeting and champagne toast 1 day before NYE. a beautiful beachfront location.

PROS: Staff was very attentive. the included breakfast buffet was bananas; as this is not your typical continental bread/juice affair. We ha omelet stations., fruits, meats, lox, bottomless mimosas etc. rooftop pool. groovy globe trotters. Place is a great place to meet exceptional people as well. As everyone we met we well traveled and had interesting stories to share. In fact we made a lot of lasting friend we pings to stay in touch..Right across street from beach!

CONS: Really not a con but small rooms as this is typical for Brazil. We ended up switching 2 different rooms 2nd room was a bit bigger and facing beach but lower to ground which meant you hear the street crowd all day..

Overall would highly recommend especially if you can find a deal....

Room Tip: go high and beach front if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank koshousk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William R, Gerente geral at Miramar Hotel by Windsor, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Mr Koshousk,
Thank You very much for your review at Trip Advisor. Your words will help us to make better services in the future. Only one thing we did not understand was about the noise from the streets you said you heard from your room. Our windows have a special double glasses which normally block the noises from outside. I will check if there is something wrong in the room you stayed in our hotel. Anyway, Thank you for this information and we hope to see you soon!
Sincerely Yours,
William F. Rodrigues
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
3,244 reviews
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#14 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,638 reviews
Jacarepaguá
Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
Hilton Barra Rio de Janeiro
#1 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#17 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,320 reviews
Copacabana
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
#20 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,147 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#21 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramar Hotel by Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramar Hotel by Windsor

Property: Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Address: Avenida Atlantica, 3668, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-001, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#12 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Miramar Hotel by Windsor 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Miramar Hotel by WindsorA new concept in hospitality in Rio de JaneiroLocated right in front of Copacabana Beach the Miramar Hotel is surrounded by attractions and in the middle of the electrifying atmosphere of Copacabana. Fast and easy access to the main tourist spots in Rio and to airports. Ipanema beach is only a few minutes’ walk awayThe new Miramar is for demanding guests. The hotel is decorated with noble materials and fixtures, like ecological wood (ecowood), Venetian cristal and fine marbles from different countries.The Miramar Hotel – offers 200 modern, stylish, luxurious rooms and suites.All rooms are equipped with Butler Service, Trussardi bed and bath linen and Nespresso Coffee Maker.Restaurant Sa, under direction of Chef Paulo Goes, contemporary cuisine and elegant decor. Panoramic terrace with beautiful view of Copacabana and complete fitness room with state of the art equipment Infinity edge pool, heated in winter.Pet Friendly, the Miramar Hotel welcomes small pets of up to 5kg and offers special VIP Pet Guest services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Miramar Hotel by Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel By Windsor Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing