We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but cheap services”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel
Ranked #108 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Nancy, France
2 reviews
“Great location but cheap services”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel is ideally located near the beaches (Copacabana, Ipanema) and shops. But the building is old, the windows have only one glass so you can hear the traffic in the street, and the mattresses should be renewed urgently. The staff is nice and helpful but only half of them can speak something else than portuguese.The breakfast is correct but expensive - 40 reals - and often out of something. One of our pyjamas disappeared with the sheets when they did the laundry. In conclusion a bit expensive for it's worth.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiane R, Gerente at Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Isabelle,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Tatiane Ramos
General Manager
Mercure RJ Arpoador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    360
    182
    44
    26
See reviews for
245
197
60
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for eight days during the World Cup group stage, first week. Found the facilities quite pleasant, the staff extremely nice and helpful, the location perfect. The apartment was extremely clean, everything worked perfectly. TVs seemed out of the box brand new. Would stay again on my next trip to Rio.

The included breakfast was fine. Could eat light (Yougurt, fruits, cereals) or heavy (eggs, fantastic sausage). The coffee ? Well, it's Brazil. Not sure you can get a bad cup of coffee in Brazil.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiane R, General Manager at Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Mr. James,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience at Tripadvisor, we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Tatiane Ramos
General Manager
Mercure RJ Arpoador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knoxville tn
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Great location at the end of copocabana. Not on beach but 10 mins by foot. I had a decent experience in mercure in Europe but the attitude here is terrible. I had to ask for the room to be clean as walking on the floors got my feet dirty. Front desk guy sleeping at 6 AM and wouldn't allow me coffe because the shop opens at 6:30 even though they have the coffee made inside the door as I watched. Very old tired building. Microwave water for 3 minutes and still not hot enough to make tea. Was charged on prepay for breakfast included at little more than $200 per night yet I was charged for breakfast and they do not listen or care. No we follow company rules. Okay, in September when I return I hear great things about the Golden Tulip. Very happy for this week to end.

Room Tip: Check the Golden Tulip, this is where my co-workers stay that make frequent trips
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiane R, General Manager at Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Tatiane Ramos
General Manager
Mercure Arpoador Rio de Janeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rio de Janeiro hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

HOTEL REVIEW: #Accorhotels.com

As with the last two of my many trips to Rio de Janeiro, I stayed at the Mercure Rio De Janeiro Arpoador. The staff was kind, efficient, knowledgeable, and eager to assist in any manner. I have to start by acknowledging three (3) staff members right off the bat. Kamila Mizrahi was a super-star front desk employee. She was eager to assist in any way possible. From directions to landmarks, to the best places to shop in Centro for the best prices. The seven (7) of us also received stellar service from Kamila Mizrahi, Bruno Sacramento and Guilherme Dantas. There were a total of seven (7) in my party, with three (3) rooms being utilized. I found the hotel lobby to be warm and welcoming. There is coffee for those who like coffee while you wait for the check-in process, and instant FREE Wi-Fi available. The Accor hotel chain seems to always get it right, which is why I enjoy staying at Accor Hotels and accruing points with their Le Club Accorhotels Loyalty Programs.

We stayed in “Privilege” Rooms on the top floors, and enjoyed our stay immensely. The rooms were clean and modern. Each room has a separate bedroom, bathroom, living area, and kitchen. The bedroom had a closet with approximately five hangers, a three-drawer dresser built into the closet, and a mini-safe bolted to the top of the dresser. The bedroom also had a small digital television that I never used, because we all watched TV in the living room. The bathroom had a western toilette, a stand-only shower, sink, and water nozzle near the toilette for bidet purposes. The living room had a desk, a sofa pull-out bed, two chairs, a table on wheels for easy relocation, two padded stools on wheels, a larger digital TV (approx. 32” inches diagonal), a sliding glass door, and a bar that separates the kitchen area. I was able to plug my USB Portable Hard Drive directly to the Television and watch the movies I brought from home. We utilized the kitchen area to cook meals every night, in order to save money on food.

I chose this hotel [again] because its central to where we all wanted to be. We walked to Copacabana Beach in less than 5 minutes, and to Ipanema Beach Tower/Post 8 in less than 7 minutes. It took maybe 15-20 minutes to arrive at Tower/Post 9, depending on how distracted we became with the beauty of the beach and the people walking around the beach. There are also three Zona Sul markets within walking distance, as well as the General Osorio Metro Station, which is of course located close to the Hippie Fare on Sunday.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is not only a first time visitor to Rio de Janeiro, but also repeat visitors. You will not be disappointed. You will have nothing but nice things to say when you depart. Make sure to ask for Kamila Mizrahi upon check-in. You cannot miss her huge glowing smile, and eagerness to make your stay as comfortable as she possibly can.

Of the 70 trips abroad I have taken, most all of my stays are with #AccorHotels because I can count on a good rate if I book in advance, and I can use my Loyalty Points at ANY TIME on ANY RATE I find online.

@theostravel #theostravel @AccorHotels @Accorhotels.com #AccorHotels #Accorhotels.com #riodejaneiro #tripadvisor #MercureRiodeJaneiroArpoadorHotel @MercureRiodeJaneiroArpoadorHotel #MyLifeIsaTrip007 @accor #accor

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheosTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiane R, General Manager at Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Theos,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Tatiane Ramos
General Manager
Mercure Arpoador Rio de Janeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stay duration: 1 month

Positives:
1. Stuff are very friendly and helpful
2. Breakfast was decent
3. Free wifi provided
4. Small kitchen with gas stove
5. Room are clean and not too noisy
6. Good location to beach and supermarkets
7. Great coffee in the lobby

Negatives:
1. Cleaning services can sometime be a bit late (but the cleaning lady are very helpful)
2. Most of the staff can't speak english
3. No meal service within hotel, but can order takeouts from nearby pizza place
4. Gym is abit small

Overall a nice and decent place to stay for up to 1 month.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lighthand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiane R, General Manager at Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador. Your review is very important to us.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Tatiane Ramos
General Manager
Mercure Arpoador Rio de Janeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have stayed at many Hotels in Rio but this is the best till date specially when you are travelling with family on vacation. The Reception people speaks English and ar every curteaus, all rooms are equipped with Extra Sofa cum bed and Kichen to cook. What more do you want in a hotel in Brazil? 100 Meters left and right side of the hotel you find 2 Best Beaches in Rio. Simply Great place to stay.

Room Tip: Top Floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RishabhG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tatiane R, Manager at Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Tatiane Ramos
General Manager
Mercure Arpoador Rio de Janeiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Aparthotel Adagio Rio de Janeiro Ipanema
Aparthotel Adagio Rio de Janeiro...
#132 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
651 reviews
Ipanema
Arena Ipanema Hotel
Arena Ipanema Hotel
#30 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
238 reviews
Copacabana
Copacabana Praia Hotel
Copacabana Praia Hotel
#78 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ipanema
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fashion Hotel
BEST WESTERN Premier Arpoador Fa...
#5 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
267 reviews
Ipanema
Hotel Arpoador
Hotel Arpoador
#25 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
795 reviews
Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
Golden Tulip Rio Copacabana
#52 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel

Property: Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel
Address: Rua Francisco Otaviano 61, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22080-040, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana , Lagoa
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#56 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Mercure Apt Arpoador, offering 46 apartments, is located between the two most famous beaches in Brazil, Copacabana and Ipanema. The hotel is 12 kilometres from the centre of Rio de Janeiro and 25 kilometres from the international airport. The hotel features fully equipped apartments, a fitness centre, sauna, swimming pool and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Rio de Janeiro Arpoador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Apartments Rio De Janeiro Arpoador Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Mercure Rio De Janeiro Arpoador Hotel Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing