We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always expect thr best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
Ranked #19 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always expect thr best”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I stay at this hotel almost once a month...and it is always a great experience! Staff is flawless, rooms are confortable and very clean. The fitness center is well equiped - enjoy the view of Rio from the top of the hotel while exercising. Then fill up on calories over a tasty breakfast buffett.
Copacabana is not the best location in Rio, but it's central.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,139
    665
    215
    80
    48
See reviews for
273
639
155
678
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Wonderful concierge level. Fantastic breakfasts and strong Caipirinhas in the evenings. Small pool on the roof, but beautiful views of the beach. After it finally stopped raining, the days were really great. Shopping in Copacabana was a delight, especially with the street vendors. We could speak Spanish, but Portuguese was quite a challenge! I'm so glad that we had an iPhone app to help with translations.

Room Tip: Pay to get on the Concierge level and to face the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonduranHoustans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Location is terrific in the heart of Copacabana Beach. Just walk across the street to experience the best of Rio's typical local life where everyone treats the beach as a giant living room for community fun, relaxation, and exercise. The Marriott is also convenient to walk to a few nice restaurants in nearby blocks as well as the casual places for food and drink along the beach. You can also see Sugarloaf Mountain and the cable cars in the distance from the Marriott location. And the hotel concierge can arrange reasonably priced tours from the hotel to places such as Sugarloaf or Corcovada to see El Cristo (Christ the Redeemer statue). The hotel itself offers a breakfast buffet which is quite nice, especially on Sunday when they add more items to the buffet, and the breakfast service personnel were excellent. The bar and dining venues inside the hotel are very expensive and service there may be by bored, disinterested waiters, which was our experience. Be careful of the hotel's happy hour offer of buy 1-get 1 free, which only covers a limited selection and no wines, but they will not inform you of this information in advance so you can get stuck with a much larger happy hour bill than you expected. However, nearby restaurants around the corner tend to be reasonably priced for a nice meal and bottle of local wine. Our room was small, but adequate, with no view, and at a cost of about $1-thousand per night, you are paying for location in a world-class city. There are rooms with a beach view on the front of the hotel, and I assume they are just pricier. The room frig is a mini-bar, so if you want to put in your own food or drink, frig room is cramped, and watch that you are not inadvertently charged for using mini-bar items that you did not use. Check your bill carefully when you leave also, as we were charged for drinks by the pool, and we had never even been to the pool area! Perhaps there was a language barrier when whoever did buy drinks at the pool reported their room number. The receptionist was very nice about promptly removing the erroneous charge when I disputed it. The housekeeping staff forgot to clean our room 2 different days that we were there, and we had to call down to the front desk in the afternoons and request the room be cleaned, so service is lacking among housekeeping as well as the bar area. Security is tight, so your room key is necessary to operate the elevator. There is a pool area and exercise room on the roof with showers and changing rooms complete with towels and shampoo, and if you have to wait for an evening flight, the hotel will give you a key to use this area after you check out in the morning. So, you can spend the day on the beach and be able to clean up from the sand even without a room. As an English-speaking American in a foreign place the size of Rio, the JW Marriott was a good place to stay, despite some of the service shortcomings and price.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joycandoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Like the title says.... when you go to a JW Marriott you expect nothing but the best and it usually is... great rooms, great service and I think that for this city you need to have a great concierge !!! and they do.... they are very willing.. try to find what it is you want to do, and give you the best alternative for you and your group. For example we were traveling with family and we were a group of 4... we wanted to know the usual.... Cristo Redentor, Pao de Acucar, Corcovado, the beaches, copacabana, ipanema, maracana, etc. They recommended to have a private tour with an agency that would pick us up in a car, where we would move around at our pace, would go to all the places in less time and less money and with private tour guide in our own language. They really know how to do theyr job and try to find the best alternative for you and your party. Only thing is that the breakfast is a little pricy but just around the corner you have lots of alternatives to choose from.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcelitaGonzalez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Great location in the middle of Copacabana beach.Rooms are small but you get a great view if you get a room facing the beach(strongly recommended)Breakfast expensive,service great.

Room Tip: Definately facing the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoganTampaFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

When we reserved for a room during the peak season of Xmas, their website shows all room only for two. We decided to write an email to request for an exception as I always travel with my wife and our daughter. It did not take long for a hotel supervisor to write back from Rio with the good news - request granted! We paid for a room for two and the hotel set up a complimentary cot for our daughter - all this during their busiest time of the year!
The hotel is across the street from the beach and our room has full view of the ocean. As soon as we checked in, a supervisor at the reception desk made a great impression, with his great smile and super friendly attitude. His name is Leandro. We then ran into the concierge, Daniel, who we were even more pleasantly surprised by! You can tell when an employee just does his/her job and another one who does it with some passion!
We had complimentary breakfast (only for two, though). It was a breakfast buffet - hot and cold, along with an omelette station. There was an assortment of fruits, breads, cheeses, and typical Brazilian breakfast items (sausages and cheese bread, etc.). Everyday, there was a different local fruit drink that the waiter would offer. Also, everyday they gave us a different sheet of paper with local weather forecast for that day, as well as an interesting facts about the city or sights to see. The waiters were particularly nice when we asked them questions unrelated to breakfasts. They took time to answer meticulously to each question.
We also visited their fitness center on the top floor daily. It was better than most non-US hotel's gyms. They had a few treadmills, a few ellipticals, and one bike, as well as an assortment of weight machines and free weights. The view from this fitness center is phenomenal.
The hotel also had beach services. They provided lounge chairs that they set up for you along with umbrellas and towels. There are always two men working there, and they would even often went around the lounge chairs to spray the surrounding with water hoses so hotel guests wouldn't burn their feet on the quite hot sand!
The maid service was also always excellent. All in all, this particular hotel's service is the best we have experienced from many JW Marriott worldwide that we have visited.

Room Tip: Get one with the beach view if you can. Otherwise you will look in the hotel, facing other rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thehiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I'm a gold member so extensive Marriott nights per year. I used points for this stay so can't give accurate comparison on pricing. The front desk suggested I check-in on the 9th floor and quickly provided bellman assistance with my bags.
Customer Service was a hit or miss - front desk was great. Concierge was good and bad. Occasionally, someone (lady) would speak to us like human beings with intelligence and other times (gentlemen) would use scare tactics to avoid any walking in Rio only use tours or their services for any tourist destination. I think hotels specifically like this should allow the customer to choose whether they want directions (which was my goal) vs. sales routine to an organize tour.
The lounge on the 9th floor was quite small but the staff was nice/attentive. One gentlemen during breakfast from Australia was quite pleasant and made the day nice.
Lounge offers small nibbling options but did enjoy the yogurt stock in the outside refrigerator.

Rooftop pool offers a nice touch and worth an evening or morning idleness if weather/time allows.

Location is great as walkable to subway, shopping and restaurants and doesn't hurt beach directly across the street.

Room Service was AWFUL! I requested one item - told it was out of stock! I requested a NY steak - the individual indicated they do not have it and offered me another cut of Brazallian style. It arrived and entirely inedible/disgusting! The cut was nothing compared to a NY strip and not sure what drug the individual recommending this alternative was on but I don't want it.

Room was clean and all items functional/operational. Only note - occasionally can hear neighbors in the bathroom.

I am not sure if I would've been thrilled paying full price with some of the hiccups in service but overall it met my requirements. I've stayed at multiple JW Marriott so felt this was a standard basic Marriott and nothing luxurious about it.

If the rate is good and you avoid room service & concierge this is a great hotel. If you value either of those items than I would suggest researching another hotel.

Room Tip: Request one with beach view as otherwise, your window will look at the interior courtyard of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RooseveltL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#14 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,633 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
3,242 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#16 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,319 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#21 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,866 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#27 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
Address: Avenida Atlantica, 2600 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22041-001, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#18 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The extraordinary JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro hotel offers seamless commuting to the city's best attractions, including Sugarloaf Mountain, Christ the Redeemer and a variety of nightlife, restaurants and golf courses. The world-famous Copacabana beach is just steps away from our doors, and Rio de Janeiro-Galeão International Airport is less than 10 miles away. Outdoor enthusiasts will appreciate our proximity to exciting activities like rock climbing, surfing and sailing. Guest rooms at our JW Marriott feature elegant decor, plush bedding, marble bathrooms and LCD TVs with international cable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Rio De Janeiro
Marriott Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Marriott
JW Marriott Hotel Rio De Janeiro Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing