We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location, pleasant staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
Ranked #17 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Singapore
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Convenient location, pleasant staff”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

The hotel faces Copacabana beach and was a easy walk to various eateries and shops. The rooms were small but adequate, with a coffee percolator and amenities like iron & ironing board. Although there were some renovations in the lobby during my 11-day stay there, it was vaguely noticeable. The hotel also has a currency exchange in basement level 1 which was convenient. I loved their oatmeal and yogurt selection, but thought the rest of the breakfast items were average. All the service staff were very helpful and quick to respond to our requests. Most importantly, I felt safe in this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay extra for seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tragedy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,077
    641
    213
    74
    47
See reviews for
261
625
150
628
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

First of all, I must confess: The price is abusive. I couldn't recommend to anyone to stay there paying the regular rate. My company has a great discount, which makes it a viable option, otherwise it would be rather overpriced. Despite that, one must consider that most of the other Copacabana options are fairly outdated and equally overpriced. Generally speaking, I would advise anyone to stay away from Copacabana when it comes to hotels. If you are able to get a discount like I do (corporate fares), this hotel is a great option. As many people already spoke, the inner (atrium) rooms are awkward - people can see you from the outside if you leave the curtains open. On the good side I would mention the breakfast with extensive choices of both regional and general food, the gym and when they have a little tent outside at the beach area. My perception of the crew varies. Bellhops seemed to be eager for tips but the waiters at the breakfast were just amazing - very polite and at the second day of the stay the guy already knew were I wanted to seat and what I would like to drink. I stay there with a certain frequency and must say that despite the flaws I'm not willing to stay anywhere else in Rio.

Room Tip: If you can spare a bit of an extra cash, don't get a room on the atrium side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Israel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Stayed at the JW Rio for two nights whilst out for the England match at the Maracana stadium.
Booked a junior suite , Copacabana view which was a lovely room. Only issue was it was room 920 which is right next to the kitchen for the executive lounge so was woken on both days at 5.20/5.30 am by lots of banging as they prepared the breakfast. I was offered a move after the first night which I declined as I was only there two nights, but no offer of any discount or extra marriott points. At $430 a night you would hope for a good nights sleep, I am sure I am not the first person to be disturbed in this room!
Overall a decent hotel, nice exec lounge ,good location, excellent gym and roof top pool. Would recommend just not room 920!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
142 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Rio has a huge problem regarding hotels (all expensive and old / filthy), so the JW becomes an excellent choice. No frills, not full of personality and charm but certainly does the job.
Comfy bed, nice bathroom, nice pool on the rooftop (sunny all day), very good gym for it's size, great service. Copacabana is not my favorite location, but it's not far from (much better) Ipanema and Leblon.
Sometimes they offer good weekend deals which makes it even more appealing. If you're not in Rio very often, go for the ocean view rooms. Otherwise the atrium ones are ok.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are worth the extra, specially higher floors, as Copacabana's views are amongst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cadi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Spain
Level Contributor
472 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This Hotel is the kind of Hotel that everyone shall say : "not bad but very expensive" and they will be right

1.- Amazing location. In the middle of Copacabana Beach
2.- Rooms not so big and most of them have a view to an interior patio :(
3.- Rooms are quite (no complain on that) but avoid the one in front of the elevator a 9 floor. You will day since that´s the entrance to the executive floor
4.. Executive floor not bad with full of choices and nice happy hour. However the breakfast is simple
5.- Gym is not so big but you can have a run at the Copacabana Beach. The whole beach measure is 4 km and they have a path for runners and bikes. Totally worth it and you will find lots of people working out
6.- The Hotel has their section at the beach and they will provide you umbrellas, chairs and towels for free
7.- People at the lobby very nice!

Room Tip: Never 9th florr in front of the elavator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jos8Toledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This hotel may not be the fanciest hotel I have been to but they make up for the great service. The warm and friendly service started from the moment I stepped into the hotel until the day I left 10 days later. The room was quite small but comfortable and amenities complete. Breakfast was good, with enough selections. The staff helped to make us managing a large group that we housed in this hotel a little easier. Location was of course fantastic - the famed Copacabana Beach right in front and there are lots of shops behind the hotel. I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTG010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Great large modern rooms, ours had a great full on ocean views but many rooms face an interior courtyard. Excellent buffet for breakfast. Area is not as stylish as Ipenema but is only a few minutes away by cab. Very helpful but overworked concierges. Had to check out at noon on day we were leaving on a nighttime flight. Hotel allowed use of shower area on rooftop pool deck that night which helped us get cleaned up before our flight.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JAMESRinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
2,323 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3,155 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
#10 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
2,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#18 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,810 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#24 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,469 reviews
Ipanema
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Managed by Sofitel
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipane...
#38 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
Address: Avenida Atlantica, 2600 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22041-001, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#10 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The extraordinary JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro hotel offers seamless commuting to the city's best attractions, including Sugarloaf Mountain, Christ the Redeemer and a variety of nightlife, restaurants and golf courses. The world-famous Copacabana beach is just steps away from our doors, and Rio de Janeiro-Galeão International Airport is less than 10 miles away. Outdoor enthusiasts will appreciate our proximity to exciting activities like rock climbing, surfing and sailing. Guest rooms at our JW Marriott feature elegant decor, plush bedding, marble bathrooms and LCD TVs with international cable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Rio De Janeiro
Marriott Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Marriott
JW Marriott Hotel Rio De Janeiro Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing