We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME week in Rio thanks to JW Marriott!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
Ranked #20 of 281 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
“AWESOME week in Rio thanks to JW Marriott!!!”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Just came back from an awesome 7 days in Rio!! The JW Marriott rocked!! I have to say - this is the best JW I have stayed at. The staff is incredible - kind, compassionate, dedicated and very helpful. Stayed with my wife and 2 young kids and we couldn't have picked a better hotel.
Everything was AAA rating. They accommodated all our requests and went the extra mile to make us feel at home. Love Rio for sure but the JW folks made it more special, more memorable and more fun than we had ever expected. Definitely coming back soon!!!
Thanks for the wonderful memories.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room if possible, Copacabana beach is breathtaking!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW_Marriott_RJ, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
We thank you for having chosen us as your destination hotel; it is always a pleasure to make you feel at home.We look forward to seeing you and your family once again on your next trio to the wonderful city of Rio de Janeiro.
Regards
Fernanda Doria
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,141
    666
    215
    80
    48
See reviews for
274
639
155
680
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Recently spent a weekend in Rio staying at the JW Marriott with colleauges. A few quick highlights:

Standard rooms are comfortable but make sure you have an ocean view.

Service is fantastic, from the moment you walk in to the moment you walk out. Reception, conceirge, reception on the executive lounge floor, bartender - all was really first rate.

Didn't spend much time at the pool but could see that it would be a nice place to relax: on the roof, with a full bar. On the same level is a very good gym.

The location is on Copacabana beach, which is okay but if you are really interested in going to a great beach or out for a nice dinner, you'll want to take a cab to Ipanema or Leblon.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJK11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW_Marriott_RJ, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you have the opportunity to visit us once again in the near future. It will be a pleasure to host you once again at our beautiful hotel.
Thank you
Fernanda Doria
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay here, combining a great location with a luxurious room and superb service. Highly recommend this hotel. If you are lucky enough to be on the executive lounge floors you are in for an extra treat. Ositha made our visit extra special and made us feel at home. Our compliments to the management on the level of service she provided. The chef in the lounge went out of his way to have specific items at breakfast to accommodate dietary needs. We can't say enough about how lovely our stay was. We wished we could stay longer.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW_Marriott_RJ, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
I am extremely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with so much. We have a wonderful team that is detailed and caring with everything we offer to our guests from products to service. Next time you visit us I hope that you can stay longer with us so that we can exceed your expectations, once again.
Regards
Fernanda Doria
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the JW Marriott in Rio. The hotel is right in the middle of Copacobana Beach and just across Avenido Atlantica from the beach.

The staff was really very helpful and welcoming. Check in was a breeze and everyone spoke perfect English. The concierge desk was really helpful in setting up some excursions and giving us advice on the best way to reach the tourist attractions we wanted to see. Rio is much larger and spread out than I realized so this made a huge difference. They even helped set up a hang gliding excursion which I highly recommend!

We had access to the 9th floor free breakfast. It was pretty good. Not the best I've had but better than most. The rooftop terrace was really nice and offers spectacular views up and down Copacobana. You can even see the Christ the Redeemer statue in the distance behind the hotel. The pool, while a bit small, was also really nice. The gym is also located on the roof. You can job or use the stationary bikes all while looking down at the beach.

We had a few issues with our room however. We checked into an interior room and were told that we could move to a oceanview room a few days later. We made the switch only to be told the next day a leak had developed beneath our bathroom and we'd have to move again. Really inconvenient but I guess it couldn't be avoided.

This was our first trip to Rio. It was much safer and quieter than I expected. Copacobana Beach is mostly residential so it wasn't as lively and crowded as I thought it would be. I had expected a scene similar to what you'd find along Miami Beach. But it was much quieter and I actually enjoyed that. There are lots of outdoor dining options along the beach on both sides of the road.

One word of warning though. People drive very fast in Rio and pedestrians don't seem to have the same rights as we're accustomed to in the States. So, just be cautious when crossing streets. Overall, Rio was much safer and welcoming than I expected. We had a blast and will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: You definitely want to splurge or request an oceanview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW_Marriott_RJ, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
We are very happy that you made the best of your trip, it seems like you really enjoyed the city and took advantage of every minute of your trip. We will be expecting your return and please excuse us having to move you rooms as we did want to avoid a bigger inconvenience during your stay. Please know that there are many more places to see and adventures to experience here in Rio de Janeiro so please visit us again and let us help you have another memorable experience.

Regards
Fernanda Doria
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The Marriott is in a great location, weather was a little rainy while we wee there, but the hotel is in great condition. Rooms are smaller than in North America, but the staff is uniformly nice and welcoming. Great beach - they have free beach chairs, but they run out pretty fast, so keep your eye out for when people leave to get some chairs.

Also, the food can be sort of variable - we found breakfast good, but dinner varied in quality from night to night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW_Marriott_RJ, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for providing us with your feedback, we appreciate the opportunity to better our service and our products and your input always helps us do that. We hope that you chose to stay with us once again and enjoy all the many more amenities and services we offer.
Regards
Fernanda Doria
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

What can I say about the JW Rio - amazing place, great location! Right across from Copacabana beach. I walked to Apoardo to surf & Ipanema as well. The staff were VERY friendly & helpful! Some remembered my name. The concierge always went above & beyond to help me plan/book activities such as surfing, sight seeing at Corcovado & Sugarloaf. One of my new favorite hotels.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW_Marriott_RJ, Director of Operations at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
It is very gratifying to be part of your favorite hotels list as we thrive to be on everyone`s list as the favorite place to stay while away from home and visiting the wonderful city. As you mentioned our team is always ready to help and willing to provide you with the best options to enjoy the wonderful city of Rio de Janeiro. Please visit us soon and let us help you enjoy the city again
Regards
Fernanda Doria
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Probably the best place to stay in either Copacabana or Ipanema is the JW Marriott. The service at this hotel is wonderful, but make no mistake about the fact that you will pay for it. That said, there are some things that, to me, make this somewhat less than a true 5-star hotel. First of all, start with the fact that a high percentage of the rooms at this hotel are "inside view" rooms with no view of the beach or anything outside of the hotel. The furnishings in the room are standard Marriott fare and do not seem to represent an upgrade over the normal Marriott line. There's only one phone in the room when most luxury hotels have two. There are no walk-in-showers and the bath tubs are rather small. Also, the main hotel restaurant for dinner is the lobby bar on the ground floor which represents a change from when the hotel operated a separate dinner restaurant on the first floor. It can take a very long time to get your food if they are busy.

So, yes, this is a very nice hotel but one could reasonably expect more for $400-$500 per night.

Room Tip: Room numbers ending 08 to 18 have ocean views and are larger than the interior "inside view&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon5839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW_Marriott_RJ, Director os Operations at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, as you mentioned we provide distinctive service as we are a Marriott hotel. We are located in the center of Copacabana we offer gorgeous Ocean views and also offer Atrium view to cater all of our guests. As a Marriott hotel our service makes the difference between is concurrence and we would invite you to visit Regards

Fernanda Doria
Director of Operations
us again as we will be glad to receive and host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#14 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
2,643 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
3,246 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#18 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
2,323 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#21 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,871 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#27 of 281 in Rio de Janeiro
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
Address: Avenida Atlantica, 2600 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22041-001, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#18 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The extraordinary JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro hotel offers seamless commuting to the city's best attractions, including Sugarloaf Mountain, Christ the Redeemer and a variety of nightlife, restaurants and golf courses. The world-famous Copacabana beach is just steps away from our doors, and Rio de Janeiro-Galeão International Airport is less than 10 miles away. Outdoor enthusiasts will appreciate our proximity to exciting activities like rock climbing, surfing and sailing. Guest rooms at our JW Marriott feature elegant decor, plush bedding, marble bathrooms and LCD TVs with international cable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Rio De Janeiro
Marriott Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Marriott
JW Marriott Hotel Rio De Janeiro Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing