We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and amazing service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
Ranked #19 of 282 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location and amazing service”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed 6 nights at the Copacabana Marriott Hotel earlier this year. We had an amazing time - the hotel is situated in the middle of Copacabana beach so it was really easily accessible to everything around.

We experienced really fantastic service from the moment we arrived at the hotel:
- The hotel managed to give us early check-in and were very accommodating when we also asked for a late checkout (they understood completely that we had a 30hr journey ahead of us to go home)
- We had some trouble with our ATM cards and Leonardo at the front desk was a superstar - he did everything he could to help us out when we were stuck in a sticky situation and found ourselves without any cash halfway across the world! He went above and beyond to help us out for which we will be forever grateful! THANK YOU LEONARDO!
- They helped us book tours, restaurants, gave awesome recommendations for bike-riding, places to eat and go etc

The only drawback is that the pool is tiny! But I guess no one needs to spend any time at the pool when you have Copacabana and Ipanema right at your doorstep!

I would definitely recommend the JW Marriott on Copacabana!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,162
    673
    215
    81
    48
See reviews for
277
647
156
693
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Michael, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Clean and spacious rooms with modern amenities. View of Copacabana Beach from the rooftop was amazing day and night. The bartender at the rooftop bar was very friendly and willing to talk to us. Staff at desk and restaurants all spoke English. Great Fitness Center on the rooftop. Staff very willing to help set up rides to local tourist locations. Overall great experience!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for business and a couple of extra days for holiday. This property upholds the high standards you'd expect from the JW Marriott brand. But more than that, the staff are sincere and come across as genuinely committed to every guest's satisfaction. They greet guests with a smile, but they with each other, too.

The Concierge Desk: I was surprised to see that many of the Concierge staff are members of Les Clefs d'Or, assuring the highest calibre of service. They lived up to this standard in making dinner and tour reservations for us throughout our visit.

The desk staff were also top notch. Taking care of minor issues and following through to assure we were satisfied. The lobby bar is very nice and comfortable. Friendly bar keepers who were happy to speak English. Housekeeping was perfect.

>> Suggestions for the traveller:

1) If a beach view is critically important to you (don't LOOK at the beach, BE on the beach), note that the beach facing room windows do not open, so no ocean sounds - besides which the noisy avenue would drown the ocean out. Instead, request an atrium facing "corner" room with a small balcony. These rooms are larger than the ocean-facing rooms, with the added benefit that you can open the sliding door to better circulate the air.

2) If you have access to the concierge / executive lounge on the 9th floor, know that it conforms to the standards for JW's: a) the hot breakfasts, afternoon refreshments and evening hors d'oeuvres are vey good and varied, b) it has a Nespresso machine (woo hoo!!!), and c) in the evening, if you ask, the attendants will prepare a fantastic Caipirinha. Plenty of cold bottled beverages, of course and the view of the beach is great.

3) If your Marriott status affords eligibility for the concierge level, avail yourself of the desk service on the 9th floor for check-in and your special needs. For example, a couple of times we simply asked the attendant on 9 to setup our dinner. She/he contacted the Concierge, or the restaurant itself for us.

4). Check out the rooftop sundeck, exercise room and pool. Very comfortable, if not a bit small. We had lunch up there on our first day, and it was very good. They'll have a small barbecue going right next to the bar.

As a Marriott Lifetime Platinum, I have a well-tuned set of expectations for each brand. As JWs go, this one is among the best managed, most guest-friendly I've visited. Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Tazmo300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

In the heart of Copacabana Beach! Beach is across the street Atlantic Avenue. You can rent beach towels, chairs, umbrella displaying your hotel key to clerk at Copacabana beach. Concierge & guest service agents all very friendly and speak good English. This is the only Marriott brand.... JW Marriott is top of the line. Request an ocean view room when you open your curtains awesome photos of the beach.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charlie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papamoa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

J W MARRIOT COPACABANA, RIO DE JANEIRO BRAZIL.
Efficient, well-run and in a fabulous location. Step outside to restaurants. Directly in front of the hotel and across the street JWM has its own beach cabana where you are well looked after. Lie back and enjoy the beach scene. Breakfast was standard buffet and cooked eggs. Very clean. We had an interior room which was pleasantly air-conned and very quiet.

Room Tip: If you're weary, take an inside room - absolutely quiet. You can take in all the action outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

There are no words that would do justice to describe the service that we received from staff at this hotel.
We have stayed at many hotels but never had service like this before.
Staff had always willingly assisted in any if our needs. They made us feel comfortable at all times.
Service and hospitality was outstanding.
So, a big thank you to ALL staff at the JW Marriot Hotel, Rio de Janeiro for making our stay an unforgettable one.
And a very special thank to Renato & Thamirys for always going beyond their call of duty to assist us and making my sisters birthday an extra special one :-)

The Ismail Gounden family
South Africa

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Naz852016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW_Marriott_RJ, Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you very much for your great feedback! Our goal is to give the best service to our costumers. We hope to see you and your family on a next opportunity.
Sincerely, Leticia Alcázar - Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockeysville Hunt Valley, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The hotel is located right across from the beach and is definitely the place to stay in Rio. I stayed on the 12th floor in a suite and it was one of the best rooms I have ever stayed in. The hotel bar was great and the staff was friendly and helpful. You can see Christ the Redeemer from the rooftop pool which is a breathtaking sight. Great value for the money as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainman1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW_Marriott_RJ, Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
We are pleased that you chose to stay with us during your visit to the wonderful city of Rio de Janeiro. As part of the Marriott Hotels chain we thank you for your loyalty to us. As you mentioned we are located at the center of Copacabana Beach offering the best views. We are glad that you enjoyed our friendly and helpful staff service and we look forward to hosting you next visit. Sincerely, Leticia Alcázar – Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#15 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,662 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
3,276 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#18 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
2,333 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#22 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,880 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#25 of 282 in Rio de Janeiro
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
Address: Avenida Atlantica, 2600 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22041-001, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#18 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The extraordinary JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro hotel offers seamless commuting to the city's best attractions, including Sugarloaf Mountain, Christ the Redeemer and a variety of nightlife, restaurants and golf courses. The world-famous Copacabana beach is just steps away from our doors, and Rio de Janeiro-Galeão International Airport is less than 10 miles away. Outdoor enthusiasts will appreciate our proximity to exciting activities like rock climbing, surfing and sailing. Guest rooms at our JW Marriott feature elegant decor, plush bedding, marble bathrooms and LCD TVs with international cable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Rio De Janeiro
Marriott Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Marriott
JW Marriott Hotel Rio De Janeiro Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing