We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence all around! Great Location & Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
Ranked #15 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I was able to get the JW with a International flight package for what I thought to be a great price given we had connecting flights from Toronto, and we were staying here in the week(s) leading up to Carnivale. The location is superb right across from Copacabana Beach, and they have a "beach concierge" which will set you up with beach chairs and an umbrella which is a major plus in my books! The hotel is modern, clean, and has all the ammenities you need. As for any Brazilian "Cultural Flair"; not much, so if you want a non-americanized experience, this isnt it, but is a great "base camp" to excursion out of. We made use of the rooftop pool with great views of the beach and surrounding areas, as well as a little bar/restaurant for drinks and snacks. Lobby bar is great with excellent staff, great drinks, and a comfortable atmosphere. The check-in process was a breeze, and we opted for a business level upgrade for a nominal fee which was well worth it as it included free wi-fi and access to the executive lounge with complimentry drinks and food; paid for itself in no time! Our room looked into the interior courtyard so-to-speak, but we were never really in it, so I'm, glad I didn't pay a premium for ocean view. The concierge services are impeccable, especially Afonso Silva! They assisted us with directions, tickets, and tips on nightlife and restaurants: make use of their services if you're a first timer! Drinks and food is pricey as expected, so aside from the odd drink at the bar, hop across the street to one of the spots on the beach for great food and cold drinks at more than reasonable prices. I'd definately go back.

Room Tip: Didn't see the need or desire for ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuskokaDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW_Marriott_RJ, Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Duder,
Please allow me thank you for your comments as it lets us know that we were able to help you have a wonderful experience on your recent trip to the wonderful city of Rio de Janeiro. As mentioned in your comment we offer complimentary beach service with friendly staff right at the center of Copacabana beach. As part of the Marriott Company we do our best to adapt some local flavor while maintain the standard Marriott comfort and luxury. We invite you try some of dishes at The Carioca lobby bar and restaurant where you can enjoy local Brazilian flavor with a contemporary fusion. I will share your comments with our staff as it is always gratifying to know that we have made a good impression on our guests. Please visit us again on your next trip to the wonderful city.
Regards,
Leticia Alcázar – Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

984 - 990 of 2,338 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

I apologise to the JW Marriott Shanghai, I thought you were the worst JW on the planet, but now having been to RIo last week, your looking pretty good. What a complete con. Nothing more than a three start hotel carrying a JW logo. Sorry Marriott but you should be ashamed about this place. $400 per night for a rabbit hutch, dirty carpets and old fashion furniture from an Eastern European like hotel back in the 70's. Club lounge was tatty and the offerings were average. Gym was passable and the swimming pool area was total pants. Thank god it has a view, but that's about it. The only reason to stay here is for the location and the points, but if you are on a budget, just blow this place off and stay somewhere else, it's just not worth the money. golden Tulip next door is half the price and exactly the same. The sooner one of those smiley American Marriott blokes gets on a plane and goes over and reads the riot act to the management the better. Get it closed, get it renovated and give it the level of a JW Marriott and stop conning the members . For me that's now two JW's in a row of utter mediocrity , so I won't be bothering with this level again. May as well stay in a Courtyard Marriott where available. Shameful.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms in this hotel. Sea facing rooms are pokey little holes. Internal ones are d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phil499485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW_Marriott_RJ, Guest Relations Supervisor at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Dear Phel499485,
Thank you for providing us with your comments regarding your stay with us at the JW Marriott Rio de Janeiro. Our goal is to deliver the most memorable guest experience possible. We take all feedback received from our guests seriously as it helps us when looking to make future changes. Our hotel has gone some renovations to offer a fresh look and a more innovative atmosphere to our guests. Thank you for choosing Marriott for your travels and we invite you to stay with us on a future visit to the wonderful city to witness our changed and improvements as we look forward to keeping up to date with the current trends.

Jhesenia Guaman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We had 4 nice days at this great hotel. It is in a perfect location right across the street from Copacabana Beach. It was so nice to have towels and chairs provided for us at the beach too. They have a friendly and helpful staff. We had Club Lounge access which was really nice for enjoying breakfast or appetizers and cocktails for dinner after touring all day. The concierge up there was very friendly and helpful with anything we needed. The rooms and beds were very comfortable. They have a nice rooftop pool and bar with a beautiful view of the beaches and mountains. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a great stay in Rio!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noreen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW_Marriott_RJ, Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Nmkoerner
First of all thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. As you mentioned, we could not be better located, in the middle of Copacabana Beach with unbelievable sea and mountain views from our Griffin Club Lounge, roof top terrace and ocean view rooms. Everything is prepared in minimal details to better serve you and make your stay unforgettable. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Regards,
Leticia Alcázar – Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed on points for 5 nights during Carnaval. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a band and dancers who were performing in the lobby which provided an excellent vibe and welcome for our stay. Check-in was quick and our room was ready prior to normal check-in time. The hotel is located, what appears to be, directly in the middle of Copacabana, and the location is excellent. We found a few grocery stores and favorite restaurants nearby, which made walking around fun and didn't require a taxi to get around.
As mentioned in previous reviews, the rooms are a bit small, but my husband and I don't travel light, and there was plenty of room for our luggage, bags, etc. Overall I was very happy with the room, and we both found the bed very comfortable. We did have a few problems starting off, including the air conditioner not working, which was remedied as soon as we called about it. Also, the hair dryer didn't work properly and starting sparking when I was using it, but I was brought a new one.
As far as service goes, we were thoroughly impressed with each member of the staff. We must have called for 40 buckets of ice during our stay, and never waited more than 10 minutes for it to be brought to our room. We prefer not to have housekeeping come in during our stays, but we did mid-trip to have the tracked in sand cleaned up, etc. We weren't provided additional water or coffee, so we called to see if we could have a few extra bottles dropped off and were told they could see what could be done. We left for a few minutes to go to the rooftop for some pictures, and when we got back to the room there was a case of water (12 bottles), packets upon packets of coffee, and sugar and creamer waiting. It was great how accommodating the staff was, and even after offering a tip (which isn't customary we realize, but wanted to show appreciation) was kindly rejected.
We loved the gentlemen at the beach who helped with chairs and umbrellas. They were quick to get more towels, chairs, water off your sandy feet, etc. It was terrific! There is also helpful staff working the concierge desk. Being our first time to Rio, we needed some guidance in how to get to certain attractions, and they were able to help us each time. We wanted to save some money, so we didn't book any excursions through tour companies, and navigated our way through bus and subway transportation with help from the concierge. For the most part, other than some incorrect bus numbers for return trips, we made it around safely and easily, and saved a ton of money on transportation.
This hotel offered everything we needed, and had a great location across from the beach. I know we will visit again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 18th floor, and I'm not sure if the noise was from the gym or something else, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsHall2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW_Marriott_RJ, Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear MrsHall2006,
Regarding your feedback for which we thank you for, it´s our pleasure confirm early arrival when the availability allows us. We apologize for any difficulty faced with our in room amenities, but please rest assure that we provide immediate assistance to amend any difficulty or request. We are very glad to make your Carnival special and would be a please hosting you again in another opportunity.
Sincerely,
Leticia Alcázar – Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 2 1/2 days during Carnaval. Short stay but the staff helped me to see as much as I could in a short time. The concierge staff are fabulous, always smiling and happy to help with all your questions. Room on the 12th floor was clean and comfortable - loved the bath salts! The view of Copacabana from the rooftop pool is unbeatable but get there early if you want a chair - they go fast. Same for the beach - get there at 9-10am as the hotel's free lounge chairs and umbrellas are very limited. Be prepared to see some trash on the beach (unfortunately). After a long day of walking and seeing the sights it was great to come back to the JW to rest and recharge my batteries. Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: all rooms have at least a pee-a-boo view of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW_Marriott_RJ, Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Kate M,
I am happy to know that we were able to help you make the most of your short trip. As you mentioned we offer complimentary beach service with chairs, umbrellas and friendly staff, we also participate in a green program in an effort to help clean the Copacabana beach. I am very happy to know that our Concierge team members were able to assist you with every request. We look forward to seeing you again in the future so that we can make your stay another unforgettable experience.
Regards,
Leticia Alcázar – Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We completed a six-night visit to this wonderful hotel on February 28, 2014. The JW Marriott exceeded our expectations before we even arrived. I emailed the hotel with a few modest requests for tour information, etc. and received at least 5 responses from various hotel personnel.

We had an ocean view room overlooking Copacabana beach. The executive lounge was terrific, both for a morning breakfast buffet, and cocktails/wine/beer in the evening. The hotel staff was extremely professional and friendly. The concierge group was knowledgable with several "insider" tips for tours. The executive guest services group was also very accommodating. A special shout out to Renato Morales Machado for his assistance during our stay.

We wish we could return every year to this beautiful world-class city and the JW Marriott.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean-front room, upper floor if possible. The lounge is on the 9th floor with breathtaki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tug E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW_Marriott_RJ, Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Tug E,
Thank you for choosing to visit Rio de Janeiro and for choosing to stay with us. In an effort to make our guest’s stay an even better experience we do our best to anticipate your needs. I am very happy to know that our team members were able to deliver this service during your visit. We hope that your wish to visit us every year becomes a reality as we would love to welcome you back as often as possible.
Regards,
Leticia Alcázar – Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Excellent hotel because of its people mainly. Rooms are small and somewhat dated but very comfortable . Rooftop pool area has a spectacular view and is worth wasting a few hours ,getting a lay of the city and soaking up some sun in a very easy way .
Breakfast is a buffet of reasonable quality but is lovely to start the day because of the warm welcoming familiar staff that attend in a manner that says nothing is too difficult .
2 standout staff members to mention are Carolina B at checkin ; she is delightful and has a way of welcoming you to the hotel that makes the memory of the previous 21/2 hour taxi ride from the airport on carnival weekend melt quickly away . The platter of chocolates she sent to my room were the most extraordinarily divine chocolate treats ever had by this humble reviewer .
The second and most outstanding staff member who I leave til last so I can end this review on mountain top high is Concierge Rosane Lucas ..
Now this woman is one to hug at the end of your stay because she will transform any conservative itinerary into memories that one always aspires to have .Linger with her for a while so she can get to know you better and it will pay you dividend. She will suggest things to do and places to dine that work just perfectly for the individual including organising for this individual , the extraordinary dinner at the Aprazivel restaurant . Now this has a position which makes it seem like it hangs off the side of Santa Teresa defying usual forces of gravity .She selected and organised this with the aplomb of the well connected .
Any take home advice about this hotel is to enjoy the staff because they are lovely but make a direct line for Rosane Lucas as soon as you arrive and your Rio experience will be transformed to a magnificent experience .

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW_Marriott_RJ, Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Michael W,
It is with great pleasure that I read such wonderful compliments to our team members. I could not thank you enough as this makes them smile with great pride. All of our team is here to welcome you at any time you choose to visit the wonderful city of Rio de Janeiro so you can enjoy our wonderful view and location. Please be sure that our team will greet you with a smile and will make of your next trip another one to remember.
Regards,
Letcia Alcázar - Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#18 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,902 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#3 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
3,473 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#1 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#22 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,724 reviews
Copacabana
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
Rio Othon Palace Hotel
#29 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,659 reviews
Copacabana
Pestana Rio Atlantica
Pestana Rio Atlantica
#67 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro

Address: Avenida Atlantica, 2600 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22041-001, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £153 - £367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The extraordinary JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro hotel offers seamless commuting to the city's best attractions, including Sugarloaf Mountain, Christ the Redeemer and a variety of nightlife, restaurants and golf courses. The world-famous Copacabana beach is just steps away from our doors, and Rio de Janeiro-Galeão International Airport is less than 10 miles away. Outdoor enthusiasts will appreciate our proximity to exciting activities like rock climbing, surfing and sailing. Guest rooms at our JW Marriott feature elegant decor, plush bedding, marble bathrooms and LCD TVs with international cable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Rio De Janeiro
Marriott Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Marriott
JW Marriott Hotel Rio De Janeiro Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing