We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand hotel on Copacabana beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
Ranked #14 of 280 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Grand hotel on Copacabana beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

The JW Marriott is a grand hotel, centrally located on Copacabana beach. We got a lovely upgrade to a suite, and had access to a well stocked Concierge lounge - although we felt it was too small for the busy periods such as breakfast time - when there would be no place to sit or stand.

The rooms are comfortable and the service was excellent. There isn't much in the way of family style activities in the hotel, but given that you are steps from the beach there was more than enough to keep the little ones busy!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roshposh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW_Marriott_RJ, Guest Relations Supervisor at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Mr. Roshposh,
It is a pleasure to know that you and your family were able to enjoy your experience with us and our amenities. As you mentioned we are pleased to offer complimentary beach service with chairs, umbrellas and towels in the heart of Copacabana beach right in front of our beautiful hotel ensuring that our guest’s experiences are memorably special.
We hope to have another opportunity to host you and your family in our Hotel.
Sincerely-Jhesenia Guaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,056
    635
    209
    72
    46
See reviews for
261
619
147
613
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
138 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed here 2 nights for business. Excellent location, few steps from the beach. Good service provided by all staff members - friendly and helpful. Restaurant breakfast is very good, but the rooms are small. This hotel is not up to JW Marriott standards, it is more like an average Marriott hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emersonkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW_Marriott_RJ, Guest Relations Supervisor at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Mr. Emersonkz,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. As a JW Marriott Hotel we are making changes to be able to keep up with the current trends. As you may have noticed we recently renovated our lobby are to provide a more interactive work and social area allowing our guests to work and relax while enjoying a more lively atmosphere. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to analyze possible future changes
We would love to invite you to visit us once again and enjoy our great service and location.
Sincerely-Jhesenia Guaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Smack in the middle Copacabana beach and all of its glory. The 6th floor executive lounge has a sandwiches, appetizers, wine and beer for happy hour. What I liked the most however was the top floor pool and gym. The gym area is small, but the treadmills are positioned in front of large windows so you can run with a fantastic rooftop view of Rio, and the pool area is a quiet escape from city's craziness down below. I'm not sure why people are downgrading the rooms, I thought they were fine for a JW. Its not a Ritz. The bar man downstairs (he wears a fedora) was super helpful and gave us all kinds of great local tips on where to go and eat. I would recommend eating out in the many cafes nearby however, as the restaurant and eating area downstairs is overpriced and mediocre.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW_Marriott_RJ, Guest Relations Supervisor at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Jacqueline S,
It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed our very special location whish is aimed to provide you with memorable moments in our hotel including our pool area and gym area that is facing Copacabana Beach. Our team is always prepared and trained to better assist and make local indications for our guests to enjoy, from bars to restaurantes in order for you to feel part of the local culture.
We look forward to your next visit as we are sure that we have many more options to provide with on places to visit.
Sincerely-Jhesenia Guaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimstad, Norway
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

The room are nice, but the air inside is not the best. It felt kind of humid and the air circulations was not too good. The room and service was otherwise just great. Breakfast had everything I could wish for and the service there was excellent. The reception personnel was polite, but a little distant. I had to show ID every time I asked for new keycards. Great for secturity, but aslo show that they do not really notice you. The location is excellent and beach service very good.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Adventureseeker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW_Marriott_RJ, Guest Relations Supervisor at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Mr. Adventureseeker1
We would like to thank your in advance for your feedback and would like to share with your that security is a very serious commitment we have with our guests. Our team is always looking for the best way to make our guests feel at home, and I apologize if this was not your experience. We are proud to confirm that we are focused on selecting the best flavors in order to provide our guests an amazing Brazilian breakfast experience, we are glad you had the opportunity o enjoy it.
We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in our Hotel in the near future.
Sincerely-Jhesenia Guaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, US
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed here 4 nights for business. Excellent location, right on the beach. Good service provided by all staff members - friendly and helpful. Restaurant breakfast had a wide variety but repetitive. The executive lounge on the 9th floor was good for evening snacks and cocktails but very small. My room was small and dated. The bottom line is that this hotel is not up to JW Marriott standards, it is more like an average Marriott hotel. It is overpriced and not good value for money. Keeping it real, I stayed here for the marriott points and because it is on my company's approved list.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TriniNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW_Marriott_RJ, Guest Relations Supervisor at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear TriniNewYork,
Thank you for having chosen to stay with us during your visit to Rio de Janeiro and for being a Marriott Rewards member. I am glad to know that you enjoyed service and location. Thank you for providing us with your feedback as we appreciate our guest’s thoughts and suggestions. We hope that on your future business or leisure travels you give us the opportunity to host you once again with the excellent service that sets us apart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

In general - a good stay here, but there is still room for improvement. I decided to stay here because I hold status with Marriott. Room size is on the small side. Chicago Bulls was staying here during my visit for the pre-season game. So every single room was booked, no upgrades for me as a Marriott elite. No big deal. The concierge lounge has a good selection of food - but got crowded at night (- 1/3 of the guests are airline crew members). The hotel also provides beach service on the Copacabana beach. Very easy access to shops, restaurants and bars. The area is safer than I expected - but do be aware at night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xavierkuai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW_Marriott_RJ, Guest Relations Supervisor at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Xavierkuai,
Thank you for sharing with us your experience during your last visit to our beautiful hotel. It’s a huge pleasure to be part of Marriott Company and to be located in the middle of Copacabana Beach; which allows us to be close to everything while providing the best views. As you mentioned we are always welcoming our Marriott Elite member and providing them with the best amenities as availability allows us. We hope to have the opportunity to host your again in our propriety on your next trip to the wonderful city.
Sincerely-Jhesenia Guaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

I was fortunate enough to spend a week in Rio for Carnival this year and chose to stay at the JW Marriott. Everything from the moment we arrived to the moment we left was absolutely perfect!

We had an atrium room, it was spacious, comfortable and exactly as it shows in the pictures.

Service in the hotel was sensational! No matter what we asked, nothing was too hard or too much bother. The lobby bar is great and we loved the rooftop bar with bbq & dj during Carnival.

We especially liked the addition of the carnival dancers and drummers in the lobby at times throughout the day. It really lifted the atmosphere.

Concierge at the hotel were also brilliant. We had no idea what to do while we were in Rio and they gave us perfect advice and truly made out trip one to remember.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW_Marriott_RJ, Guest Relations Supervisor at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear BenB,
Regarding your message for which we thank you for, we are glad that we had the opportunity to host you during the carnival festivities in our wonderful city. Our Concierge is dedicated to preparing special tours and reservations for our guests to enjoy theirs time in Rio de Janeiro as a local Cariocas do. It will be a pleasure to host you again in our Hotel so that our team can give you many more tips on places to visit and things to do.
Sincerely-Jhesenia Guaman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,296 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#4 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,135 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
#9 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#16 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#23 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Ipanema
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Managed by Sofitel
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipane...
#34 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
Address: Avenida Atlantica, 2600 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22041-001, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#10 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The extraordinary JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro hotel offers seamless commuting to the city's best attractions, including Sugarloaf Mountain, Christ the Redeemer and a variety of nightlife, restaurants and golf courses. The world-famous Copacabana beach is just steps away from our doors, and Rio de Janeiro-Galeão International Airport is less than 10 miles away. Outdoor enthusiasts will appreciate our proximity to exciting activities like rock climbing, surfing and sailing. Guest rooms at our JW Marriott feature elegant decor, plush bedding, marble bathrooms and LCD TVs with international cable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Rio De Janeiro
Marriott Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Marriott
JW Marriott Hotel Rio De Janeiro Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing