We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
Ranked #17 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Our room was nice and clean, but a little on the small side. Our king sized bed was very comfortable, with feather pillows and blankets. The bathtub is full size in length, however the width is half the size of a regular tub, felt cramped. There is also an in room safe, coffee machine and mini bar.

Wifi is free in the lobby but if you want it in your room, you have to pay BRL $35 plus 10% service charge for a day. Or there's a 3 day package for BRL $88 plus 10% service fee.

Breakfast is also not included which is a shame since we paid $329 a night.

Beach chairs, umbrellas and towels are provided free of charge on the beach directly ahead of the Marriott.

There is also a small pool, bar and fitness center on the rooftop which overlooks Copacabana Beach.

If you need transportation to the airport, the Marriott contracts personal drivers a private car for BRL $125 one way.

Hotel is nice but we wished we got more for our money. Definitely not up to the high standards of a JW Marriott.

Stayed: April 2014
3  Thank Shelle702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW_Marriott_RJ, JW Marriott Rio de Janeiro at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Mrs Shelle702

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed our room, bed and the amenities.

Our team is always prepared and trained to better assist and make local indications for our guests to enjoy, from bars to restaurantes in order for you to feel part of the local culture.

As a JW Marriott Hotel we are always making changes to be able to keep up with the current trends. As you may have noticed we recently renovated our lobby area to provide a more interactive work and social are allowing our guests to work and relax while enjoying a more lively atmosphere. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to analyze possible future changes.

We would love to invite you to visit us once again and enjoy our great service and location.

Sincerely,

Lucas Leite
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

910 - 916 of 2,243 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

From the moment we arrived until departure we were treated as special guests throughout the hotel.
As Gold members we were upgraded to a suite overlooking the atrium....not much of a view but we valued the extra space. Waiters in the dining areas were wonderful and when they learned it was our anniversary they gave us gifts of chocolates and nuts.
If there was one criticism it would be that the making of the beds was erratic with mattress covers not being flattened causing bumps in the bed....some attention needed here.
We actually cancelled our original reservation at The Copacabana Palace to stay here and we are very glad we did.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian_uk12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW_Marriott_RJ, Guest Relations Supervisor at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear London reviewer,
We would like to thank you for your Hotel choice and for your loyalty to Marriott !
We enthusiastically prepare our associates daily to better serve your and meet your expectations, we will reinforce your feedback with our housekeeping department!
We are always attentive of every detail to surprise you, I hope you enjoyed this special occasion in our hotel and we hope to host you again in our sunny Rio de Janeiro.
Sincerely,
Jhesenia Guaman-Guest Relations Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Everything about this hotel is above average---except for the horrible mattress in room 905. I've had better mattresses in Super 8 hotels. it was clearly old and has lost all of its firmness. The sheets and towels were amazing, as was the executive lounge. Great food, staff, and drinks.

Beware that room 905 is right next to the door most guests use for the executive lounge and as such it slams closed starting at 6am when breakfast opens, and slams throughout the day, making this room particularly noisy.

The roof pool and gym are awesome, as is the beach service .All of the staff are very attentive.

This is one of three hotels to stay at in Rio--the Sheraton and Sofitel being my two other choices.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMW757677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW_Marriott_RJ, Guest Relations Supervisor at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Mr. JMW757677,
First of all I would like thank you for allowing us to be part of your top picks while visiting the wonderful city of Rio de Janeiro. I am pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast selections and complimentary beach service. We have many options for rooms on your next visit and please rest assured that your feedback has been shared with the corresponding departement so that we can ensure our guest’s comfort.
We are kindly waiting to host you again in our property!
Sincerely-Jhesenia Guaman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Staff was very pleasant and Concierge was super helpful but for what we paid for the room rate you'd think they would include at least internet. I'd never been to Rio so I didn't have anything to compare against but at 900 a night I expected at least some perks like free internet.

Hotel is clean, rooftop pool is great, but not worth more than 350.00 a night.

Room Tip: Try and go up as high as possible to avoid noise from the road and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hausenpepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW_Marriott_RJ, Guest Relations Supervisor at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Hausenpepper,
I am glad to know that you were able to visit us and enjoyed our team member’s pleasant service. Our concierge team is always prepared to provide with helpful information ensuring you make the best of your time in the wonderful city. Our hotel offers a range of prices for different seasons allowing our guests to enjoy our accommodations at different times of year. We invite you to visit us in the future and take advantage of our many rates that are also offered as packages to better attend our guest’s needs.
Sincerely-Jhesenia Guaman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

4th time in the same hotel. Friendly staff especially behinde congiere desk (Rosane, Afonso and Carmen). It feels so good when they remember us. Location is perfect for the beach and hanging in the city. Junior suite has enough room and 206 is the best of those suites in which we ave stayed.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Asko M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW_Marriott_RJ, Guest Relations Supervisor at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Mr. Asko M,
Firstly we would like to thank you for your loyalty to our JW Marriott Hotel, it is always a pleasure for us share our special and lovely location with our guests. I also would like personally thank you for providing our concierge team with your kind compliments as we all work to make our guest’s experience with us a memorable one.
Hope to see your soon here with us again!
Sincerely-Jhesenia Guaman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed there since it was in Copacabana beach. The hotel has amazing views, with their pool on the roof, and a small bar that opens at night. The room were clean, and it was quiet. However, the day we were checking out we asked for extended stay, which this hotel denied us. We even offer to moved to a different room with our friends, who had a room for themselves. So, one room for 4 people for late check out is not much to ask, especially when you are paying top dollar for this hotel. We had to wait until 7 PM to leave for the airport, so having to be out by 11AM, is not what I would call good service. I am a Marriott member, and have used this late check out before. This was extremely disappointing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YM C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW_Marriott_RJ, Guest Relations Supervisor at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear CaribeAzul1,
We appreciate you giving us the opportunity to host your visit to the wonderful city and for sharing with us your hotel experience. We are very happy to be perfectly located at the heart of Copacabana Beach being able to offer spectacular views. We apologize for not being able to offer you a late check-out as you may know that we fully depend on the day’s availability. Please rest assured that as a Marriott Rewards member we always due our best to prioritize your requests and our amenities are always available to you if a late check-out is not available. We hope that you provide us with a future opportunity to host your visit to the wonderful city so we can further provide you with the distinctive service that sets us apart.
Sincerely-Jhesenia Guaman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The JW Marriott is a grand hotel, centrally located on Copacabana beach. We got a lovely upgrade to a suite, and had access to a well stocked Concierge lounge - although we felt it was too small for the busy periods such as breakfast time - when there would be no place to sit or stand.

The rooms are comfortable and the service was excellent. There isn't much in the way of family style activities in the hotel, but given that you are steps from the beach there was more than enough to keep the little ones busy!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roshposh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW_Marriott_RJ, Guest Relations Supervisor at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Dear Mr. Roshposh,
It is a pleasure to know that you and your family were able to enjoy your experience with us and our amenities. As you mentioned we are pleased to offer complimentary beach service with chairs, umbrellas and towels in the heart of Copacabana beach right in front of our beautiful hotel ensuring that our guest’s experiences are memorably special.
We hope to have another opportunity to host you and your family in our Hotel.
Sincerely-Jhesenia Guaman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
Hilton Rio de Janeiro Copacabana
#16 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,729 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#5 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
3,337 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#1 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
PortoBay Rio Internacional Hotel
#18 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,382 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#24 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,599 reviews
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#23 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro

Address: Avenida Atlantica, 2600 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22041-001, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#9 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: £145 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The extraordinary JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro hotel offers seamless commuting to the city's best attractions, including Sugarloaf Mountain, Christ the Redeemer and a variety of nightlife, restaurants and golf courses. The world-famous Copacabana beach is just steps away from our doors, and Rio de Janeiro-Galeão International Airport is less than 10 miles away. Outdoor enthusiasts will appreciate our proximity to exciting activities like rock climbing, surfing and sailing. Guest rooms at our JW Marriott feature elegant decor, plush bedding, marble bathrooms and LCD TVs with international cable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Marriott, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Rio De Janeiro
Marriott Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Marriott
JW Marriott Hotel Rio De Janeiro Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing