We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place as JW Marriot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
Ranked #15 of 280 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice Place as JW Marriot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

For a JW Marriot is a bit under the standard in room size, lobby and restaurants. But as a Rio hotel is very well located at Copacaba beach, very good service, breakfast at Marriot standards and good club level..
Services at JW are over the standard Rio hotels services...
Meeting rooms are very good.
Standard JW price but i recommend...

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paulo Ricardo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW_Marriott_RJ, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Paulo Ricardo G,
Thank you for taking your time to share with us our feedback, we are always looking to improve our service and menu in order to provide the best Brazilian flavors to our guests. It´s always a pleasure the opportunity to share our amazing location in the heart of Copacabana beach with our guests. Should your future travels bring you back to Brazil please join us!
Regards,
Rosana Okamoto – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,052
    635
    209
    72
    46
See reviews for
260
618
146
613
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

The JW Marriott Rio has the best staff of any hotel in Rio! The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, especially Akacia, Anderson, Altamir, Livia, Vagner, Henrique, and Yousef. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW_Marriott_RJ, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Lucas W,
Thank you for the lovely words and for providing us with your feedback about your experience during your stay at the JW Marriott Rio de Janeiro. Needless to say how glad we are to hear that we exceed your expectation . It is certainly, a source of great pride and satisfaction to know how appreciative our guests are about our food and beverages employees. We would like to take this opportunity to invite you to stay with us again and enjoy the best hospitality in Copacabana!
Regards,
Rosana Okamoto – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

This is a beautiful hotel. The staff is warm and friendly. I am a Marriott Gold Member so we had access to their member's lounge. The lounge provided breakfast in the morning (made-to-order omelettes, fruits, sausage, bacon) and grab-and-go snacks all day long. We had the hotel arrange for a couple of excursions and it worked out perfectly. We had a great time and I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We requested an ocean view room and, man, what a view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DHow6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW_Marriott_RJ, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your loyalty and for the words you sent to our attention providing us with your feedback about your experience! Should your future travels bring you back to Brazil, we will be looking forward to seeing you at our property in Rio de Janeiro to provide you with the special blend of Brazil and Marriott hospitality, all under the roof of the JW Marriott Rio de Janeiro Hotel. We also would like to invite you to enjoy our special barbeque on weekends in our rooftop with a amazing view from the beach.
Regards,
Rosana Okamoto – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basking Ridge, NJ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We arrived in mid-August at the JW Marriott; after having traveled to Argentina. Check in service was excellent, and the location of this hotel is perfect! It is located in the heart of Copacabana right on the beach. I would recommend an ocean view room, as it is superb to wake up to. Our family had breakfast every morning at the hotel, and we were greeted by a wonderful young woman who remembered us every single day! Additionally, the service we received from two individuals in particular (Mr. Altamir and Mr. Vagner) was superb. They asked about us everyday and really made our time in Rio memorable. Additionally, the concierge desk was wonderful!! They were so helpful. I believe their names were Carmen and Alfonso...not 100% sure. The 9th floor lounge was very nice as well.

The JW also provides towel, chair and umbrella service at the beach. That is very convenient.
All in all, I would recommend this hotel 100% I went with 2 kids (both teenagers) and the vacation went smoothly.

Thanks JW Marriott!

Room Tip: Definitely Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Partyoffive-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW_Marriott_RJ, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Partyoffive-2010,
Words cannot express how happy we are to know we were able to provide for you and your family a memorable experience! Our team, specially our breakfast (Altamir and Vagner) and concierge staff (Carmen and Afonso), will be more than happy to see you soon so that you can experience some more of the wonders that Rio de Janeiro has to offer as well as our hotel amenities. Please join us again for a wonderful and relaxing Brazilian barbeque on our rooftop terrace The Mirante Copacabana on weekends.
Regards,
Rosana Okamoto – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Great location and friendly, helpful staff.
I have stayed at this Marriott several times and it remains my top choice for hotels in the area.
From the front desk to the bartenders, the service is top notch.
Their extra effort on your behalf will help you get the most out of RJ.
Make sure you see Altamir, Vagner and the crew for breakfast...you will be treated like family!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnMA44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW_Marriott_RJ, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear JohnMA44,
Thank your for taking your time to share with us your experience in our hotel. It’s a pleasure for us to know that we exceed your expectations! Altamir and Vagner are very happy to see your comments. Should your future travels bring you back to Brazil, we will be looking forward to seeing you at our property in Rio de Janeiro for a few days or even to relax in our Lobby Bar & Restaurante The Carioca where our Chef Ramiro Bertassin provides the best contemporary Brazilian cousin and drinks with live music on thursdays from 6 to 22pm.
Regards,
Rosana Okamoto – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

My wife and I stayed in this hotel the second week in August 2014. The location is terrific, about in the middle of Copacabana beach. The staff was very good, particularly the Concierge Desk. Carmen of the Concierge staff was extremely helpful in helping track down our missing luggage. She could not have been more courteous.

The fitness facility is on the roof, alongside the pool. It's a little cramped but has the essentials. The pool is small but nice, with an adjacent outdoor bar and pool chairs and umbrella tables/chairs. Beautiful view of Copacabana Bay. There are very nice changing rooms with showers and saunas.

The Executive Lounge on the 9th Floor is kind of small but has a very nice breakfast and drinks, light food in the evening. One very nice feature is a refrigerator with small sandwiches, salads (they even have tiny olive oil containers!), yogurt, juice and water available all the time.

In addition to being on the beach, the hotel is in a neighborhood of bars, restaurants, shops, juice places, grocery stores -- all within easy walking distance. This is another reason why the location is so great.

Another nice feature is a money changing facility one floor below the lobby. The exchange rate was pretty good.

We would definitely stay here again.

Jim N.
Fairfax, VA

Room Tip: If at all possible, splurge for an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW_Marriott_RJ, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Jim N,
Thank you for the lovely words you sent to our attention providing us with your feedback about your experience during your recent stay at the JW Marriott Rio de Janeiro. Needless to say how glad we are to learn that you enjoyed your visit. It’s a pleasure for us have the opportunity to share our special location in the heart of Copacabana Beach with a lot of entertainment and beautiful places going on walking distance.
It is certainly, a source of great pride and satisfaction to know how appreciative our guests are about our services. Our concierge Carmen is very happy about your comment, she is outstanding! Should your future travels bring you back to Brazil, we will be looking forward to seeing you at our property in Rio de Janeiro to provide you with the special blend of Brazil and Marriott hospitality.

Regards,
Rosana Okamoto – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
444 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Being on beach has advantages but need to be careful walking on beach as local kids love to steal
Hotel was up to JW standards and service was excellent
Found food better than most hotels and my local visitors thought same
Will visit soon and suggest this hotel
It is not a cheap hotel but good value

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DRHIND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JW_Marriott_RJ, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear DRHIND,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. As you mentioned, it is a pleasure for us share our great location with our guests, offering the best views of the beach in the heart of Copacabana. We look forward to hosting your next visit to Rio de Janeiro so you can further enjoy our views and services.
Regards,
Rosana Okamoto – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#3 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,293 reviews
Copacabana
Belmond Copacabana Palace
Belmond Copacabana Palace
#4 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,130 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
Windsor Atlantica Hotel
#9 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Arena Copacabana Hotel
Arena Copacabana Hotel
#16 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
Sheraton Grand Rio Hotel & Resor...
#22 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,445 reviews
Ipanema
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipanema Managed by Sofitel
Caesar Park Rio de Janeiro Ipane...
#34 of 280 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro
Address: Avenida Atlantica, 2600 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22041-001, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#5 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#10 Green Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The extraordinary JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro hotel offers seamless commuting to the city's best attractions, including Sugarloaf Mountain, Christ the Redeemer and a variety of nightlife, restaurants and golf courses. The world-famous Copacabana beach is just steps away from our doors, and Rio de Janeiro-Galeão International Airport is less than 10 miles away. Outdoor enthusiasts will appreciate our proximity to exciting activities like rock climbing, surfing and sailing. Guest rooms at our JW Marriott feature elegant decor, plush bedding, marble bathrooms and LCD TVs with international cable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel and Hotels.com so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Rio De Janeiro
Marriott Rio De Janeiro
Rio De Janeiro Marriott
JW Marriott Hotel Rio De Janeiro Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing